We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views”
Review of Paranga

Paranga
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Enjoyed a very nice late lunch of mussels, fried goat cheese, & sushi while looking out at the beautiful ocean view. Service was excellent, attentive without any rush. Wine selections reasonably priced.

Thank Buzz_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review, positive feedback is very encouraging and a motivation for us to keep our standards improving. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 723 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Loved the setting right near the beak. The waitress was very friendly, perhaps a little too much so as she came over several times and perhaps stayed chatting for a little too long - but it was lovely and she was very attentive. T-bone steak was superb. Chocolate box wine washed it down nicely. Definately one of the better resturants on the front.

Thank Greenwhich_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we will take your constructive feedback and incorporate it into our training with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our waiter was very kind, and the service was amazing, food and drinks came very quickly. The food was the best part, very good and a variety of dishes ranging from salads to seafood. Very ideal location as well, just across from the beach with amazing views at sunset. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We will definitely share these with our Management and staff. Positive feedback is a strong motivator!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by several people on our arrival in South Africa.
The food was delicious,service was good and the wine was very reasonably priced.
Our only complaint was the lighting in the restaurant which was very poor and we struggled to read the menu.The music also appeared to be on a "loop" and became very monotonous after a while.
Apart from these small faults,we enjoyed our meal and would visit again if we are ever in Camps Bay.

Thank tobee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Your comments are constructive and have been addressed with the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ideally located in Camps Bay, with a terrasse and also very cosy seating inside. Heating available in winter. Service is very relaxed. Waiter tells us the place is well know for fish and seafood but when we ask what fresh fish is available, we get told "none", except "maybe the salmon" but without big conviction. We are offered recommendations and also told briefly that lamb is sold out in the winter specials. Now it's time to look at our menu and out of the 3 of us, only myself get a menu where "winter specials" are advertised!!! Very weird. So we go for the winter special set menu (you have a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 deserts) with wine included (you don't get to choose your wine though, it is pre-set). Our starters were ok but nothing to get really excited about. Portions are not as big as we are used to here in SA and even though it tasted fine, it was really nothing exciting... just regular I would say. The beef we chose as main was very good; as part of the winter special it is only served with fries but I asked for veggies, at an extra cost, which were way too salty and again, portion way small. As we were invited by a friend to whom the place had been recommended, I did not comment on the spot but I am sure there must be other places in Camps Bay where they do a better job.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Paranga, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review, We continuously strive to provide the very best in top class hospitality and it is through feedback from guests like yourself that we are able to do so. We acknowledge your comments with regards to our food quality and have address your review with the senior management. We are well known for our good quality of food and hope that should you return to Cape Town that you give us an opportunity to change your perception of our outlet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paranga also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Paranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing