We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best restaurant I have ever eaten at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellerman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerman House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bantry Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant I have ever eaten at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Wine Room addition is simply the best restaurant I have ever eaten at. We had a group of 12 family members. Service was great, and the ambience is simply best thought out I have ever seen. You really have to see this to believe it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4com4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear c4com4b

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review about Ellerman House. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful experience at our restaurant. We are proud of the service and the ambience we provide our guests and their friends. It was a pleasure to host the group and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Ellerman House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    11
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
160
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at Ellerman House in April for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. Given the rave reviews, it's fair to say that expectations were high. However, unlike many situations where this can lead to disappointment, our expectations were exceeded many times over. Every time we thought it couldn't get any better, it did.

The location of Ellerman House has to be one of, if not the, best in Cape Town, especially in terms of the views which you will never get bored of. The property itself is immaculate with an extremely high attention to detail from the rooms, terraces, pools and art & wine galleries.

However, it is the service at Ellerman House really sets it head and shoulders above other hotels in Cape Town. This starts in the airport pick-up and is continued at the highest level right until you (sadly!) leave on your final day. This is the case from Ella and the duty managers all the way down.

Finally, a special mention to the chef and sommelier. Cape Town has some truly incredible restaurants but you simply must eat in Ellerman House. The food was out of this world and the hotel has one of the broadest and finest collections of S. African wine in the world, most of which is stored in the new and stunning wine gallery.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Monty1984

Thank you for your kind review on Ellerman House. We are truly humbled by your feedback and we are delighted that we could exceed your expectations. Our philosophy at Ellerman House is to share the best that South Africa has to offer with our guests, from the gardens and our superb location to the wonderful wines and cuisine of South Africa. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Ellerman House in the near future again.

Kind Regards
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Being my first visit to Ellerman House I can only compliment the hotel on an incredible setting, the lovely details in the decor and atmosphere, the warm welcome by Alexa and the tour we thoroughly enjoyed through to the ice cold apple juice in the room and the views from the terrace. I felt like I was hosted by my own family and I think I have never had that same experience anywhere else I have ever stayed. Truly special and only down to the Elleramn team doing what you they do brilliantly every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Worldtraveler30

Greetings from Ellerman House. Thank you for the kind review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to offer every guest a tailor-made stay, making sure that they feel as at home as possible. It truly is a compliment to be compared to family, as cliché as it sounds and we truly mean it when we say “Our home is your home”. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Wishes
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Ellerman House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my fourth visit to Cape Town but the first with my new wife and I couldn't think of a better place to start our holiday. From the moment we arrived at the airport to be greeted by Sam, the hotel driver, we felt special. The location of the hotel was superb - we stayed in one of the luxury rooms which, along with the bathroom, was very spacious and had a balcony with a stunning view out to sea. The staff were attentive without being overbearing, from the four duty managers down. The breakfast was great and the food at dinner was some of the best that we tasted. The hotel is situated so as to catch the sun all day, which meant we could have evening cocktails on thee veranda whilst watching the sun fall into the sea. We could walk to the Clifton beaches in 10mins and be anywhere in the Cape Town area with a quick taxi ride. We stayed five days and could easily have stayed twice that long. The one slight annoyance was that the pool heater had broken which made for a chilly dip but that didn't spoil our time there. The hotel is one of the most expensive in South Africa so it needed to be truly 5star and beyond to justify the price - which we thought it did. We also stayed at the Delaire Graf and La Residence and we loved our experience at all of the hotels but Ellerman probably just shaded it in terms of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Greetings from Ellerman House.

Firstly we would once again like to congratulate you on your recent wedding. We are honoured that you chose Ellerman House as your honeymoon destination.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review on Ellerman House, we are truly humbled by it.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that was caused by the malfunction of the pool heater. We are currently in the process of doing extensive repairs on the heating unit and pumps, to ensure that this will not happen again in the future.

We hope that this was your first of many stays with us and that we get to welcome you back shortly.

Kind Regards

Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

After a wonderful stay at La Residence and Bushman's Kloof we wanted to visit Ellerman House to make a reservation for our next visit to Cape Town. Unfortunately we were not allowed to park our car and visit the hotel. The guard told us that it was a very exclusive hotel. He then called reception and they started to ask a number of questions why we would want to visit the hotel to make a reservation. After a couple of questions we replied that their idea of hospitality did not match ours and we left.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pascal U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Pascal U

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ellerman House. We would like to apologize for the unfriendly experience you encountered at Ellerman House. Our hotel is exclusive to our in-house guests and we therefor generally do not allow for outside visitors to come into the house. What you experienced is not the Ellerman House way. Our policy is that one of our managers should have been called, who would have met with you at the front door and explained the exclusivity of the hotel. They will normally provide you with information on Ellerman House and perhaps suggested an alternative time of day to visit and be shown around, once we knew the movement of our in-house guest, as not to inconvenience them. Should it however be possible to show the visitors around immediately, the manager will do it with pleasure. Mr Pascal, everything we do at Ellerman House is to the benefit of our guests, never do we want to upset or come across unfriendly to anyone, be that an in-house guest or a potential future guest. What happened to you on the day was against the instructions and completely wrong and I hope you accept our sincerest apologies. When you are in Cape Town next and would still like to view Ellerman House, please get in contact with us on info@ellerman.co.za and we will gladly arrange for a visit.

Kind Regards
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 4 days at this lovely Relais and Chateaux property.This property was formally a private mansion turned into a hotel. Our room was very large and overlooked the garden, pool and ocean. It was decorated in a soft traditional way. The home had an extensive collection of African art that was very impressive. The property was located on a mountain overlooking the ocean and was breathtaking. You felt like you were in someone's exquisite, private home, but you had access, to all the common rooms, such as the dining room, living room, den, sun room spa etc. The spa by the way was beautiful. They just completed their 2nd villa on the property and they are both spectacular.They are fantastic for a VIP or family or executive who wants privacy in the upmost luxury. Dining here was an elegant and delcious affair. Breakfasts were abundant and delicious. When I mentioned how good the granola was at breakfast, I found a bag of it vacuum sealed in my room when I got back.
The room had comlimentary drinks and snacks, that were replenished. There was also a snack room that was open 24hrs. a day in the hotel and you could get a coffee. cake, cookies, candy etc. which was also complimenatary. You are located about 15 minutes from the busy waterfront or a short drive to Camps Bay. But, you were in a special oasis. We loved our time here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truffle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Drakowski

Greetings from Ellerman House.Thank you so much for you wonderful and kind review on Ellerman House, we are truly humbled by it. Our philosophy is to share with our guests the very best that South Africa has to offer, from art and wine to local cuisine and the genuine hospitality of the South African people. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. It is perhaps a cliché that is used to often, but we truly want Ellerman House to become your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we will have a fully stocked pantry and your favourite granola waiting.

Kind Regards
Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Ellerman House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is our second stay at The Ellerman House in Cape Town and to our delight each experience keeps getting better & better! The attention to detail is unparalleled which results in each guest feeling like they have arrived "home". As stated in my previous review, the location is perfect and the views are simply stunning. A true 5 STAR retreat! There is no other place that we would choose to stay, when visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: This time we stayed in The Ellerman Suite is located on the very top floor of the hotel and affords...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllermanCapeTown, General Manager at Ellerman House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Colleen A

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review on our very special property. My team and I strive to make every guest experience exceptional. We are always overjoyed when we have returning guests, at it shows that we’ve left a lasting impression during your previous stay and it gives us another opportunity to create an even better memory for your next stay. I will share your review with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ellerman House in the near future again.

Kind Regards

Ella Cuyler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerman House

Property: Ellerman House
Address: 180 Kloof Road | Cape Town, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ellerman House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerman House commands spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. Professional and charming staff plus a remarkable art & wine collection leave guests breathless. Consisting of 9 bedrooms and 2 suites in the House, and the neighboring contemporary Villa and Spa, the property embodies the best in South African hospitality in true Relais & Chateaux style. Ellerman House is the place to stay in Africa’s fair Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellerman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerman House Hotel Bantry Bay
Ellerman Hotel Cape Town
Ellerman House Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing