We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Perfect location - close to all the love lovely restaurants and gorgeous Camps Bay beach. Lovely spacious room. Everybody working there were friendly and went out of their way to accommodate me in every way. Hans and Annemarie are the perfect hosts - friendly and helpfull. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lulu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    57
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
116
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this property on occasion of our honeymoon. The hotel manager has organized a surprise in our room with chocolates and heart shaped soap, absolutely the nicest way to welcome us, and a sign of the care the hotel staff shows to their customers.
The property has amazing view on the ocean and sunset, it's 15 min uphill from the beach and has a nice pool (also facing ocean) and comfortable rooms. We really appreciated the good assistance we received from the staff which contributed to make our stay even better (restaurant suggestion, advise how to best use public transport etc). I would recommend this hotel and i am happy we had such a memorable experience here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

- perfect location
- worlds best fresh fruit salad every morning
- calm and quiet surrounding
- safe and foster estate
- impressive view (Atlantik ocean, Lions Head, 12 Apostel)
- handmade soup :)
- excellent Wifi
- very nice Hosts who gives a lot Information about the area, tipps and help

Room Tip: We've stayed in the cheapest room and the view was just as good as in the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiebke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The rooms are clean, spacious but they miss a decent desk to work on, if you're on a business trip. Breakfast is cheap. Only one room has a great view (as far as I could tell).
The owners are kind and friendly.
My main problem was that you need to open with a key 4 doors (and re-lock them) every time you go to your room in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simone_Zanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans G, Manager at Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We value all reviews, irrespective if good or somewhat less flattering.
What makes Trip Advisor unique is that it allows the guest house owner an opportunity to comment on any review and thus level the playing field, so to speak.
In this case there were 3 concerns mentioned :
(1) For this reviewer to state that we serve a cheap breakfast came as a bit of a low blow.
At Bateleurs one gets a choice between a continental breakfast (cold meat, cheese, muffin etc) or cooked breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, baked beans). One can self help to different cereals, yoghurt, bread, butter, jams, juice, coffee, tea etc.
(2) The fact that guests have 4 doors to lock (actually 3 - main entrance, back door and room). Surely the reviewer should comprehend the significance of locking these doors (especially as it seems he himself is residing in Pretoria - although one should imagine it important to do so in the rest of the world. How difficult can it be locking/unlocking 3 doors.
(3) All our rooms have desk space albeit small and maybe inadequate if one has to full fledged business to attend to but it will not be possible to accommodate all the needs of our holiday tourists as well as guests on business trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have previously stayed here with my late wife. Returned solo in early February 2014,as found hosts excellent in every respect. Will definitely return next year. There attention to clients wishes were superb and I thoroughly enjoyed my revisit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My mother and I recently stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting Cape Town - it was our first time and we couldn't have chosen a better place to be! The guest house is not far from the seafront (although we chose to drive!) where there is a good selection of places to eat in the evenings, the bay is beautiful and wasn't too crowded when we were there. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, we felt very looked after during our stay. In the evenings you can sit on the terrace where there is a good view of the ocean and watch the sunset. We will definitely be back to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This place is perfectly relaxing, the pictures don't do it complete justice as the dining, terrace and pool area are all well spaced and beautiful. Hans and Annamarie make the stay so easy and welcoming without ever being obtrusive. Location is perfect for camps bay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#24 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Surprise
Villa Surprise
#27 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#19 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Rose Cottage
Cape Rose Cottage
#7 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
61 On Camps Bay
61 On Camps Bay
#28 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Rontree Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Bateleurs houses where you may indulge in total tranquility. Views in abundance. Beautiful decorated rooms with a brilliant dug-in swimming pool, where you can be kissed by the warm South African sun. Near to all major attractions, yet in a quiet cul du sac, where a good night's rest is secured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing