We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairways on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairways on the Bay
Ranked #51 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

It's very tired, the restaurant no longer exists. We ate breakfast in a local restaurant with r100 p/p to spend. The carpets and decor are very well worn. Bedding and towels were very clean in fairness.The location is great and close to bars and restaurants. When coming in at night, security is good with lots of CCTV, however, when accessing Fairways, there are no lights to find your key into the door and we had to go in the tradesman entrance, as the front door was not in use. Which is nerve racking in the pitch black. We were told the Fairways is under refurbishment. However, there were no signs of this. It looked run down.
The swimming pool was dirty, so were the sun beds.
The access onto the main road was excellent through an electronic gate.
My overall view is that it definitely needs a make over. But its in a great location close to all the shops, bars, beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just returned from 3 weeks in South Africa, 2 couples touring. 8 the Fairway completely met all our expectations and we had a great 4 nights there. Unfortunately we never got to meet Kim but spoke to her several times on the telephone. She was so helpful and friendly, brilliant service. On our last day we fancied sushi as our last lunch and Kim suggested Willoughbys which was down on the Waterfront - brilliant. Camps Bay is lovely, very busy at weekends but lots of great resturants. Beach is very close to the accommodation, can be seen from the swimming pool! Both our room and our friends room were fantastic, good sizes, comfortable beds and lovely linen. Table Mountain cable car very near to hear and trip to the waterfront in car is not far. All in all perfect, thank you Kim

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our SA vacation. Camps Bay is the area to stay in Cape Town ; beautiful beach with a nice relaxed vibe and a great selection of places to eat or have a sundowner. When we booked this hotel I was a little apprehensive as there seemed to be very few reviews. However as it turned out there was no need to worry-this property is owned by the people that own Place on the Bay and I suppose is a slightly cheaper version of this. They share a reception area (again with very helpful staff) and pool facilities. Our room was very large,modern and recently decorated with a very comfortable bed and good air con. The only complaint I would have is that as our room was at the very front it was located directly above the restaurant which seemed to be open for breakfast from around 7am and we were woken each morning by the clanging of chairs.Fairways is at one end of the "strip" in Camps Bay and it felt very safe walking around at all times. Lovely to wake up in the morning and be a stones throw from the beach.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevertoolate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I had been recommended 8 The Fairway by friends who had stayed there and raved about their experience. We came to 8 The Fairway, as part an extended honeymoon spent travelling. By the time we arrived in Cape Town we had spent over 2 weeks camping in Namibia and were looking forward to some home comforts and amenities. We were not disappointed. Kim, the owner could not have been more helpful: from recommendations of places to go to, preparing itineries, making restuarant bookings for us, to dropping off our laundry for us. Nothing was too much effort for Kim. We were made to feel at home while away from home. We stayed in a beautiful appartment, which was clean bright and airy. The apartment had a tv, refridgerator, a small kitchenette and wifi. There was also room at the back of the apartment for us to park our rental car. We went off season, but Cape Town is still pretty expensive. 8 The Fairway was great value: it is minutes from the beach in Camps Town. All in all, we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend 8 The Fairway. We have already spoken to KIm about next visit there!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TamarandClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

This place was perfect for what I required.
I stayed with a friend,my sister and her daughter of the age of 3. We booked both the apartments that Kim has to offer.

The service I received from the very hospitable owner Kim was amazing. From the first email I sent enquiring about the accommodation I had nothing but assurance and prompt replies from Kim. She provided us with a service that most up market hotels would fail to provide. When we arrived we were greeted by Kim who settled us in and made it very clear that we could ask her anything that we needed information on.

Kim organised booking Taxis when we required, showed us the places to go and even took us on a trip to the main view points in Cape Town to embrace what this spectacular place has to offer. I cannot speak any higher of Kim and what she provided, it made our trip most memorable and enjoyable, which we have had the pleasure of gaining a friend from.

We have already decided that we are going back and we will be staying with Kim at her magical place in Camps Bay. Such a pleasure to meet someone so genuine and so willing to help you, it is rare to come across these days.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, well maintained and kept very clean. The small Toblerone chocolate bar waiting on each of our beds was a nice surprise. The apartments are very secure, we felt very confident leaving our belongings behind. The interior of both apartments were modern, with great character.

The location of the accommodation is literally a minute walk away from the beach and the restaurants that run along Camps Bay. It was perfect as we were able to relax either at the beach or the pool at Kim's or when we did want to go into the city we were only a ten minute taxi ride away. You have the stunning view of Table Mountain and the Lions Head from the pool side which is a view even after spending two weeks there we never got bored of.

I cannot fault this place for what it has to offer. Kim and her apartments truly made our stay in Cape Town most enjoyable.

Thanks again Kim.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

There have been few times when i have stayed somewhere and wanted to return time an again. This was true of staying at 8 The Fairway. Knowing little of Cape Town and the surrounding area it was as a result of my first experience at staying here that I found myself returning to this wonderful place three times in one year!! The apartments are stunning, clean and very comfortable. The walk to the beach and all the local amenities is less than two minutes, but what makes it magical is that the owner Kim truly loves her country. As a result she is passionate about you having a good time and goes out of her way to be creative in her suggestions as to places to go and things to do. My only hesitation about writing this is that someone may want to book it when I want to go!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliette123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

I LOVED staying here. A very happy experience made all the more pleasurable by the helpful information and guidance on where to go, what to see, and how to do things, from the owner, Kim. Nothing seemed too much trouble and help was offered graciously and thoughtfully always. Kim has lived in Camps Bay all her life and knows the area very well and seems to be greeted by name wherever she goes - she recommended great restaurants according to our budget, and places to visit that weren't far away but we would never have found without her recommendation - and they were always fantastic. The quality of food produce and the lifestyle in this part of South Africa is simply a stunning quality and I will definitely be booking to go back for more. In addition to all the above, staying at The Fairway, is a fantastic find, a real gem. The rooms which are very realistically priced and very quiet,
are clean and have everything in them you could want - kitchenette, kettle, beach towels, hair-dryers, and good quality bedding to ensure a good nights sleep. The other bonus includes secure parking and a position so close to the beautiful beach of Camps Bay you can't fail but want to go for a walk along it every single morning just as all the wonderful coffee shops and restaurants are opening up nearby and the local exercise classes are beginning on the beach. I can't recommend it enough - I'm going back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Primi Royal
Primi Royal
#8 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vetho Villa
Vetho Villa
#3 of 32 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways on the Bay

Property: Fairways on the Bay
Address: Fairways Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways on the Bay hotel offers 06 serviced on-suite hotel rooms. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with king-size beds,that can be made into twins. Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai facilities at Place on the Bay next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairways on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing