We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, safe, great hospitality, beach nearby”
Review of Villa Sunshine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Sunshine
Ranked #2 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very welcoming and almost like your own lilttle space for a few nights. Great sounds from the beach nearby, cozy porch made private by a clever curtain, super comfy beds, clean, and very hospitable staff and owner. Staff helped us get a car (sorry to say you will want one). Breakfast was included and we enjoyed it, cheeses, jams, eggs to your liking, toast, tea, bacon, etc. They may ask you what time you'd like it fresh and hot! The team inquires that you are comfortable, if you need help planning, and to ensure your stay is great!
I ran each am along the beachfront and we walked the first 2 nights in the area. It is residential but parking was easy. You can walk for some dinner in Sea Point but Camp's bay not. You can take the shuttle from the bottom of the hill @ water front to the V&A, but really, I strongly recommend a car.
We were lucky enough to have a few nights as the only guests. You could possibly hear your neighbors, but everyone was respectful and kept things quiet. The only improvement was a personal opinion that the shower pressure could have been better.

Room Tip: Look behind you to see Table Mountain :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Just 5 minute walk up the hill from a beautiful seawall that makes for great walking. Room and ensuite were tidy, clean and nicely furnished. No TV in room, but a nice one in the communal living room downstairs. Everyone told us it's safe to walk during the day but not at night (anywhere in Capetown). We did this and we were fine. 2 minute walk to grocery store and ATM. Breakfast that they advertise costs extra. We didn't try it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MikeBeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed for three nights in Feb 2011. The guest house is very clean and ideally situated for seeing cape town if you have a car. Very helpful staff making restaurant reservation, enquiring as to whether table mountain visibility good and suggestions for tours etc. The breakfast was served outdoors and was delicious. The honesty bar was useful to end your day with a drink on the balcony in the african sunshine enjoying sea view.. I do feel the room(6) could do with being freshly painted but apart from that had a lovely stay. Would def recommend and return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgow70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the first two of our eight-night stay in Cape Town. The room was very bright, clean, and reasonably-sized. It also had a very nice bathroom and opened out onto a deck. Breakfast was delicious. The location is pretty good--it's in a quiet neighborhood and a 10-minute walk to anywhere you'd want to go in Sea Point. After two nights, we moved to one of their self-catering apartments, which was also fantastic (and a little bit more centrally located). Their staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

I'd highly recommend Villa Sunshine especially for an extended stay--they are currently offering a free night for every three nights that you stay. It's a great value, especially considering the rates in and around the waterfront.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalundertaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We just returned from 4 nights at Villa Sunshine. I am a corporate event planner and my husband was with Westin for years so we have pretty high standards and this property EXCEEDED our expectations. Located 3 blocks from the sea walk, it was a $3.00 cab ride into the main part of town. And two blocks from the "hop on, hop off" bus stop. Our room was 12 steps from the pool, where we found comfy chaise lounge chairs, thick cushions and fresh beach towels. Breakfast each day was offered either inside or out on the patio in the sunshine. And what a variety of foods, including eggs made to order! They have an "honour bar" which was extremely reasonable ($10 wine) so it saved you having to go out and buy booze and snacks. The staff were helpful and either gave us advice, directions or went online and actually booked tickets, rental cars, etc. for us. For an extra fee they picked us up at the airport and had our clothes back each day, perfectly laundered. Lastly, they allowed us to stay later on our last day as we had a late flight. Long story short, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I saw a NEW advert, posted 26 Dec 2009. I followed the link to verify it is a reputable or traceable supplier advertising for self catering apartments during January 2010. The advertised price was R500 per night per apartment. [Hidden Web Address]


When I made enquiries the price was now suddenly:

It is available for the time you have requested (8th January 2010 to the 12th January 2010)

The apartment is serviced every day, just like rooms in the guesthouse.
The rate is R1500 per night for two people, R150.00 per extra person. There would be a studio available as well. The studio costs R 1300.00 per night and per studio.
Optional is a delicious breakfast at Villa Sunshine Guest House at R95.00 per person per day.
We offer a 10% discount on cash payments


If this is the way we going to treat 2010 visitors we are really working hard to enusre they once off visitors. I guess they will be subject to even more and worse advertising, being both misleading and as close as you can get to a ****!

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank hugovz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erla, Owner at Villa Sunshine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

This enquiry came in over the weekend when our newly appointed intern was on duty. She quoted the client the standard daily rates of the apartment completely forgetting that the special was running. Unfortunately mistakes are made especially when new staff members are appointed, however it was rectified by me as soon as I realised (the very next day) incorrect prices were quoted. The intention was never to mislead it was merely a mistake. The client was advised of this and offered the special price.
He refused even to be contacted by us again eventhough the same price was offered. He decided not to take up the accommodation in the end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Villa sunshine is ideally located between the great landscapes of lionshead and the ocean as well as capetowns city center amenities and the fantastic beaches of Camps Bay and Clifton. I stayed there during a "driving licence free" period ;-) for ten days and had enough options to stay away from boredom. It's a five minutes walk to the ocean and all the tour busses have a stop just around the corner. The friendly staff goes out of their way and helped with tour and dinner tips. My room looked freshly refurbished and had a balcony facing the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huxley_war_gestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bantry Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sunshine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sunshine

Address: 1 Rochester Road, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range: £44 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sunshine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sunshine is a perfect base from which to explore Cape Town. The city centre; Table Mountain, The V&A Waterfront and the International Convention Centre are all within a 5km radius. Beaches and Restaurants are within walking distance. Our 7 en-suite rooms are exquisitely furnished, equipped with all the necessary amenities to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our rates also include a delicious continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sunshine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sunshine Cape Town/Bantry Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing