We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pod from 25th to 26th May 2013 in the mini-mountain room. This is the first time we stayed in this particular room and were totally in awe of it. We found it to be the cosiest, warmest hotel suite in the entire hotel as we have already had the pleasure of staying in all the other suites during various other holidays. What we really loved, to give it that warm feeling, was the stunning wood finishings. Absolutely beautiful.

We also want to thank Brendan and his staff (especially Dominic, Meagan and Micaela who were on duty during our stay) for their excellent hospitality. From the warm welcome, friendliness, superb understanding of our needs and general 5-star treatment, Pod can be proud to have staff like that who go beyond the call of duty to make one feel as if you are their only guest!!

I am not sure who the chef was on duty, but the breakfast was superb!!! Thank you.

The best hotel we have ever had the pleasure to stay at. Well done, guys :)

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarakinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Barbara

It was a pleasure hosting Rob and yourself during another stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am glad that you enjoyed our Mini Mountain rooms, these compact and open plan rooms have an incredibly warm feel and the framed vistas over lions head are a great plus.

Thank you for the commendations on the level of service that you received whilst at the hotel.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    38
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
439
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay: beautifully designed, tasteful, well located & very friendly staff! There are not many other places in Cape Town with the same design quality. This is a real find. The views toward Camps Bay are a bit obstructed by surrounding buildings, but there's still a great view of the beach and the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Martin

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at POD Camps Bay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on the Tripadvisor forum.

I am glad to hear that you liked the design of our building and the views over the Camps Bay beach.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel from the moment we were greeted by the staff!!The day manager was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are modern, minimalistic, comfortable and clean. The only handicap for me is if i had to park my car in their garage with a very narrow and steep entrance. Fortunately my husband was driving. Other than that I would definitely return!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trovitolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear "Trovitolau"

Thank you for choosing POD Camps Bay during your recent trip to Cape Town and thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern and minimalistic rooms.

I have to agree abut the steep and narrow entrance to our basement parking. Thankfully our staff are happy to offer a valet parking service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We spent the last two nights on South Africa at this hotel. As soon as we walked in we knew it would be unique in every sense and it was. The decor is wow and the layout of rooms is something I have not been before. The corridors are airy and the wooden/natural appeal of the room was lovely. Loved the high tech gadgets and the fact you had a DVD library too! Breakfast was great quality and staff were so friendly. The only thing which was frustrating was there was no hot water in our room in the evenings do we had lukewarm showers and Internet kept switching on and off in our room. But when we informed the management of this they were ever so apologetic and settled our bill so we didn't pay the extras and they also offered us a late check out as our flight was at 5pm. I think we were unlucky with the shower and Internet but apart from that the location, decor and friendliness of this hotel makes it top notch!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Animal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear "Animal83"

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

Considering that you had the hot water and WiFi issues, I am delighted to hear that you still feel that we are a top notch hotel. Thank you for bringing these problems to my attention, both have now been resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our short dream trip, fantastic staff, our suite on the corner had sea vieuw with a stunning terrace and the design was a picture perfect!
We stayed for 3 nights but we would have stayed forever!
All nice restsurants around the corner, The Grand, Paranga and the Bungalow and your own chairs and umbrella on the beach. breakfast was stunning, we stayed in our suite to enjoy the breakfast with the stunning vieuw. Nothing was to much for this unique staff to let us feel comfortable.
We definately wish to come back in this little paradise.

Room Tip: if you want to be sure, book one of the right corner suites, they are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear "B0ca"

Many thanks for posting such a positive review about your recent stay at our property.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the design and views from your corner suite.
Our location is ideally suited to those who want to be set back from the hustle and bustle yet within walking distance to the beach and the restaurants and nightlife that Camps Bay has to offer. I am glad that you made the most of it!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have to say that your staff was one of the best we’ve ever experienced. From the moment we got there, Nick took great care of us and even moved us when he realized we weren’t exactly thrilled with our room (beautiful room but not ocean view). Makayla was extremely helpful with our tour set up, Jabu was a phenomenal waiter who was willing to go the extra mile to get me things for breakfast that weren’t on the menu, and other folks like Tamsynn and your general manager Brendan, were all extremely helpful and wonderful to be around. You’ve hired great people, created a great culture and your hotel should be the service model for all hotels around the world.

We want to thank you and your staff for making our experience so wonderful!
Jay and Courtney

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe suite! it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjay3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Jay & Courtney

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at POD Camps Bay.
Thank you for highlighting the staff who made your stay extra special.

It was a pleasure upgrading you to one of our ocean facing rooms and I am glad that this solved your initial disappointment when checking in. Thankfully we had the availability!

A service model for hotels around the world - Wow, what a compliment!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Staying at the POD a few weeks ago was one of the best hotel experiences I had in a long time. We were welcomed like good friends, efficiantly shown to our room, and around our room - as there are many modern amenities throughout. Balcony with a seaview, huge comfy bed, comp mini-bar, discreet lighting and cleverly designed bathroom with a great shower!

It is the kind of place where one wants to relax and take a breather. Many superb restaurants are within walking distance.

I will go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, sunset from the balcony is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear "Rieks"

Thanks again for choosing POD Camps Bay for your accommodation during your recent weekend break. I am glad to hear that you got to relax and unwind.

Thank you for the positive comments on the design and comfort of the rooms, the bathrooms, amenities and our complimentary minibar offering.

I am delighted to hear that you would return in a heartbeat!

Warm regards

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing