We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ellerman House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
ballito
1 review
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Truly Ellerman House makes South Africa very proud! Complete luxury , in every way possible, thank you especially to the very professional staff especially Ella and Tiaan. The views are breathtaking especially watching the sun go with a glass of champainge! The tour of the private Art gallery was absolutely phenominal representing top South African artists. We were treated like Royality! and can assure all furture visitors will be as well! Thank you again to Ellaman House for making South Africa Proud!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally wonderful and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaime e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our property. I will certainly pass it on to Ella & Tiaan. We are happy to hear that it was an unforgettable experience for you. This is the aim for every guest that visit Ellerman House. The art gallery is a very special added experience we offer our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    8
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
152
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had the immense pleasure of staying at Ellerman House this month for a few days while in Cape Town. The seamless transfer from the airport, the charm, gracious hospitality, magnificent room, sensational view, brilliant position made it the most magnificent stay.

Added to all of this: the unique elegance of this beautiful building, breathtaking artwork, amazing staff, extensive winelist, mouthwatering meals makes it the only choice when staying on the Atlantic seaboard while in Cape Town.

Loved every second of my stay!

Thank you to the brilliant team that assisted me with everything: Lindsy, Ella, Alexa and Manuel x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our property. We really appreciate it and so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every guest experience an exceptional one, and constantly try to better our offering to our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The moment i stepped into the main hallway, I felt I was stepping into someone's home. The feeling of warmth embraced me, not just by the Manager's smile and helpfullness, but by the actualy home. The furnishings are beautiful and artwork, well it is like a museum of some of the finest artists known. The suite we were allocated, The Ellerman Suite was on the top floor, and easy access to the pantry for midnight snacks, like at home. Love it.

Room Tip: Request one their 2 top suites, or if you like Spa Treatments, one of the 2 Spa Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Ellerman House. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do like to make every guest's experience an unforgettable one. Our pantry is definitely one of our unique inclusions and guests absolutely love it.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Ellerman Villa is simply the most enjoyable way to stay in the city of Cape Town, the views are stunning. The master bedroom and master of simplicity that allows the beauty of the Cape's coast line to 'do the talking'. Ryan the chef is an accommodating host and the service warm friendly ans genuine. Too notch.

Room Tip: The master bedroom is an master piece
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ellerman House Villa! We really appreciate it and I can't wait to share it with the rest of my team.
It was an absolute pleasure having you here, and we look forward to welcome you back to our home soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Everything about Ellerman House is exceptional. The service is impeccable, the location ideal (particularly if you have a hire car as ample parking onsite, but if not Ellerman has a car service for complimentary transfers within a fixed radius of the hotel), the rooms are spacious and the bed one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The Sommelier paired the perfect wine with our stunning meal and the spa treatment was the piste-de-resistance! The onsite art gallery is a must see and be sure to raid 'the pantry' whenever you are peckish as the treats are delicious. There is so much to do in Cape Town just make sure you schedule enough time to simply sit and enjoy the view from Ellerman House. My only regret is we didnt spend enough time at 'home' at Ellerman whilst in Cape Town!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views, but if you are travelling with friends or family be sure to enquire a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH-on-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you experienced our property as HEAVEN! We strive to make every guest experience an exceptional one and I will share your review with my entire team.
We hope to welcome you back to our property very soon.
Best regards,
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

I had never heard of this hotel, until my travel agent, Patrick Ashworth (Ashworth Africa), recommended it to me for the first few nights of our stay in Cape Town. I was taken aback by the price at first, but realized once I arrived that every penny was well spent. From the moment you arrive, you feel like royalty.

They went out of their way to make certain that my husband had a bottle of GreyGoose in the room, since he was a vodka drinker. Our view was spectacular. The sunsets were some of my favorite that I have seen.

Privacy and service were paramount at this hotel. They made sure that we had everything that we needed throughout our stay. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenHillJHCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property. We are thrilled to be amongst your top 5 in the world. It was truly a pleasure to have you with us, and so happy to hear you enjoyed it. Our goal is to make every guest's experience truly exceptional. I will share your review with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House in the near future.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Ellerman House this past April. Other reviewers have discussed the beautiful site, the artwork, the scrumptious menu, and the wonderful staff...and we found all of their superlatives to be, if anything, an understatement.

I want to highlight one of the smaller services that we so enjoyed during our stay -- the open pantry. Ellerman House keeps an open pantry of tasty and savory treats available at all times. If you want the midnight treat, you can tiptoe down and prepare a plate. It was delightful to be able to go into the open pantry and have some milk and cookies (or brownies, pralines, scones...it was all good) to enjoy by moonlight on the balcony. The open pantry was a small, illustrative example of what a stay is like at Ellerman House -- a thoughtful service, delicious food, extremely comfortable and relaxing.

As other reviewers have said, the site is beautiful, and the food exceedingly yummy. The thoughtful, personalized and attentive service is amazing. It was a lovely week, and we look forward to returning whenever we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poptart234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable review - we really appreciate it. The guest pantry is certainly a magical little corner of the hotel. We call it the "sugar shack" amongst the staff. Guests love it and we encourage midnight visits. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back to Ellerman House soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Property: Ellerman House
Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#1 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing