We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book the right room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just book the right room!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When you book at this Hotel you need to book the best rooms available which are the pricy ones unfortunately. Everything else is old, dark, boring & outdated.
The semi sweet at the back of the hotel - avoid at all cost.
The proper suites and the penthouse suite is lovely to stay in especially during summer!
Breakfast in general needs attention. Omelette was dry & unappetizing & buffet is not 5 star standard. Sorry for the rates you charge, you have to pull out the stops. Even if you are in Bantry Bay Cape Town!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a view on the 3rd & 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetonian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eben L, General Manager at Bantry Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear HEIDI761114,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our little hotel.

I am happy to let you know that the semi-suites are the first suites to undergo a makeover and we are moving away from the darker colours. I am glad that you liked our other suites and we will definitely look at our breakfast.

Happy travels!
Eben Lassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    84
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
58
117
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Bantry Bay suites is located at the end of the neighborhood of Sea Point. It is only a block away from the ocean, which is great for watching the sunset but not ideal for swimming or sunbathing. Clifton and Camp's Bay are about a 10 minute drive away and are both great for their beaches, shops, cafes,etc. There are a few cafes and restaurants within walking distance from the property but we spent most of our evenings in Camp's Bay. There is a secure car park onsite which is convenient and cost about only $50R per day and directly outside the hotel is a stop for both the red and blue hop on/off bus lines if you do not have your own transportation. Overall we were satisfied with our stay at Bantry Bay for the price of our stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willmc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Well I think Luxury is pushing it. Self catering suites? Not really and not exactly Bantry Bay either. My husband and I stayed here for 13 nights so would have expected to be allocated a reasonably good room. Don’t get me wrong it is clean and the staff are very friendly.
The rooms are spacious but badly laid out. The kitchenette was not at all well equipped. The microwave is a combination oven, which is good but 12 minutes to grill 3 slices of toast? Not overly practical. In our room there were no cooking utensils other than a frying pan and my husband managed to set the smoke alarm off just frying burgers (no pan to grill them). There was no storage space at all and the fridge was not full sized. So statement “This self catering beach hotel in Cape Town is fully equipped with a kitchenette and is ideal for a family holiday getaway”, is not entirely true.
The main room is nicely decorated but the bathroom tired and losing the fight against mould. There was nowhere to sit and eat, other than eat of your laps sharing one tray despite the room being more than big enough for a breakfast bar/table & chairs. Although each room has a balcony you can’t actually sit out there (no room for a chair), although given ours over looked the parking lot and a busy road we probably wouldn’t have wanted to sit out there.
Worst thing for me is the location, 3 rooms on each floor all face out on to a busy junction (despite the Manager’s comments on earlier reviews) so it is extremely noisy and will affect a lot of the rooms. All day from 7:30 the mini buses beep their horns and cars pass with music blearing. Then there’s the “pub” across the way, very noisy at the chucking out time on a weekend. The hotel is at the end of Sea Point, at the rougher end and some way away from desirable Bantry Bay itself.
The Wifi is dreadful it was only available from 7:15am to 9pm and would not load many UK sites (Amazon, banking websites etc). As the package gives roaming we were able to test on other Hotspots, which were absolutely fine - so obviously an issue with the Hotel set up.
The Bar is supposed to be open from 11am but the chances of getting a morning coffee are limited as the staff don’t usually materialize until about 12:30.
We didn’t eat breakfast in the hotel, it didn’t look anything special for the price and there are numerous coffee shops within easy walking distance serving excellent breakfasts at a fraction of the hotel price.
Parking was also a very expensive extra.
The hotel’s own website list of facilities included a gym and sauna, which is also misleading as there is no gym or sauna on site (the facilities offered are not even within walking distance). Admittedly these are not included in the fact sheet but should have been clearer.
One unexpected ritual for a hotel of this size was the nightly “turn down” maid coming around with very nice cookies, the next day’s weather forecast and a room service hanger for breakfast (which we had a large pile of by the end of our visit).
The hotel in itself was okay, let down by the location and I’m not sure it really warrants 4 stars. The real issue for me is it’s own website making it out to be something it’s not and couldn’t possibly live up to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Itsysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Location is almost a block away from the seafront and a lovely walk to the promenade, the business man who wants access to a quieter part of Cape Town and a family who does not neccesarily need to stay on the beach will enjoy this establishment.
The rooms are well appointed and the parking is secure albeit cosy, which is the norm for this city.
The units have self catering kitchens and a fridge as well as a microwave etc...

I enjoyed the stay and the friendly service. It is not a beach hotel.! the drive to the V&A Waterfront is quick including the peak times.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a great small property with all the facilities of a large Hotel. Vanessa & her staff run a great show and couldn't be more helpful & friendly, from the minute you arrive at reception to be met by smiling faces the the wonderful chamber maids and the girls and boys in the restaurant at breakfast time all are there to make you feel welcome .all the rooms are very well equipped with a nice small kitchenette with micro wave ,fridge etc Good beds and bathrooms and excellent A/C The rooms with sea views are obviously the best but even the rooms at the rear have good views of the lions head mountain Pool area is small but adequate for the amount of time spent on site as Cape town has so much to see
Mick & Mary
Ireland

Room Tip: All rooms on 4th Floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickoireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

i loved the bantry bay suites. the staff were superb, the room was also excellent. my only complaint was the very old very noisy airconditioning. its too noisy to use at night and it really was necessary. but i would certainly stay there again on my next visit to cape town

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank colin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Enjoyed my second stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, great location, close to all the seashore based activities. This time we stayed on the first floor, thus close to the breakfast room. The noise does increase during the early hours as diners arrive for breakfast. The room is self catering, and well equipped. Good view. I will recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjitru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.0 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantry Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantry Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 8 Alexander Road, Bantry Bay 8060, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Bantry Bay Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bantry Bay Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel - Experience Style & Sophistication Located in wind-free Bantry Bay and a stone’s throw from the popular Sea Point Promenade, The Bantry Bay Suite Hotel offers more than just a luxury boutique hotel experience. With breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, set against a backdrop of the magnificent Lion’s Head, it is located in the most perfect location for guests to explore and enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bantry Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantry Bay Luxury Hotel Bantry Bay
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing