We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting, great food, but staff to pushy with the extras!”
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We really enjoyed the food and the views, however the visit was slightly spoiled by the rather aggressive sales tactics of the waiter. Our man tried to persuade us to have a bottle of champagne as soon as we walked in, which if it was a special occasion may have been appropriate but it was two guys having lunch on a saturday afternoon!! He also pushed very hard for us to have the crayfish special starter without telling us the price which ended up costing around 40% of the total bill.
Overall the food was excellent and the bill pretty reasonable and we just laughed off his attempts to earn his extra commission as I guess this was his job, however a bit less "in your face" attitude would have been a better!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate and value all your feedback and comments and assure you that we will continue to strive to provide our guests with a memorable dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 817 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Terrific food. Great wine. Gorgeous views. Stellar service. This was our first meal in Cape Town and we never topped it. I had the chef's trio of game meats, and the blesbok smoked in rooibos was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your fantastic rating. We are thrilled that you had a great time dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My waitress, Frankie, ensured I was comfortable and well serviced for the entire 3hrs I was seated for lunch. The sweet pear & carpaccio salad, washed down with a house chilled Chenin Blanc(x2), was the right choice for a warm sunny afternoon. I noticed one of the other waiters offering a Dutch couple nearby me a chefs special, lobster salad, which wasn't on the menu. I would've given that one some serious thought! That's a nice touch I thought, make them feel special. I observed the manager interacting with other customers aswell. What's in a price when are converting from $ anyway? Some local talent arrived in the front of the venue to give a 5min street gymnastics display for some extra coin.

1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for posting your review and for your excellent rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed dining with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Paranga is located opposite of the beach with a perfect beach view. So you are sitting in kind of a hot spot in Camps Bay, so don't expect it to be an economic place. The service really seems to depend on whom you get. We got a sales talent - entertaining, charming - and back home our purse was empty. Why didn't we go for the barrique vine for 240, that surprisingly wouldn't be "wooden" but went for the far more expensive "wooden" one? The Game plate was as excellent as recommended and surprisingly the recommended fish was even less expensive than the prior chosen one. But maybe she just showed mercy because of the vine. The quality of the food is good to very good, but not excellent - but it is a very entertaining place, so give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tosche7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value your feedback and comments and will continue to strive to deliver our guests a memorable dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had wonderful sea food - tuna steak + champagne - on a lazy warm Saturday afternoon. The service was warm and friendly. I would highly recommend it should you be in Camps Bay on a hot day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moshune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique S, Public Relations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your wonderful rating. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing