We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“above any expectations”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“above any expectations”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

just go there, you feel just as in paradise. Olivier, the owner, will take care that you enjoy your stay just the way you expect it. You will never forget the glass of chardonnay served at sunset on his "deck over the ocean".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
155
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Small boutique guest house in Bantry Bay. Excellent ocean views from all rooms, which also have outside terraces with tables and chairs. Owner Olivier and his assistant Rudolph are most welcoming and go out of their way to help. Amandine the basset hound also has a habit of coming to say hello.

Rooms are clean and modern with personal touches designed by the owner. Good quality beds and linen. Bathroom products are of high quality.

Communal areas are tastefully decorated in a modern, natural style. Sundowners on the terrace are to be recommended. The property features an Infinity pool and sun terrace, with an adjacent dining area for private dining al fresco (chef can be ordered in - only breakfast is routinely served in-house).

Good continental buffet breakfast with ample choice. Option of sitting at large communal table to meet the other guests, or at private tables.

Honesty bar equipped with champagne, wines and beers plus tea, coffee, etc. If one thing is strange, it's that one is expected to list and pay for all coffee consumed - a tad incongruous, given that this is not a budget property. (Would be worth re-thinking that, Olivier.)

My wife and I stayed there twice during the World Cup - once in the private apartment below the swimming pool, which has a fully fitted kitchen and living space and a large private terrace. On the other occasion we stayed in a regular room which was considerably smaller but not lacking in style, also with a (shared) outside terrace. The larger room represented better value for money and the extra outlay is worth considering - it's also the owner's former private apartment,

The hotel, whilst not in the centre of town, is within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. Were it not for the attentive personal service it might only warrant four stars but would still be highly rated. However, the owner helps tip it into the 5-star category (for a boutique guest house).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed here during the world cup for three nights and were extremely satisfied with our stay. There were too many positive things to list in this review, but the following deserve special mention:

1) Despite making our reservations a year in advance, many of the hotels in South Africa (esp. in Joburg) either canceled our reservations or jacked up prices several months before the world cup. Not so with the Compass House. Reservation was seamless and all promises were kept.

2) The breakfast. Being an epicure, I derived extreme pleasure by the quality and choice of food.

3) The aesthetic quality of the hotel, both in terms of architecture and natural environment, was breathtaking. Our room looked over the infinity pool and waking up in the morning to see the sun rise over the ocean was pure bliss.

This would be a lovely hotel for a honeymoon or anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My Son and I's first visit to South Africa and Cape Town.
I Cannot recommend Compass House highly enough.
Outstanding service and attention to detail with a perfect setting and breath taking views.
You really are made to feel like one of the family by Oliver and his fantastic staff.
If you are visiting this beautiful city look no further, book your stay at Compass House.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Compass House for beginning of World Cup, it's an amazing place with excellent location in Bantry Bay, really good food, incredible view of the ocean and really nice people taking care of clients. We will go again if back to Capetown one day ...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludovicdebard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The first thing that one experiences when entering the Compass House is the peaceful energy that reigns in that place. The second one is the endless panoramic view on the Ocean, as you sip a glass of (incredibly good) South African Champagne offered to you by the young owner in person.

The cosy rooms are tastefully furnished, well equipped, spotlessly clean (well, the owner is Swiss…) and drenched by the unique Capetonian sunlight. Wireless Internet is available throughout the premises (including in the rooms) free of charge, and if you travel without your computer there is one available in the living room. The so called “honesty bar” is well supplied and will not ruined you.

Swiss people will certainly appreciate the following info: there is a self-service nespresso machine with plenty of capsules to choose from! Talking about coffee, the breakfast is delicious and with quality product. The croissants and selection of bread will make you look forward to breakfast, really.

The staff - led by Rudolph, a very kind and caring Manager who has a great sense of humour - has the efficiency and discretion of a 5 stars hotel, together with the kindness and availability of a real guest-house. Also, we were touched by the owner’s natural sense of hospitality and genuine love for South Africa.

The Compass House is chic but not opulent, refined but not arrogant. Authentic, laid-back, and simply beautiful. Be prepared to be willing to extend your stay – we weren’t the only ones to do so.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrysalis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My new wife and I stayed at Compass house for our first stop of our honeymoon. After a long flight from London we arrived at Compass house and were greeted by Rudolph, who is the day to day manager. As the weather was great we decided to take a trip to table mountain and we were advised by Rudolph to by the tickets online on the compass house computer, which is free of charge, straight away. This saves you massive time when you arrive at the table mountain cable car as you just skip the ticket queue.

This boutique guest house is beautiful with fantastic views of the Atlantic, the furnishing are amazing and no money has been spared in any area. The owner Olivier is Swiss and he has an amazing host, he advised us on so many things to do in Cape Town and also pointed us in the direction of some fantastic restaurants. Two restaurants in particular are Fork which is a tapas type restaurant and also if you like sushi then you must go to Wakame on beach road.

If you prefer a smaller hotel/guest houses then you will not regret staying here it is truly wonderful. Thank you Olivier for making the start of out honeymoon so amazing.

Mr and Mrs Read

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
258 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing