We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of 52 De Wet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
52 De Wet
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

...in fact I don't know the others, but once you have seen the incredible view, the first class architectural design of this small building, and experienced the warm and professional welcome of the Marnie, Russell and their team, you don't really want to know more about the other places to stay in Cape Town.
Last but not least, don't miss the opportunity to have a dinner there at the beginning of your stay, because you will want to repeat that experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Luc,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time spent at 52 De Wet. We sincerely hope we will get the opportunity to cook for you both again in the coming future.

Kind Regards,

The 52 De Wet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

While guest reviews and pictures of 52 de Wet are assuring before a visit, you cannot beat walking into the hotel and experiencing the incredible views of Bantry Bay and the impeccable decor of 52 de Wet for yourself. They have done a great job of maintaining a homey feel while also offering all of the luxuries of a fine hotel. The service provided by Marnie, Russell and the rest of the staff and the beautiful accommodations helped make our stay over New Years 2014 a very memorable one. One thing to consider is that the property is certainly a bit out of the way, and you will have to take taxis or have a car to get around pretty much anywhere. This was not an issue at all for us, but it's definitely something to be aware of. That said, I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Cape Town and I will be back if I get the chance to return to South Africa in the future!

Room Tip: Penthouse suite is incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmap723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to say some nice things about us, I couldn't be more pleased that you were made to feel at home, this is a massive compliment to the team as we strive to make sure every guest is treated as though they are home away from home. You are absolutely right about the property being slightly out of the way, hire cars and cheap taxi rides are the best solution. The location does however give us an incredible view. That, I wouldn't swap with any other hotel in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The place had a spectacular view with amazing sunsets. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and the place had a contemporary boutique feel. Russel, one of the hotel managers/chef prepares food which could be found in any high class restaurant so if you don't want go out for dinner then you definitely can stay in and enjoy a private high quality meal. Marnie, the other hotel manager, went above and beyond our expectations and actually continued to help arranged dinners/recommendations/lunches/tours in the Franschhoek region after we had already checked out of the hotel. Her recommendations were spot on. The whole experience was fantastic and we would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Location is a bit hard to get to however this is compensated with an amazing view especially at suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Robert,
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek & that you loved it much as I do.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us & what a lovely one it is.
We hope that we'll welcome you again but in the meantime take care & enjoy the British summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

There is a side of Cape Town where you will enjoy the beautiful cape sundown without any obstacles in a 180 degree view, it's Fresnaye.
This location combined with an first class guest house, friendly hospitality; it's the place to stay.
We enjoyed the stay and have booked already for the coming year.

Room Tip: A sea side room its a must if you are looking for own balcony. If this don't meet your budget ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Gabriel,

Thank you for the lovely review.
Myself & the 52 team are really looking forward to welcoming you back & meeting more of your family :)
See you soon.

Kind Regards,

Marnie Fennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Husband and I stayed at 52 De Wet either side of a garden route trip and had simple the most amazing time. The Hotel and it's views are breath taking, we stayed one night in room 2 and the rest of the time in the suite (room 7) which meant we had our own balcony, pool and huge living area. Both rooms were clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated with their own floor to ceiling views of the sea.

Meals are served on the terrace overlooking the ocean, the food and wine choices were delicious, we only planned to eat dinner in once but asked for a second night because of how good it was.

To top it all off the staff were fantastic, Russ/Marnie and the team really took care of us, always on hand to tell us about the area, book a taxi, recommend amazing restaurants or help us think of things to do. A nice touch is that there is always someone on hand, so when you come back in the late at night it makes you feel extra safe - we stayed at a few guest hosts in SA and this was the only one that had that. We couldn't fault the whole team as hosts and will definitely be looking to come back.

Room Tip: The suite of room 7 is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

wow... thank you so much for the lovely review.. it was a real pleasure to be part of your amazing trip, we really did enjoy having you guys around the hotel. My records show you have already booked to stay next year so the team must be doing something right, until then, enjoy the English summer..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a fantastic two weeks at 52 De Wet Road, it was very hard to leave. The apartment had amazing views of the sea, a gorgeous room, and all the necessities you need for self catering. The staff were fantastic, Russ, Marnie and the rest of the team made me feel very welcome and helped me navigate my way round the amazing restaurants of cape town. However you don't need to leave the Hotel as the food is amazing quality, I had a number of 3 course meals cooked by Russell that were fantastic and the views from the hotel just gave it that wow factor. I definitely recommend taking advantage of the food. A truly amazing holiday that will be difficult to repeat, thanks 52.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexanba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Well Alex, thank you for a lovely review and pictures. We really do miss having you around, for the 2 weeks you were here it felt like you were part of the team (you make excellent tea). David 'the wild cat' is very confused as to your whereabouts! please keep in touch, it'd be great to have you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here last week for a friends wedding. Not only was it one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in as far as location and the spectacular rooms and views were concerned but Marnie, Russell and the team were incredible hosts throughout. I would recommend this to anybody and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Hi Sophie,

I hope you are well & I'm pleased to hear the weather back home is improving!
It was a real pleasure having you both stay with us at 52 De Wet, I hope your thumb is ok & that we'll see again this time next year.

Best Wishes from the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
677 reviews
Compass House
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
239 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
273 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 52 De Wet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: £112 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing