We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The building is beautifully designed, the rooms are comfortable and of course you hear the sea all night if you leave your sliding door open. The view is spoiled slightly by the construction work going on next door (which makes it a little pricey), but once that is finished the new building will probably make it look even better. The staff are also delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoedeHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review of POD, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the style and design elements of our property.

The good news is that the building next door is coming along nicely and we hope that it will be finished before the end of winter.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle

General Manager
POD, Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
453
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

It's all about the details; and all of them had been taken care of! And it's all about the people that work there; and thet are super friendly and helpful! And it's all about location; and the hotel is perfectly positioned in Camps Bay (for those that do not want to stay in center Cape Town).
Great views, nice pool, beach service, great bar, nice breakfast... Close to restaurants and bars by the beach.
Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardosaopaulo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Eduardo

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again this year for another New Years Party!

Kind regards

Brendan Boyle

General Manager
POD, Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I was i week in Pod Camp's Bay Hotel.
Hotel has beautiful fully view to the sea, beach and Table mountains.
Suites are very very comfortable, open space, zen style.
Breakfast is a very high performance as service, food quality and kichen.
All hours per day you will find in the lobby the perfect music for each moment in the day.
Nik and the other people working in are very very professional and always happy helping you to plan visit of the city, landscape or safary.
Ask them to book every morning for the evening dinner, they will choose always the best, trust 100%.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierantonio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you so much for the excellent review, it was wonderful getting to meet you both during your stay with us in South Africa.

We are incredibly fortunate to be situated so close to the Camps Bay beach and the views of the sea and mountains from our pool area lend to some amazing sunsets.

Glad to know that you enjoyed our music, we take care to ensure that the "vibe" is perfect for each time of the day. It's a little touch that makes a big difference in setting the mood in the main areas.

We hope to see you return to POD again this year.

Kind regards

Brendan Boyle

General Manager
POD, Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a fabulous Boutique Hotel with virtually just the main road between it and the beach, you have the mountains behind you and great views of the beach and sea in front! The POD which only serves Breakfast - beautifully cooked and delightfully presented - is in the centre of all the activities of Camps Bay whilst being ideally situated for any day trips one might wish to take. The Hotel has clean architectural lines, with attention to detail and clever use of space in bedrooms, dining area and the general pool. 3 of the rooms have their own small pool and terrace. The staff are exceedingly helpful and obliging - nothing appeared too much trouble for them - their enthusiasm to help you enjoy your vacation was another positive factor as to why I highly recommend the POD.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Malcolm

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay with us at POD.

We spend allot of time compiling our restaurant and activities recommendations for our guests and I am delighted to know that it is paying off!

I will relay your compliments on our service to the POD team.

Warm regards & hoping to see you again soon,

Brendan Boyle

General Manager
POD, Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Small contemporary 16 room Hotel 1/2 block up from Camps Bay Beach. Stunning views of both the beach and atlantic ocean with sunsets and the 12 Apostle Mountains and the backside of Table Mountain. Located in a very trendy beach community which is actually a suburb of Cape Town.Easy to get to V and A and Capoe Town TableMtn on the double decker red bus line. Perfect friendly staff makes you feel at home. The abosolute best breakfast, bar open all day. Easy walk to evening restaurants or order delivery and staff will deliver. Great pool and 3 rooms with private deck pools.......only minimal issue is wish they had a much larger selection of cable TV stations/selections. I had a very busy 2011 and this was the perfect way to wind down and start 2012! I do, and highly recommend the POD Hotel in Camps Bay, South Africa. I will be staying again and again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattlePM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review.
It's fantastic to know that you will be coming back again and again.

I will look into the DSTV offering that we have in the rooms and see if we could arrange specific channels for you during your next stay.

I will pass on your feedback regarding our breakfasts to the kitchen team.

Kind regards

Brendan Boyle

General Manager
POD, Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 5 nights in December 2011 and found this to be a great boutique hotel if not the best in the Cape Town and Camps Bay area, having on this trip also stayed at the Dock House and been to Cape Town on numerous visits before. That’s not to stay that the Dock House was in anyway a bad hotel it’s just that the POD hotel was in a different league.

The hotel is relatively small, intimate and friendly. I loved the design and attention to detail that has gone into all areas of the hotel. On arrival we received an upgrade to one of the master suits which was spectacular in design but having seen other rooms in the hotel all are superbly decorated with comfortable and very well detailed designs – you will not be disappointed!!. I especially loved the twin showers in the wet room in our room. Another point to how excellent and attentive the staff are is that during our stay we got a flat tyre on our rental car that without us asking the staff (owner) got it repaired for us and without a charge – Now that’s Service!!

As we previous people who have stayed here and written a review on the POD I would have no hesitate at all recommending anyone looking for a luxurious setting in Camps Bay or Cape Town in a very convenient location. A truly great boutique hotel with excellent service and staff.

Well done!

Room Tip: Master Suits is very large and is wonderfully designed with great views of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Servicewithasmile36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent three nights here in December 2011 and found this to be the best place we've styed in in Cape Town on numerous visits. The hotel is relatively small, intimate and friendly. We loved the attention to detail and the Architecture of the buildings. The room are very comfortable and modern with clean lines and super decor which is comfortable and very well detailed. The staff are very friendly, super attentive and very capable. We would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone looking for a luxurious setting off the main Camps Bay drag in a very convenient location. From wonderful breakfasts to your own beach picnic set up nothing would seem like to too much trouble and we loved our stay at this exclusive casual boutique hotel.
We'll definitely be back soon.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent_Buxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing