We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing aspect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantry Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Relaxing aspect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The view here can't be beaten. You are on the edge of the cliffs, with only the deck and pool between you and the sea, which is magnificent both in bright sunshine and in storms.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Close to many different restaurants as well as shops.

Room Tip: All rooms over look the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Condor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I spent a few days at this resort. We wish it had been longer. The most perfect location, with views over the sea , magnificent sunsets and well designed and equiped unit. We will be back soon !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently spent a week at the Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort. We stayed in what is termed a luxury studio unit which comprised sleeping, sitting, dining and kitchen areas not to mention a balcony with a magnificent view of the sea. The unit is tastefully and functionally designed and furnished. The resort is relatively small with a total of around 35 units. In my opinion, this only adds to the tranquility of the resort. The resort has a lovely swimming pool on the massive boulders emarging from the pounding waves of the ocean below. The noise of the waves is relaxing. The sight of the waves is fascinating. The setting is very special. The service and the cleanliness are both excellent. The location is very good - only a short distance from central Sea Point and a 15 minute drive from the Cape Town city center. The only slight negative is the on-site parking which is a tight fit. The mitigating factor is that you won't really want to leave the resort for the duration of your stay. The resort is conventially situated on the coastal Victoria Road and is convenient for walks overlooking the sea to Camps Bay or through Sea Point to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Strongly recommended. Make reservations well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrisgelkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Great location, neat rooms, friendly staff. The rooms need an upgrade but the views cannot be beaten! Close to Clifton beaches and Camps Bay and literally 10 minutes from V and A Waterfront. The only downside - very noisy neighbours with small children who screamed continuously!

Room Tip: Ask for the higher apartments as often the noise from the swimming pool disrupts a peaceful afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This accommodation was in a really good location: very close to Camps Bay and only 10 mins from the V & A Waterfront. The hotel offer free tranport within 8k which is very convenient for either location. The room was pleasantly furnished with a private balcony overlooking the sea. The kitchenette was well stocked with crockery, pans, microwave etc for anyone who wants to eat in.

One thing worth noting is the noise. The hotel next door is being rebuilt and the workmen started drilling at 8am until 5pm. It didn't really bother us as we were only there for 4 days - 2 of which were over the weekend, so no workmen on those days. The other 2 days we were out early to explore Capetown and didn't arive back until late afternoon but if you did want to relax by the pool earlier in the day the noise would be very distracting.

The room had no air con although there was a fan. It didn't cool the room down enough so sleep was a bit disturbed. Overall though, good value for money

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
348 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here for a week-friendly staff,very good position.Convenient to get to the beaches-Clifton and Campsbay.Most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

This oceanfront property has amazing views and all apartments face the water. The rooms are dated, but it worked great for us as we enjoyed the spectacular morning and sunset views and were gone most of the day. The rooms have a private patio and there is a communal deck with a pool, lounging chairs and barbecue. Either place is excellent to watch the sun set and have a few drinks.

The rooms themselves are bright but older. There is a fully stocked kitchen with a microwave and a living room with a fairly small television. Our bedroom was on an upstairs loft and had curtains so you could have semi-privacy. The bed was fine but not to the standards of those in luxury hotels. There was ample space in the room for luggage storage. Our bathroom was very cramped and had a low entrance (hit my head twice) but was clean.

The housekeeping was excellent and was expedient in delivering items to stock the room and showed up at our designated time to clean the room and wash the dishes. The daytime front desk staff was very helpful (the night staff wans't unfriendly but was not as resourceful). There is a free shuttle with very limited hours. Their wi-fi setup is a pain as you only get three hours of access at a time and have to obtain new login info after each expiration.

The property is on a beautiful residential stretch between Sea Point and Clifton. It is a scenic 15 minute walk to the Clifton beaches and 35 to Camps Bay by foot (or you can wave the local bus down for a short ride - ask the front desk for details if you haven't used these in Africa). As far as stores and restaurants, it is a ten minute walk to Regent Road in Sea Point where you will find grocery stores, restaurants, shops, etc.

We think this the best location in Cape Town and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort

Property: Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort
Address: 44a Victoria Road | Bantry Bay, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay International Vacation Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing