We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just FANTASTIC!”
Review of Compass House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Compass House
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I had the pleasure to stay at fantastic Compass house this November. During my stay in Cape Town I stayed both some nights at Westin (also a very good hotel) and the Compass House. However I should have booked the whole stay at the Compass House. Of course it is a bit of comparing apple and pears by comparing huge (>200 rooms) Westin with personal (<10 rooms) Compass house. But Compass House left an impression that will last for long.

The hotel is five star. But it is not at all sterile like some other five star hotels I have stayed at. Instead Compass House feels personal, intimate, and friendly, with excellent service and a fantastic view. The pool is incredible. A big infinity pool with a gorgeous view of the sun setting in the Atlantic Ocean - that is really the best - together with a glass of South African champagne. The prices in the self-service bar are very modestly priced. While Westin charge 3 euros for a coke, you will get a glass of bubbly for the same price at Compass House. A glass you’ll need after a day at the sun deck and in the pool.

I wish I could have stayed a bit longer. Now the hotel was so good that I didn’t even bother to go down to the beach in Clifton, just a 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Cause with a view from the pool of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and Lions head cliff on the other side, it is hard to come up from the pool.

I am already planning my next stay to South Africa, next time together with my girlfriend. Our nights (and days) in Cape Town will definitely be spent in the Compass House!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TibasHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
154
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sotogrande
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Nice setting, longer than usual pool, you can really swim in it. Beautiful furniture, very laid back atmosphere, good breakfast with fantastic views. I would recommend this place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This boutique hotel is a fantastic place to stay and relax while on vacation in Cape Town. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and you REALLY can't beat the view! It was like the ocean was right outside our window! The "lobby" area is so comfortable and friendly--the owner and his assistant are there every day and are more than ready to help you make any arrangements, recommend any type of restaurant, or just sit and chat (really nice people!). We were a family of 4 with 2 adult children, and we could not have imagined a more comfortable and luxurious place to have stayed on our vacation. Will definitely recommend it to anyone and will certainly be staying there on our next trip to Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

just go there, you feel just as in paradise. Olivier, the owner, will take care that you enjoy your stay just the way you expect it. You will never forget the glass of chardonnay served at sunset on his "deck over the ocean".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Small boutique guest house in Bantry Bay. Excellent ocean views from all rooms, which also have outside terraces with tables and chairs. Owner Olivier and his assistant Rudolph are most welcoming and go out of their way to help. Amandine the basset hound also has a habit of coming to say hello.

Rooms are clean and modern with personal touches designed by the owner. Good quality beds and linen. Bathroom products are of high quality.

Communal areas are tastefully decorated in a modern, natural style. Sundowners on the terrace are to be recommended. The property features an Infinity pool and sun terrace, with an adjacent dining area for private dining al fresco (chef can be ordered in - only breakfast is routinely served in-house).

Good continental buffet breakfast with ample choice. Option of sitting at large communal table to meet the other guests, or at private tables.

Honesty bar equipped with champagne, wines and beers plus tea, coffee, etc. If one thing is strange, it's that one is expected to list and pay for all coffee consumed - a tad incongruous, given that this is not a budget property. (Would be worth re-thinking that, Olivier.)

My wife and I stayed there twice during the World Cup - once in the private apartment below the swimming pool, which has a fully fitted kitchen and living space and a large private terrace. On the other occasion we stayed in a regular room which was considerably smaller but not lacking in style, also with a (shared) outside terrace. The larger room represented better value for money and the extra outlay is worth considering - it's also the owner's former private apartment,

The hotel, whilst not in the centre of town, is within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. Were it not for the attentive personal service it might only warrant four stars but would still be highly rated. However, the owner helps tip it into the 5-star category (for a boutique guest house).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed here during the world cup for three nights and were extremely satisfied with our stay. There were too many positive things to list in this review, but the following deserve special mention:

1) Despite making our reservations a year in advance, many of the hotels in South Africa (esp. in Joburg) either canceled our reservations or jacked up prices several months before the world cup. Not so with the Compass House. Reservation was seamless and all promises were kept.

2) The breakfast. Being an epicure, I derived extreme pleasure by the quality and choice of food.

3) The aesthetic quality of the hotel, both in terms of architecture and natural environment, was breathtaking. Our room looked over the infinity pool and waking up in the morning to see the sun rise over the ocean was pure bliss.

This would be a lovely hotel for a honeymoon or anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My Son and I's first visit to South Africa and Cape Town.
I Cannot recommend Compass House highly enough.
Outstanding service and attention to detail with a perfect setting and breath taking views.
You really are made to feel like one of the family by Oliver and his fantastic staff.
If you are visiting this beautiful city look no further, book your stay at Compass House.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.2 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass House

Property: Compass House
Address: 154 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Compass House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass House, perfectly positioned on the shores of the Atlantic Seaboard, promises its guests the ultimate in style and comfort. Located in Bantry Bay, just two minutes from the beach-front and ten minutes away from the city center, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean from every room. Compass House enjoys a warm atmosphere. It has wooden floors throughout. The biggest swimming pool in Cape Town and patio lend themselves brilliantly for daytime relaxation and witnessing the beautifully blissful South African sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Compass House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass House Hotel Bantry Bay
Compass House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing