We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Start To Our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Start To Our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Clarendon Bantry Bay was the first stop (4 nights) for our honeymoon and we could not have picked a better place to stay in Cape Town. Although we arrived way before check-in, at about 8am, they offered us a delicious breakfast (overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with views of Robben Island!), had a chat to us and provided ideas and maps of Cape Town.

Our room (Superior Suite) was wonderful! Possibly our favourite of our whole trip... It was modern, with muted colours, huge marble bathroom and the view! Every morning, as I came out of the bathroom to be greeted by the views of the Atlantic Ocean across our terrace, I had to declare how much I loved this place!

The staff were lovely, thoughtful and helpful throughout. Only having approx 10 rooms means that they know who everyone is and they all seem genuinely interested in ensuring we had the best possible stay there. Whilst we were there they organised someone to come and give us massages on our terrace (listening to the ocean) - when we realised that she needed to be paid cash and we didn't have enough, they calmly helped by calling the main company and arranging for them to come back tomorrow when we had the cash.

The breakfasts we had there were delicious and they have afternoon tea with cakes too. We didn't get to experience dinner there as you have to book the evening beforehand but, given what we tasted there, I would recommend it.

You are a bit further out the only thing we could walk to was one of the hop-on hop-off bus tours, but taxis are so cheap there (they happily book for you) that never caused an issue.

Fabulous stay - thankyou!

Room Tip: Our superior suite was brilliant with great views, a large terrace and a separate seating area. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planning-the-next-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    19
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The rooms, the setting, the views, the staff . . .all culminating in a fabulous boutique hotel! If you have a bad stay at this hotel, it is your fault as the staff are unbelievably helpful and truly want you to enjoy every moment of your stay. The Penthouse is purely stunning (NICE SHOWER), and falling asleep outside was perfection. We loved our stay and will absolutely be returning.

Room Tip: Penthouse was stunning, truly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecoD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent location with stunning views, this Boutique Hotel provides superb accomodation matched with great service from a polite, caring and capable team. We loved our stay and were grateful to the team for making our experience very special. Breakfasts and drinks on the terrace were great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Exquisitely chic and well managed by the owner and her great team. The penthouse is incredible and at a reasonable price (for this sort of value). The breakfast on the terrasse is great, with views on the Atlantic ocean from Bantry Bay. The superior suite are also fantastic. The standard room are not the greatest assets of this place. Overall we loved the place, its design and atmosphere. Being slightly outside the city centre is great (if you've rented a car) and refreshing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeromecamblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect - just 2km from the city centre. Rooms amazing, but go for the staff: Noel, David, Regev, Bernice, Isaac, etc. We were a rowdy, demanding group of 6, and they were always thinking three steps ahead about how to deliver flawless service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidonthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Truly stunning views from gorgeous, spacious rooms. Caring, lively staff, and great breakfast buffet! Perfect location too. As a demanding Parisian, trust me when I say that this hotel is your best bet for an unforgettable travel experience to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have been to this property twice - once in Mach with my family and again this October for a couple of weeks. I have to say that the staff is amazing -- helpful, warm, courteous --- all around great people. The views from the rooms and the dining room are unsurpassed. Each morning you are greeted by a delicious breakfast buffet. Adele the chef is also terrific at pastry - so don't miss he cakes which are served at teatime. The location is terrific and you can get anywhere in Cape Town in no time at all. They do not have room service but you can order and have food delivered to your room. Shirley the owner, and all the managers, go above and beyond the call of duty and try to make your stay as good as it can be.

Room Tip: No fitness center -- or room service. But they have a pool. Higher rooms do have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MfromBrookyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Bantry Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Bantry Bay

Property: The Clarendon Bantry Bay
Address: 158 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clarendon Bantry Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel in the best area of Cape Town. Close to beaches, shops and restaurants. 7 Mins drive from the V & A Waterfront. 10 Mins to the City Centre and 5 mins to Camps Bay. We have 2 resident chefs, parking and free wi fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Bantry Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Hotel Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing