We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have been spoilt for life - nowhere can compare with a stay in Compass House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Pwllheli
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have been spoilt for life - nowhere can compare with a stay in Compass House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Returned to Compass House (where else?) on our return visit to Cape Town. On our arrival, we were made to feel so welcomed by Oliver and Rudolph. in their beautiful Boutique Hotel. It was like coming back home It was heaven from start to finish and we were so sad when our extended stay came to an end Everything is so peaceful and perfect . Really enjoyed the ambiance of the whole establishment - wonderful view from our room and deck area thoroughly enjoyed our continental breakfast out on the lanai, well thought out decor.

As we are compulsive travellers, we don't usually recommend places to stay, However, with this establishment we have no hesitation in giving it the highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoPwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
153
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
geneve
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

A magnificient place, amazing view, only spot with no wind in cape town! We felt like at home . We are use to travel a lot around the world in 5 stars hotels, and beeing a film producer , for business too. And to me this is the place to be in Cape town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veroGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

The stay was wonderful. Thanks to Olivier for excellent service, fantastic breakfast, relaxing place and good recommendations. This is a wonderful place where you can relax, have your private dinner party, it is close to restaurants and shops. I highly recommend it, and hope to be back. Thanks:-)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papirline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Excellent place to rest and to enjoy the view. Perfect hospitality. Ideal situation. Nothing else to sayexcept that It' hard to find such a nice place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergechristiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Stayed at the Compass House for a few days in December and can only add to the already glowing reviews. The place is beautiful, absolutely spotless and you are well taken care off from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. The views are incredible, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic.

The only thing that is important to note is that the hotel is not close to the beach. From the hotel pictures, this is not completely clear and one could assume the beach lies right outside of the hotel. The hotel and surrounding multi-million dollar villas are on a hill overlooking the ocean, but not the beach. The closest beach, which is a bit rocky, is about a 10 minute walk. The more popular beaches (Cliff Beaches 1, 2, 3, and 4) require a cab ride.

Again, the Compass House is a spectacular place in every possible way and I would recommend it highly to anyone seeking a a posh, relaxing place. But if you are looking for a beach hotel, this is not it.

Also be aware the regular taxis in Cape Town are surprisingly expensive, so expect to pay at least $35 from the airport to the hotel. Once in town, use Ricky's Cabs, which are a bit cheaper and use cool London cabs.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boston_tripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Olivier and Rudolph and their amazing hotel made our Honeymoon very special indeed. I have stayed at some allegedly top notch hotels in Cape Town but this gem of a place tops them all. Luxurious and chic but also warm and intimate, Compass House is highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

i have just returned from staying at Compass House .It's the perfect place to stay in cape Town. wonderful ambience , decor and the views from all the rooms over the ocean are incredible. If you want luxury , peace and tranquility then Compass House is the place to be rather than any of the 5star hotels. Try it and you will book your return trip as I have done for next year

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing