We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John W. An excellent stay”
Review of Maroela House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maroela House
Ranked #3 of 29 Bellville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“John W. An excellent stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I spent 30 days at Maroela House and it was excellent. The friendliness and service (same day laundering), breakfasts (fruit-and-cereal to full-English) are seriously good, and peace and quiet, all contributed to a first-class experience. Mary Pat is always attentive to what her guests need and goes out of her way to help. The rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and quiet. The gardens are a delight and provide very enjoyable shady corners for work (wifi everywhere). The location is outstanding, high up on the Loewenstein and easy access to expressways to all major driving destinations (downtown Cape Town 15 minutes, Somerset West 30 minutes, Stellenbosch 30 minutes). The neighborhood is excellent for walks, with a superb view, 5 minutes away, Westwards over Cape Town to Table Mountain (catching sunset is a must). Two shopping malls with restaurants are within 5 minutes drive. Maroela House is where you want to stay (please don't fully book it on the dates of my next visit).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear John W,
What a great review to receive John, you left nothing out in the detail and painted a picture of Maroela and it's surroundings. I will endeavour to keep Maroela on track for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
27
6
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have felt extremely comfortable at Mareola house.
The house and rooms are very nice and clean. The atmosphere fantastic. The garden a real delight.

Mary Pat is an excellent hostess. She really makes you feel at home, relaxed and comfortable. She is extremely kind and at the same time very respectful of your privacy. The breakfasts are of the highest category.

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Maroela house.

(I didn't pay, so I cannot comment on value)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Berta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Ola Berta r
Thank you for taking the time to give Maroela a fantastic review. If you are comfortable then I am a happy hostess. So glad you enjoyed the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The atmosphere at Maroela House is comfortable and friendly (and a small, eager-to-be petted dog just contributes to the experience). Mary Pat is a gracious hostess who enjoys seeing her guests eat well and is invariable pleasant. She is seemingly always available but not the least bit obtrusive. When I travel, I greatly value a good night's sleep and this was never a problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you Steve for a super review. As a host, I so enjoy meeting interesting people from all parts of the world. Ushie the dog has now her first mention on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I were on a short trip to Cape Town to visit my brother, and I must say that our stay was too short! The accommodation, the food, the setting was so much more than we had bargained for. Mary-Pat is an amazing hostess! Her breakfasts are to-die-for yummy!! She made us feel at home. We HIGHLY recommend Maroela House for any stop-overs in Cape Town.

Room Tip: For those romantic trips - choose the rooms in the front garden ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Bronwyn
It's great to meet people like you and your husband, very special guests you were joy to host. Thank you for such an incredible review.
Mary Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The most comfortable I’ve ever been outside of my own home. Maroela House has beautiful, functional rooms and facilities, is peaceful and safe, and you will be well-taken care of by the amazing Mary Pat. She will see to your every need, including calling multiple taxi companies to find you the best price, berating the pizza delivery man over the phone to ensure he respects your food allergies while making your pizza, and even serving you a snack at the end of your busy day in Cape Town. It was cold and very rainy the 4 days I spent there on a business trip, so when I returned from my meetings at 16:30h each day I didn’t feel like venturing out. Everything I needed was right there in Maroela House (free wifi, electric tea kettle, warm room, microwave, snacks); it was more like staying at your grandmother’s house than at a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
A very special review to receive both for myself and Maroela House. It was a delight hosting you.
Enjoy your time in South Africa.
Kind Regards
Mary Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Great accommodation at a great price. Perfectly located. Friendly atmosphere. I have noticed that a lot of upgrades were made since my previous visit to Maroela house in 2012 so it is even better now!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoToS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
What a great review thank you, so pleased you noticed and enjoyed the updates to Maroela.
Wishing you great results on your future endeavours.
Mary Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Mary Pat is one of the friendliest and most helpful people you'll ever meet. The property is clean, beautiful and cosy. I'd definitely recommend Maroela House for the excellent service and tranquil location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulpretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Pat S, Owner at Maroela House, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you Paul for your wonderful review. It is always great to see you coming back to Maroela.
Mary Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellville
1.8 mi away
Town Lodge Bellville The Lodge Hotel
2.3 mi away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
6.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Cape Town International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Excellent Guest House
Excellent Guest House
#2 of 29 in Bellville
175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Oak Guest House
Old Oak Guest House
#1 of 29 in Bellville
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
TC Villas
TC Villas
#11 of 29 in Bellville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maroela House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maroela House

Property: Maroela House
Address: 17 Maroela Street, Bellville 7530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bellville
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bellville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maroela House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maroela House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing