We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Hotel with Memorable Views”
Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerman House
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Ellerman House Hotel located a close ten minutes from Central Cape Town is a well-run hotel with jaw-dropping views. The hotel has multiple types of accommodations which vary from a villa to a superior house room. The house or hotel offers a fantastic range or art, cuisine, wine and swimming pools.

I stayed at the Ellerman House for two nights and it was an experience to remember. The rooms were very nice, offering a spacious bathroom as well as an extremely comfortable bed. Also included was a huge balcony with sitting chairs and lovely views over the Harbour/Bay. The room colours vary and include a television, ipod dock and mini-bar.

The swimming pool is awfully nice to relax in and has a dense amount of lounge chairs to choose from. The pool and much like everywhere else in the hotel offers remarkable views. The pool staff are also extremely friendly and offer great service.

The restaurant or main dining area is very nice and offers heaters at night as well as very comfortable chairs. The one thing I found is that the food was extremely slow to come out at dinner and moderately slow at breakfast. Apart from that the dining experience was quite reasonable.

Ellerman House is a friendly hotel filled with exuberant staff and offers distinguishable views. It was a great experience and I found it to be far better then the famous Mount Nelson hotel also in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Maxamoh

Thank you for your kind words and the time taken to post this review and share you experience with us. The pictures you’ve shared are absolutely lovely. We love seeing our property through our guests’ camera lenses. We are delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay, as we try our utmost to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience at Ellerman House. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your dining experiences. I’ve addressed your comments with our Executive Chef and it is a concern that we will keep a watchful eye on. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ellerman House in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ella Cuyler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Ellerman House was spectacular in every way. The property is amazing- from the art work, rooms, and the views. The food was delicious and beautifully executed, and their wine list very impressive. The team at Ellerman House was beyond helpful and accommodating. They ensured our dinner reservations were confirmed, tours set up etc.This was the perfect start to our honeymoon in South Africa! We especially loved the views! We loved taking an afternoon nap outside on their lounge chairs by the pool- the views cannot be beat! I almost forgot to mention the spa- best massage and facial! So relaxing. We can't wait to return..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Michelle,
Thank you so much for your kind words and fantastic review of our special property. My team and I strive to make every guest's experience exceptional and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed it. I will certainly share your review with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to our home.
Best regards,
Ella Cuyler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The attention to detail started at arrival and was carried through until we left 2 days later. The House was fabulous with the art exceptional! We stayed in the Spa Pool Room with the wonderful views over the pool to the sea in the distance. The food was excellent with good service.
I can recommend Ellerman House and would like to stay there again!
Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you shared your thoughts.
I will definitely share this with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was superb. Feeling tired and stressed on arrival I left feeling so much better. The staff couldn't do enough for my husband and me. The place itself is simply out of this world and the food second to none. I couldn't recommend it more. A treasure!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VeragLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. To us it is paradise indeed and we love working here and making every guest's stay special. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Every aspect of staying at Ellerman is outstanding. From airport transfers to the rooms, the public areas, the museum-quality art, the grounds, the excellent restaurant, the outstanding spa, the unbelievably attentive, and personalized service, the immediate availability of a manager to help with any need; there is not a single area that isn't outstanding. As an example, I spoke with a manager about visiting the wine country. Our conversation was overheard by the sommelier (because I was in their office which is open for any inquiry at any time), who volunteered to go to work on our behalf, making reservations at various vineyards, providing me shortly thereafter with a written schedule and a map. The staff could simply not be more professional and attentive.

Room Tip: The view overlooking the ocean is magnificent and worth any extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dedddgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every guest's stay with us truly exceptional and nothing is too much for our staff and managers.
I will certainly share your comments with my team and we look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House soon.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at The Ellerman House for (2) nights in February. Our only regret is that we did not book for additional nights. We will be returning to South Africa in January and this time we will be staying a minimum of (4) nights before venturing off on our safari adventures in Zimbabwe & Tanzania. This boutique hotel has real old world charm combined with all of the modern conveniences. Definitely an experience you should not miss!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful but number four has a fantastic verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning to us in January. It is ideal to combine Cape Town pre or post safari. This city is a must see for every traveller to Africa.
Glad you enjoyed our deluxe house room - they are my favourite room types as well. Spacious rooms with terraces all looking out to the Atlantic.
We look forward to welcome you back to our home.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Truly Ellerman House makes South Africa very proud! Complete luxury , in every way possible, thank you especially to the very professional staff especially Ella and Tiaan. The views are breathtaking especially watching the sun go with a glass of champainge! The tour of the private Art gallery was absolutely phenominal representing top South African artists. We were treated like Royality! and can assure all furture visitors will be as well! Thank you again to Ellaman House for making South Africa Proud!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally wonderful and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaime e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, Public Relations Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I will certainly pass it on to Ella & Tiaan. We are happy to hear that it was an unforgettable experience for you. This is the aim for every guest that visit Ellerman House. The art gallery is a very special added experience we offer our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
We look forward to welcome you back to Ellerman House.
Best regards,
Lindsy Marais
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
328 reviews
1.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
375 reviews
2.6 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range: £502 - £1,574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing