We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
284
101
17
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
101
17
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cottageattention to detailgreat hospitalityguest house isgo the extra mileovernight staybreakfast was deliciousvery pleasant stayon arrivalafter a long dayquiet areacomfortable roomsthe main roadperfect stopovernational parkperfect placeenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stopped here overnight on our way across the Karoo as it was a convenient halfway point. The guesthouse is situated at the northern edge of town, well away from the main road and traffic noise. The pictures show exactly how it is. It's old, rustic and charming with a modern twist but very comfortable. Great breakfast and very relaxing. Staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: All rooms around a quiet courtyard
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buncha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Cape Karoo have realized that people who travel with their furkids would also like a decent bed to sleep in, a warm welcoming reception and maybe a decent bottle of wine to share on arrival. Well done on finding a gap in the market and filling it so well!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X7234UAamandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Stunning guesthouse out of the city center. We didn't hear any of the traffic. Stunning decor and detail. They even put filter coffee in the rooms. The breakfast was excellent and well priced! I'll definitively be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeaninevisser v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay at Cape Karoo Guesthouse. Lizelle has created a little oasis in the dry region of Beaufort West. Her creativity, warmth and hospitality are exceptional. The breakfast and room were also great. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank momsollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Great welcome, comfortable room. Unfortunately we missed breakfast due to an early departure. We were surprised and disappointed not to be offered fresh coffee (although we did have facilities in the room) and a to-go snack for our early departure. Other guesthouses have offered this hospitality for an early departure.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R7688GTmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capekaroogues, Manager at Cape Karoo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for your reply, we do have coffee in each room - filter coffee as well as Nescafe. The breakfast area opens at 6H00 in the morning, there is always fresh brewed coffee on the house for all the guest. If you would like to have a breakfast pack, (we are always prepared for that), sorry that you did not asked, but we defiantly would pack a lovely snack or breakfast pack for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews