We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly honeymoon”
Review of 52 De Wet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
52 De Wet
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly honeymoon”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This place is like heaven. The staff makes you feel like a god, thanks Anatoly and Willy. We can't wait to come back. If you're looking for the perfect view, a getaway and no traffic. This is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocketbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very kindly for your review. We are very pleased that you have chosen 52 De Wet for your honeymoon and pleased that enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you on some other occasion. Till then keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    18
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
207
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place is truly exceptional and simply beautiful! Very tastefully decorated, modern yet cosy, unpretentious, yet luxurious with probably the best view of any Cape Town guesthouse. The moment you walk in you feel welcome and soon think this is your new home, just 6 Star and you never want to leave ... Willie and Anatoly are the best, friendliest, most attentive and most genuine, down-to-earth hosts ever experienced in a B&B. This is a stunning place, with a stunning view, with a stunning crew and in a stunning neighbourhood. Will definitely come back here if in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you very much for a great review. It was a pleasure looking after you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your road trip in South Africa, especially Karoo area. Hope to welcome you again very soon! Warmest regards, 52 De Wet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at 52 de wet just for one night and what a wonderful night it was. The setting is truly breathtaking and the views unsurpassed! A very stylish and personal hotel where we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived. Willie was a very attentive host and whipped us up a gorgeous lunch of grilled fish and salad which was too divine! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in! Thank you to Willie for making our one night get away truly special.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom level which had its own private splash pool and large lounge( shared with 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Justine,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was greatest pleasure to look after you. Hope next time you will have a chance for a longer stay with us. All the best !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

52 On De Wet is a fantastic spot, removed from the bustle of busy inner city centre and with spectacular views of the Bantry Bay peninsula. The service was excellent, staff was friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are well-serviced and have all amenities necessary. The decor and ambience contribute to a wonderful holiday experience

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giada_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Giada,
Thank you so much for such a detailed review. 52 De Wet Team is pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We are looking forward seeing you again soonest...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in the Penthouse Suite. The view out of the main pool deck and from our room was breathtaking - I challenge anyone to find anything remotely as grand. Willie and Anatoly are the most gracious hosts, and continuously ask about your well-being, while at the same time they try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. No task is too big or too small for them, and we found that the kind and efficient service from the staff was what made this stay so enjoyable.

The rates are competitive, and the rooms elegantly furnished and comfortable. Our room had a large TV, a walk-in closet and a Nespresso machine, among others. Breakfast in the morning was utterly delicious and well presented. The pool is warm and drinks are freely available.

I don't think we've ever stayed at a better Boutique Hotel, and we're well travelled.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
On behalf of 52 De Wet Family, I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. It was greatest pleasure looking after two of you. Since Pretoria is not too far from Cape Town, we are looking forward welcoming you again very soon. Till then keep well! Warmest regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you read all the reviews, I have nothing to add except that this is NOT a hotel, this is NOT a guesthouse, this is really a 5-star HOME!! Thanks to Anatoly and Willie and their entire staff. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous view, delicious breakfast....and the kindest welcome.
We had an amazing time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaellaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Michaella, thank you for your warm review.
We are very grateful that we had you and your family staying by us. It was greatest pleasure looking after all of you. Greetings to the boys and we are looking forward seeing you next next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

we stayed 3 nights & were very happy with our choice!
the team is very nice & friendly, they assist with any thing you just need
the view is amazing- even if you get a rom with no view- the living room is very quiet & has the best view to relax & have a drink
the rooms are huge& beautiful
better if you have a car- it's up on the hill
highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anatoly B, Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Nira,
Thank you very kindly for such a detailed review. We were very lucky to have you and your husband over. Hope to see you soon again. Keep well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Property: 52 De Wet
Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing