We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Codfather Seafood & Sushi

Codfather Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food is nicely done, the atmosphere is great, and service very attentive. The best part is going up to the fish bar with your server and picking out your fish yourself. The wine selection is also good. Make a reservation and try to get a window seat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMMgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,621
    682
    241
    85
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost great, but a bit over cooked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

They have a great selection of fish and shellfish, and it is all very fresh. The food is grilled in a certain way, and you can then add the flavours you prefer from a variety of sauces.
It had the potential of being really great, but the fish tended to be over cooked, and therefore a bit dry. It could have been because we were a large group, 8 people, who made one big order together. However, when seafood is what they do, they should know how to cook it to perfection.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have never before been to a restaurant when I have not enquired re pricing.Yet the final bill was entirely reasonable. you have to have fish which you personally choose . it is then weighed priced and deliciously cooked.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fish to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a great find. Excellent for fish and the way you choose and they then tell you how much it will cost if sensational. No embarrassed asking and then cancelling because you can't afford it

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liketoplaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great fish, lovely service, mystery pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just enjoyed a lovely meal at the Codfather. Good atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable service, great fish,- both in range and quality, and some good local wines BUT if you love fish and want to try a few then the final bill could come as a shock because the fish isn't priced. I guess that we should have asked when we'd chosen our main. It wasn't a rip off, I might add, quite the opposite. But it was an odd feeling not knowing what we'd spent! Not a sophisticated interrior, unlike some nearby restaurants, but hey, a great fish restaurant in lovely Camps Bay is close to heaven.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Codfather Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Codfather Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing