We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with fabulous staff!”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with fabulous staff!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at POD. My husband and I had one of the deluxe suites with a great view of the beach and my teenagers shared a mountain view room. Both of the rooms were beautifully appointed in a Nordic style but I would say, if you can afford it, go for a room with a view.

One of the greatest attractions of POD is the stunningly designed pool with a deck which has views across the beach. I loved the fact that the view isn't your traditional straight view of the beach but more of an angled view. It's so fabulous to be in an urban area and have such a great viewpoint.

The staff at the hotel go above and beyond to welcome guests. Brendan was particularly great but all the staff were 5*. One of the owners even drove to Charley's bakery to pick up my husband's birthday cakes for me. I also loved the two male waiters at breakfast - so utterly professional.

There is some construction work going on in a small private block being built across the road from the hotel (facing the sea) but the main part of the construction is completed and I can honestly say we were never disturbed by any noise. As you are in a city environment there will always be something happening in the neighbourhood but I think it just enhanced the whole experience.

I can't think of any single negative comment to make about the hotel. It's perfect. What are you waiting for, book now. And don't forget to have a sundowner there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuriousliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for the amazing review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at POD.

It was a pleasure collecting the Birthday cakes for you and an honor to have had your family celebrate two Birthdays back to back with us.

I trust that the wedding at Oudekraal went well.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    39
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
451
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

From the web we knew that it was a stylish and contemporary hotel, what we experienced during our 6 days stay was an outstanding service from all staff members. Always a smile and a friendly greeting. We were upgraded to a superior room with a brilliant view to the Atlantic. What a nice gesture. The location is just around the corner of the beach road just enough to avoid the traffic noise. Less than 2 minutes from the beach and Camps Bay restaurants. We can highly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Theres is no fittness and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Dennis

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many thanks for the positive review.

We look forward to seeing you in Camps Bay soon - good luck with the house hunting!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My girlfriend surprised me with a night at the POD for my birthday. Adding to that, Nick, the manager, gave us an upgrade to a superior suite. The room was nothing short of awesome. Superb design, spacious and with view of the beach. The staff is super-friendly and the hotel has a very familiar vibe. We ordered breakfast to the room and were very pleased by the selection and presentation.

All in all, I had a superb birthday there and would have wished to stay longer. I hope to come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Mike

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "surprise" stay with us at POD.

It was an absolute pleasure upgrading you to our Deluxe Suite on your Birthday.

Thank you for posting such a positive review and we hope that you will get to enjoy another "surprise" visit next year!

Warm Regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This brand new boutique hotel is well situated in trendy Camps Bay. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a deluxe room which had great view of the ocean. The spacious room is ultra modern and well equipped with plenty of cupboards and drawers. The open plan bathroom with rain shower and bath. Plenty of thick white fluffy towels and Charlotte Ryse bathroom amenities. This hotel offers only breakfast service which is more than adequate- egg dishes are beautifully presented - there is a buffet array of fresh fruits,breads,and pastries. I would rate the coffee and cappuccino one of the best in Camps Bay!!!! There is a great pool that has view of beach and ocean and if you prefer to lie on beach, the hotel staff are available to organize chairs,towels and umbrellas for guests. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and are willing and able to help and assist. The only problem I had with our stay (which is really unfortunate) was the building noise across the road- we had to keep curtains closed due to close proximity of building- hopefully this development will be completed soon!! The hotel is also well situated very nearby trendy bars restaurants. Would highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Some rooms have private pools or choose corner room which has great view of the ocean and really spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Kim

Thank you for the great review about your stay with us at POD.

It was an absolute pleasure moving you into our Deluxe Suite for the duration of your stay.

The construction across the road is unfortunate and a real frustration for all of us at POD. Thankfully, it seems as though they are pushing to finish all external building before the winter rains.

I will share your feedback with the team at POD and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had the most amazing time staying at the POD hotel. The staff there (Brendon, Tom, Nick, the ladies, and all the local staff) were so welcoming and accomodating from the moment we checked in! Unfortunately our luggage did not arrive with us, so they were most helpful in suggesting where to go to find some clothes and followed up with the airline's luggage desk to ensure it would arrive the next day.
Once we returned from dinner our first evening, we were floored as we walked into our room to find champagne and flowers all over the room as a treat to help celebrate the start of our luxurious honeymoon. Each night they gave us wonderful dinner recommendations that were excellent and gave us memories for a lifetime with the wonderful Cape Town seafood we enjoyed.
The rooms are modern and clean and some of them have glorious views. The breakfast and wait staff at breakfast was wonderful... the pool and stunning view of the ocean from the hotel lounge area (keeping in mind that this is a small hotel) felt like you were in your own villa with great service to boot!
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Cape Town. The location of the hotel is fabulous, and it is very accessible to the waterfront and downtown (10 min cab ride, roughly R100 one way).
The staff at POD were comparable or better than any 5 star hotel! When we return to South Africa, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thanks for the brilliant review.

It's great to know that POD was such a special part of your honeymoon trip to South Africa.
We hope to see you again for your first wedding anniversary!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in a pool suite for 6 nights in Feb 2012. The hotel and room were instantly relaxing, comfortable and homely – an informal luxury.
It’s the first time we’ve walked into a hotel and felt instantly at ease and at home – the holiday had started and the Pod played a massive part in it.

The room is a mix of organic with high tech modern sleek; sidetables are tree trunks, but paired back with state of the art LED lights that fold out of the wall.
Wooden slat paneling creates a room within a room housing the bed area– the slick bathroom area is glossy white/black and glass against slate tiles.

The entertainment is to the highest spec; featuring the flattest wall mounted TV, with incredibly clear picture. The whole system is wireless look with a DVD / Sat TV player housed conveniently away (There’s a library of DVD’s to borrow should you wish). There’s free, always on, fast Wi-Fi around the entire hotel.

The room’s private terrace has a beautiful plunge pool, overlooking the sea. It features a decking area with ample space for 2 to sunbathe – The floating pillow in the pool is a great touch.
The sun goes down at 7, so it’s your perfect spot to have sundowners.
After dark the atmosphere is thought about too: the pool lights up in beautiful purple/blue glow, spotlights around the outside of the area create casual luxury environment.

The whole of Pod’s style is just the right level of modernity mixed with natural elements; to feel slick, but homely, modern and comfortable, inviting and special.

The location is amazing – It’s literally just off the main road. The benefits; – You can hear the crashing waves, but not the bars on the strip. You can see the bustling seafront but not have people peering in on you. You can walk to the nearest (amazing) restaurant in literally 2 mins, or have hot take-way food plated by the hotel staff delivered to your room in 20 mins… You’re in all the action, yet you’re at a comfortable arms reach away.

Which brings us on to food – breakfast is a delight - outline what you want from the ample menu, and they’ll add suggestions on, put pieces together, then serve it beautifully to your room.
If ever we felt peckish during the day, menu’s would arrive with plenty of choice, ready to be ordered and plated by the staff and served by the pool, in your room – wherever. There is a fully stocked bar with great wine and cocktails (you must try the Pod Signature) all served with Chips and Olives.

The pool area is beautiful, glass doors surround the bar / lounge area which open fully onto the sunbathing area - there are about 10 sunloungers, all with incredible views. The pool is L shaped, adequate enough for lengths on one side, or relax in the sunken chairs / pillows on the shallower other side.

The Pod staff are wonderful. I know staff are obviously paid to help, but these guys are different – they are genuinely interested, approachable, accommodating and friendly. They made terrific suggestions – where to go, how to get there, places to eat, they’ll happily make reservations and book places/tickets – should you need.
We had family staying in a Villa 5 mins walk away, and whenever they came to visit – they were made to feel so welcome, as if they were actually staying at the hotel too.

The staff are, arguably, the hotels biggest asset. They are proud to work there, and it shows.

Honestly, the only way Pod can improve would be to have a Spa / Massage room.

We’d like to thank Brendan and all the staff for really making our stay so outstanding and enjoyable – We’ll certainly be back next year! ;-)

Room Tip: If you can, go for a 'Luxury Room with Private Pool' - it just makes your stay that extra sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlesForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear CharlesForde

Thank you so much for the incredible review of our property, this is by far the best review that we have received to date.

Considering that we are still a fairly new hotel, its great to know that we are on the right track at meeting and exceeding our guests expectations.

The design and architecture of POD has been so meticulously and thoughtfully planned out and I am delighted to see that you have picked up some of these finer details.

As you mentioned, the staff are our biggest asset and our dedication and love for what we do here at POD is clearly evident as many guests have picked up on your point in the past.

It was our pleasure hosting you during your stay in Camps Bay and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Brendan Boyle

General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I found Pod on the internet by chance when booking my holiday to camps bay and what a find. The attention to detail by all of the staff at Pod is second to none. Everyone did their utmost to service all of our requests with a smile. Breakfast fantastic that finishes at 11am which was great after a late night out. Would not hesitate to return or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Toni

Thank you so much for the great review. It was a pleasure hosting you at POD and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing