We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in July and had a wonderful time. The suite had a massive balcony overlooking the pool area and the ocean. The room itself was more than spacious. Most of the rooms look out over the ocean as well as the penthouse on the top level. Our suite was perfect for our stay, displaying tons of style inside and outside. Its furnishings were crisp and clean and well suited for the sunny location

There was ample parking for all the guests. We did not have time to eat at the guest house, but the staff were all so friendly and more than willing to assist. We can most definitely recommend The Clarendon Bantry Bay!

Room Tip: Suite facing the ocean is the way to go. Open the sliding doors at night for the ocean to sing you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhlotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a charming, comfortable, up scale yet not pretentious B and B, offering a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas of Cape Town. The views are breath taking. Our college aged daughter described the staff, "In one word, darling!"

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltraveled17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My husband and I took our honeymoon by The Claredon Bantry Bay in Cape Town. I could not say enough about this place.
Starting from the warmest welcome, greeted by Noel, which continued everyday we were there, and which made us feel as if we are his only guests. Continued by luxurious gorgeous room, faces the water and most amazing view.
Everyone of the staff was beyond friendly. It was as if we were at home. I have never seen anything like this.
The chefs (Oh, and the food!), service, staff, location, everything is top top top!

There is no chance we will ever stay anyplace else when in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Don't go anyplace else. This is where you want to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 768KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I went to the Clarendon Bantry Bay for our honeymoon.
It was among the most beautiful, tranquil and incredible places we have stayed.
the service was beyond this world! especially the one employee named Noel.
nothing was ever to much and they made us feel like we were the only guests.
not to mention the view is ridiculous! and the decor as well!

GO THERE!

Room Tip: choose a room above the pool level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenewlywedsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clarendon bantry bay was my first stop on my African trip and I could not have picked a better place. The view when you walk into the lobby is breathtaking every time you walk through the door! I had the lucky opportunity to watch whales while Noel (amazing, helpful staff member) got us checked into our room (while drinking our complimentary drinks and cashews : ) )The room was beautifully decorated! The pool is a great size and the chairs surrounding are comfortable and inviting! Fresh towels always folded and sitting on the chairs! Breakfast in the morning is included and served in the main lobby overlooking the ocean! Breakfast selection was great! (try the pancakes YUM) The hotel is only 5 minutes from the waterfront. Cabs were approximately 60 rand to get there. Just a list of some things Noel and abby helped us with (without them I don't know what the owner would do):
-set up all of our cabs for dinner trips or adventures (mountin nicking on table mountain)
-set up our tours .. Including pick up (tour of cape town and peninsula)
- made our dinner reservations (including a taxi waiting)
- rented us a car ( the last day we toured cape town via car rental... Great price approx 650 rand after all cost) Abby had arranged the company to drop off the car and I believe Noel gave the keys back to the company for us and arranged for pick up while we were on our way to the airport
-drinks and a warm welcome anytime returning to the hotel : )
I used eyes of Africa for booking my trip (this is one of there preferred hotels and now I know why)


The staff is so warm, welcoming, helpful that it makes it that much better!!

Room Tip: I had the pool level room. It is elevated so you still have an ocean view for sure (I was worried be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

For some reason the GPS directed me through the heart of Cape Town to get to Kloof Rd and The Clarendon. Normally, not too much of a problem, but, when three lanes filter into one and the road works are abandoned, the blood boils. However, entering the hotel lobby and viewing the magnificent vista from the lounge/dinning area was a sheer delight and the temperature gauge quickly returned to normal.
The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are very well appointed and exceptionally comfortable. We had a private terrace, but, sitting around the pool was also very enjoyable and highly relaxing.
Breakfast on the verandah each morning was delightful, even when CT a little overcast. The hotel is close to Camps Bay for the night life and to The Waterfront for the more mundane night scene.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkirkbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a genuine 5 star boutique hotel in the suburbs of Cape Town. Excellent service - extensive and healthy buffet and hot breakfast - delightful pool. Staff all very friendly and helpful - with special mention of Noel, Emmy, Adele and David. Rooms well presented. View from eating area stupendous over the ocean.
We had a great 8 days here in early February. Will certainly come back

Room Tip: We were in room 12 on top floor with a side ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fonzpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,056 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.0 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Bantry Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Bantry Bay

Address: 158 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range: £259 - £674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clarendon Bantry Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel in the best area of Cape Town. Close to beaches, shops and restaurants. 7 Mins drive from the V & A Waterfront. 10 Mins to the City Centre and 5 mins to Camps Bay. We have 2 resident chefs, parking and free wi fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Clarendon Bantry Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Hotel Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing