We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Design and Amazing Staff, Service and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Design and Amazing Staff, Service and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We just spent 4 nights at this fabulous hotel and it was truly a great experience for us. Everything was just perfect from the reception to check out. Brendan, Nick and other staff took great care of our every small requests and provided all the information that we needed be it sight seeing, ordering food, printing flight details and providing everything needed while going on to the beach.

One thing that we really enjoyed was having dinner ordered and served in our room. The staff does an amazing job with this. They provided warm food with fresh flowers spread on the food tray. If you hate waiting for seats in the restaurants, we highly recommend doing this.

If anyone is looking for a place spend time while in Cape-Town then this is what you should consider as it located on the best beach area you can find in Cape-Town.

We would like to thanks the POD-Team for all their services and making our stay very memorable. We will definitely recommend our friends and family and know where to land when we next visit Cape-Town.

God bless and All the very best.

Regards: Hemal and Punam

Room Tip: Rooms with private plunge pool are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hp1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Hemal & Punam

Thank you for choosing POD Camps Bay for your accommodation in Cape Town.
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your stay.

It is always a pleasure to handle our guests requests and we truly believe that it's the little gestures that count in order to turn a stay from ordinary to extraordinary.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our in-room dining options. With the abundance of great restaurant surrounding us, its refreshing to know that you preferred to stay on site for your meals.

We look forward to both welcoming you as well as your friends in the future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    38
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
433
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The facilities, the rooms, and all of the atmosphere is of a "new age" hotel, the most modern and sophisticated. The hotel and its rooms are like in a "smart house", but the atmosphere is very warm, its a pleasure to get back to the hotel after a long day, great and comfortable feeling. In top of everything is the service of Brenda, the manager, and his staff, they make you feel like you are in a small family guest house. The staff makes everything for their guests, and they will take care for everything you need, just check in and they will take care for all the rest during your vacation. The staff helped us with restaurants reservations, even when we were outside the hotel and sent them an email, they took care for it within 5 minutes. They gave us their most unique recommendations for places to see, restaurants, and any other need we had, including the most simple and small issues, which they simply wanted to save us the time and worries with them. It is definitely one of the best hotels, if not the best, we've ever stayed at. A 5++ stars hotel by all aspects.

Thanks for a great vacation and an hosting experience!

Eynat & Oren

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better sea view. In addition, the luxury suites have a really great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Eynat & Oren

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at POD.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you during your stay and I and delighted to hear that you enjoyed our warm and hospitable service.

Every member of the POD team works hard to ensure that we deliver a memorable and personal experience to all of our guests staying at the hotel.

Our "Can Do" attitude and willingness to tend to any guest request is something that we are all incredibly committed to at POD Camps Bay.

We hope to see you in the not too distant future, either in Camps Bay or Tel Aviv...

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My girlfriend and I spent the last 4 nights of our 3 week trip to Southern Africa at POD and it was the perfect end to the most wonderful holiday.

POD is a truly spectacular hotel in a great location. Every aspect of the hotel is beautifully designed but the real stand out feature is the quality of the management team and staff. Nick gave us the warmest possible welcome, and from then on he, Brendan and the rest of the management team provided a 5 star service.

We would like to say a big thank you to the team for making our stay so memorable. We will certainly be returning to Cape Town and wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than at POD.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Terry B

Thank you for such fantastic feedback!

I am elated to hear that you had a memorable experience at our hotel.

As you point out, great care and attention have gone into the design, layout and finishes of the hotel but our biggest assets are the people that work so incredibly hard to ensure that all of our guests have the perfect stay at POD Camps Bay.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Cape Town.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Pod is an absolute gem in the heart of trendy Camps Bay. Uber chic and relentlessly stylish, yet with an incredibly warm heart and service deeply embedded with old fashioned values. I have read with dismay a couple of negative reviews of this amazing little place so I'm going to deal with the elephant in the room first, the block of flats opposite the hotel. Yes it isn't going to win any style awards but I understand it is one of the oldest buildings in Camps Bay and I actually found it a little refreshing to see something that gave an insight into what Camps Bay may have been like before it became all Dolce and Gabana and million pound homes. In any event, the architect who designed Camps Bay, apart from creating an exciting and stunning piece of modern architecture also ensured that most of the rooms look down onto the beach, which I might add is only paces from the hotel. I think the block of flats is a tiny price to pay for the proximity to the beach (you can walk to the hotel and back without wheezing!!!!!).

The room we stayed in was absolutely stunning (really, absolutely stunning!!!!). In many design led hotels there is a definate case of style over substance, but this is far removed from the attention to detail and the amazing staff of Pod. I suffer from asthma, and a boat trip whale watching the day before had led to a very bad chest infection, and I was feeling dreadful when I arrived at Pod. Brendan could not have been more helpful, nothing, absolutely nothing was too much trouble, he made us feel like we were his only guests, and he was an adsolute delight to deal with. In the evening Nick also fell over himself to help us in any way he could, such a refreshing change from many large hotels where you are made to feel like a number or worse an inconvenience. For me the amazing management team at Pod and their delightful staff made the experience for us. They should be congratulated for being the icing on a very scrumptious and perfectly baked cake. If you're visiting Cape Town, please spend at least a little time at perfect little Pod, an experience that will feast your eyes, indulge your senses and warm your heart.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. It's about the whole experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosyposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Nosyposy

Thank you for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback.

It is interesting to read such a refreshing take on the "Elephant in the Room!"
As you point out, the location and proximity to the beach as well as the many restaurants along the strip far outweigh the views of the neighboring buildings.

It's a pity that you had such a nasty chest infection during your stay with us as I am sure that you would have enjoyed the many restaurants and activities in the area.

Perhaps this is the perfect excuse for a future stay with us...

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My wife and I booked POD for the last 4 nights of our 3 week vacation in Southern Africa (SA, Botswana and Zambia), and we couldnt've been any happier -- well, with the lone exception of having stayed there another week! All of the staff is professional, warm and very knowledgeable about the area and Cape Town in general. It was a big plus to have them there to help us plan our days and nights, and all of their recommendations were spot-on. The hotel itself is beautiful, especially if you're into modern, sleek design, and the location and views are unbeatable! We had a huge room w/ a private deck and a straight-on ocean view ... miss it just thinking about it. The breakfast is top-notch as well, and all of the little details are covered. Incredible experience, highly recommend it, and really look forward to coming back during the Summer months! Thanks to everyone at POD for helping make our trip the best one yet!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Tanin B

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at POD Camps Bay.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you felt all of our restaurant & activities suggestions were spot on.

It would be a pleasure to host you both again in the future and on your next stay you will have the added benefit of the new Spa and Gym that is currently under construction.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I first visited POD in July to see if it would be a good venue for an overnight stay (after the engagement proposal I was planning for August), and was immediately impressed with the venue, the staff and the stunning rooms.

Brendan and the team could not have been more helpful and really made an effort to make our special day even more so.

When we arrived at POD on the big day (she said yes!), we were escorted directly to our deluxe suite to find champagne & chocolates to help us celebrate, and petals all over the bed. We loved everything about the room, especially the dual rain showers and underfloor heating, and whilst we didn't have time to enjoy all the facilities, we were impressed with the way POD had catered for every need.

We really appreciated being able to order in breakfast the following morning, and were treated to an amazing health breakfast with fruits, omelettes, poached eggs, chocolate croissants and more. The food was beautifully presented, and cooked to perfection, which was no surprise.

We will definitely return for an ovenight stay on a future anniversary, and before then for a drink at the POD's stunning looking bar for a sunset view of Camps Bay beach...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Ed-Scott

Many thanks for posting such a glowing report on your stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that your engagement stay with us will be a fond memory that you will both cherish for many years to come.

It was a pleasure arranging the romantic turn down, chocolates and champagne. We just wish that you could have stayed longer to enjoy the amazing views from your Deluxe Suite.

We look forward to hosting you on one of your anniversaries, or even better, your Honeymoon!

Good luck with the wedding plans and we wish you all the best for your upcoming special day.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

POD Camps Bay is everything we could have wished for on our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived Brendan warmly welcomed us and made us feel extremely special. He upgraded us to a suite (decorated with champagne and flowers) for our special occasion and then went above and beyond to plan it as a surprise for my wife by transferring our rooms while we were out at dinner (and at an fantastic dinner recommendation too!).

The hotel is classy, stylish, and only a block from the beach set amidst trendy bars and restaurants. It rained our whole weekend, but nonetheless, Brendan helped ensure we had a fabulous stay regardless.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious, the staff was courteous and extremely helpful without being intrusive, and we shared many a glass of wine just chatting with Brendan and the staff before heading out for the evening. All in all, POD made us feel like part of a small family and we can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have tremendous views, would reserve the room with a private pool for warmer months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eorgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear EOrgel

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

The surprise upgrade to one of our Deluxe Suites was an absolute pleasure.
Little gestures make a big impact on a guests stay and at POD , we are all dedicated to ensuring that every guest feels special during their time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the POD family soon!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing