We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place service & team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigrownie Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Craigrownie Guest House
Ranked #5 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
1 review
“Amazing place service & team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Not only an amzing place near to almost everything yet also an amazing manager called Frank who helped me all through my trip, from planning to reseving places even taking me himself where I want to go.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank M. Magdy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigrownieHouse, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 15 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is always a pleasure assisting my guests :)

We are always looking forward to welcoming you. You must remember Craigrownie Guest House always looks forward to welcome you soon again.


Thank you and kind regards
Craigrownie Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just returned from the most wonderful family getaway! We spent 10 blissful days as a family in this beautifully appointed, immaculately kept secret! This guesthouse is in the prime location of Saunders Rock, a stone throw away from the beach. It borders on world renowned Bantry Bay and Clifton Beach. We were warmly welcomed by property manager, Frank and housekeepers Doreen and Thomas. They were attentive to our every need in a most timely fashion. The breakfasts were delicious and made fresh daily. The warm sea breeze and calming sounds of the waves made for a most relaxing atmosphere. The rooms were very spacious. The beds are so comfortable. The linens are top of the line. The balconies overlooked the beautiful sunset or faced Lions Head. We enjoyed the walks along the promenade. We felt very safe and secure at all times. My children asked why we couldn't live there and why we had to leave! Excellent value for money! Close to all the action, yet set away from the crowds. I can't wait to return! Thank you!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views. Downstairs rooms are more accessible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, General Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you Tamara for choosing Craigrownie Guest House as your vacation spot! It was a pleasure having you and the family over. Thank you for taking time to see the places around and it was great to see the guys making use of the Promenade and getting familiar with the spaces in the neighbourhood!

We look forward to welcoming you at our doorstep again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Besides location, comfort, cleanliness and aesthetically pleasing decor what I always look for on business trips is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere ..... Craig Grownie was all this and more. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and accommodate us with special needs such as preparing dinners which were left for us to warm up when we arrived back late worn and weary from a busy day of filming. For their warm hospitality, flexibility in fitting in with our needs and friendship, ten out of ten!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraHerrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank M, General Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
It is always a pleasure to be able to fulfill the requests of our valued guests. It was wonderful to meet your film crew and to have you stay with us. Although we do not usually provide dinner for guests, we were very glad to be able to cater for your needs while you were here.

We hope to see you here again and we look forward to keeping in touch and hearing how your filming went. We will be looking out for the beautiful shots you made on Table Mountain and surrounding areas!

Thank you for taking time to write about us. May you have a great Autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Have been several times to Craigrownie and regrettable, were too late this time. It was fully booked... It's a charming, quit place near to the seaside. The owner is very friendly and always ready to help. Perfect location between the busy Cape Town and the quit Cape Penincula. You can safely go jogging on the promenade in the morning (if you stand up early, it can be already be warm after 8 o'clock).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leendc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigrownieHouse, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 15 March 2016
Dear Valued Guest

We are always looking forward to welcoming you soon, and hoping that next time you book we can assist you.

Thank you and kind regards
Craigrownie Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was the first place we stayed upon arrival in Cape Town. Manie was very helpful before our arrival (late booking, late arrival, arranging a car to pick us up etc.), and seemed to be a very friendly person when we arrived.
The room was good (ground floor next to the pool), and had space for a cot for our 2.5 year old son.
As a base from which you will go on day trips, it is perfect - close to Cape Town, but also to the gorgeous bays around. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighbourhood, and the parking works out well (it did for us, as there was no one else there, so no risk of one car blocking another). The breakfast was ok, but not amazing.
Unfortunately we did not see Manie or anyone else working at the guesthouse once we had checked in, except the kind lady who did the breakfast service, and maybe we missed this presence a bit, or at least a note saying when we could expect there to be people at the guesthouse (no one to ask any questions to for example). However, when we did have a question, and sent an e-mail, we received a reply very quickly, so were not left completely at our own devices.
Although not very important - it is good to note that the WiFi connection was not very good in our room, as the router is probably located in the main house.
I would say it is a perfect place as a base for very independent travellers. I would go back, but with the expectation that we would pretty much be left to ourselves, and then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The guest house is wonderful, having stayed there now on three occasions. Excellent value for money and wonderful attention by Manie Smith who cant do enough for his guests. Superb location in Bantry Bay, with secure parking and proximity to the seafront.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying at CGH and for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the world :-) I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at CGH and we hope to have you back in the near future.

I wish you all the best...

Manie and staff :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is an ideal location if you are travelling on business in the area. The guest house offers free WIFI and my room had a great view and the room was spacious. The staff are very helpful and the guesthouse provides value for money if you are on a tight budget - highly recommended.
The only snag is that parking is limited - my advice is don't have a rental but use the local taxis and walk or public transport. The guest house is within walking distance of the beach and within 1 km of shopping areas and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManieSmith, Manager at Craigrownie Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Thiru S

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at CGH :-) I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're always welcome to return ;-)

I wish you all the best...

Manie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigrownie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigrownie Guest House

Property: Craigrownie Guest House
Address: 10 Craigrownie Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigrownie Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet cul-de sac at the foot of Lion's Head in Bantry Bay, a mere ten minutes from the heart of the Mother City, you'll find a haven of tranquility and a home away from home. The luxuriously furnished and fully equipped six en-suite bedrooms each have their own balcony offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and Lion's Head, as well as all the modern home away from home conveniences required. Wifi, air-conditioning and 4 star quality makes this THE destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Craigrownie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigrownie Guest House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing