We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atholl House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atholl House
Ranked #11 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This guest house is in a fabulous location with amazing views from all rooms. It is very friendly and professionally run with excellant rooms and the breakfasts are great. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning and in recomending this to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphbull51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
193
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Only stayed 3 nights, wish it could have been longer. Brendan and his replacement Dawn were amazing. The views & sunsets were absolutely stunning and we could not have stayed in a nicer place. Beautiful room, supberb breakfasts. Hopefully we will go back.

Room Tip: Pick the upper level for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillepping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing little boutique guest house, perfectly located in camps bay. If this your first time in CT, you have to stay in camps bay! The hotel is very Nicely designed, with a stunning terasse view for breakfasts. Our room was big and overlooking the ocean and camps bay beach drive, stunning. The service is so friendly and professional. Could not recommend more...

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S E Kent,UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visited in early March and were really impressed. It has a large and lovely pool, decent rooms , a great breakfast and super helpful owners. Oh and I forgot the view...as good as the Riviera.
Since it was our last stop in South Africa and we were flying overnight we could store our luggage and take a shower mid-afternoon before we left for the airport. Great service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Absolutely loved this guest house, we stayed they for our last two nights after being in Cape Town and travelling down the garden route for two weeks. The rooms were amazing, the views stunning and the service from Brendan and his team was excellent. I would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to my friends and family ......a perfect end to a perfect holiday x

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are very open plan, if you prefer privacy mention this when booking ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Atholl House in early February. The standard of accommodation was excellent and the views from the terrace and at breakfast were fantastic. Brendan and his team were very helpful with advice and booking taxis and the quality of service overall was superb. The choice for breakfast was also very good - fruit, cereals, cold meats, pastries, bread as well as the option of cooked breakfast.
The accommodation has adequate parking outside and the property itself seems very secure.
The house is at the top of Camps Bay and it is a 20 minute walk downhill to the main strip where the bars and restaurants are located - we used to walk down and then get one of the numerous taxis back up ( £2 - £3 ) - it's quite a steep hill!

Highly reccommended

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor give the best view but the ground floor was still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldilocks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to Atholl House, which on its own gives testament to what an amazing place it is. Our Xmas break is very precious to us as it is the only time when my wife and I can get away together. With this being the case we choose our break very carefully.
We went to Atholl House in Cape Town for Xmas 2012 and stayed for 9 days. When we came back to the UK in January we had enjoyed the stay so much that we re-booked to go again for Xmas 2013, but this time we booked for 12 days.
In 2012 we stayed in the Onyx room which was amazing. In 2013 we split our accommodation between the Emerald room and the Amythist room. Both rooms were again fantastic for different reasons.
It's not just the rooms that are great though. The location, the views, the accessibility and the quality of the staff are all second to none. The place is spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are a perfect way to start the day and Atholl House is the perfect base to explore the whole of the Cape Peninsula.
Brendan and Katja are wonderful hosts and they are very knowledgable about the local area and very helpful when it comes to sorting out trips, restaurants and places to visit.
We will be visiting South Africa again and we will definitely try to stay at Atholl House. My only worry is that they will get booked up months in advance as it is such a popular choice for the traveller who wishes to have excellence and perfection for their vacation.
My wife and I would give this property and it's team 5 stars, 10/10, Platinum rating etc - you get the idea!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jules281167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
0.7 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl House

Property: Atholl House
Address: 12 Atholl South Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Camps Bay Guest House consists of 5 stunning rooms, each decorated individually and tastefully. Each room in the guest house offers you spectacular views over the ocean and Camps Bay, the 12 Apostles and Lions Head, not forgetting Table Mountain. Unfortunately no children under the age of 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Atholl House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl House Hotel Camps Bay
Atholl House Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing