We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great design, space, service... Good all together!!! Stayed 2 nights at the Hotel, and it was a brilliant choice, because it turned out to be a good hotel all together. Small, but brilliant, felt like home away from home. Great design, space, service... Good all together!!!

Room Tip: Unsure of the name of the room category, but this hotel has only 2 of those, top category which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Igor

Thank you for posting such a positive review about your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you felt like you were staying in a home away from home, this is exactly the environment that we strive to create at POD Camps Bay.

Thank you for the commendations on the design and the service.

I hope to wish you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
455
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at pod following a long journey from Chicago to Cape Town. Beach location is beautiful and so close to restaurants, etc. Very relaxing and service is outstanding. Breakfast is wonderful and rooms was unique and very comfortable. Snacks were a nice touch. Just beware of the step up when the room is dark!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Nancy

Thank you for sharing your feedback on POD Camps Bay.

As you mention, we are incredibly fortunate to have such a fantastic location in Camps Bay. Only a hand full of properties are within walking distance to the beach, bars and restaurants which is a big factor to consider when booking accommodation in the area.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service offering, our breakfast, room snacks and the unique room layout.

We have linked LED lighting to our bathroom lights so this should resolve bumping into the step in the dark.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in the Pod Hotel last November for 10 nights and had a fantastic time. The staff is absolutely fantastic and very attentive, the breakfast delicious and the rooms ( and the hotel overall) extremely modern and stylish. We would recommend staying in one of the rooms on the upper floors as you have a nicer view.
The hotel has a true boutique feeling. After a couple of days the staff knew us by name and tried their very best to make our stay unforgettable. When we asked them if we can have a late checkout on our last day, they said that unfortunately our room is already booked by other guests but they would instead upgrade us to the suite for our last night to guarantee us a late check out (6pm) on our last day. Overall a fantastic experience and we will definitely stay in the Pod hotel again on our next trip to Cape Town!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heichdhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review about your experience at POD Camps Bay last year.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 10 night stay and that you felt the staff were helpful and attentive. The personal touch is what we are all about and we strive to deliver the highest service standards to all of our guests.

Upgrading you to one of our suites to accommodate your late departure was an absolute pleasure, I just wish that we would be able to do this with all of our guests. Unfortunately, due to high occupancies this is rarely possible during the summer season.

We have improved significantly over the last 11 months and have introduced so many new value adds for our guests. I really hope that you will return to POD one day to see all the changes.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights (2 in a corner 'penthouse type suite' and 1 in a pool suite) and were very impressed with the staff, comfort, decor and overall experience. This is all helped immeasurably by the fact that the location is incredible, with beautiful sea and mountain views and unrivaled proximity to both the main strip (shops and restaurants) and the beach. We would happily recommend POD to anyone looking for an unforgettable Atlantic seaboard getaway and will certainly be returning on our next trip to Cape Town.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Sean

Thank you for posting a review on the Tripadvisor forum.

I am pleased to hear that you found the staff, comfort, decor and the overall experience up to expectation.

We are incredibly fortunate to be in such a fantastic location as most of the other boutique hotels in Camps Bay as much higher up on the mountain side and not within walking distance to the beach and restaurants.

Kind regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fantastic hotel with lovely, helpful staff. Location on camps bay is perfect (with exception of ugly building next door). Rooms are modern and gorgeous with very nice touches we expected (ipod docs in each room, rain showers) and didnt (popcorn snd movies). We absolutely loved this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMVanKerkhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the to review your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both the expected and unexpected touches.

The building opposite POD is a bit of an "eye sore" however our location and proximity to the beach, restaurants and bars hopefully makes up for it.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solwezi, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just want to say to all the staff and owners of the amazing hotel, Thank you very much for
all your efforts that you made to make our stay out of this world. Thank you for the great gesture
on our aniversary. And all the extra attention to details. You are most certainly the number 1 hotel on my list and will definitely return!!!!!!!
We had so much fun, with great food and good company!!!
Unfortunately, the rating only goes up to 5 cause I would have given you a 10 out of 5!!!!!
Your vision with your rooms are so stylish and comfortable, and really feels like home!!!!

Thanks Again

Frikkie and Monica Breitenbach

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Frikkie & Monica

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you for your anniversary celebration and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I really wish that the weather was more co-operative, especially as you would have enjoyed the Cobra convertible so much more.

Thanks for the praise on the service, rooms and design of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to POD for one of your future anniversaries.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just had the most fabulous stay at the POD it is an amazing hotel excellent staff.
The customer service was wonderful from booking day trips to putting a hot water bottle in our bed one night when a bit chilly.
our room had a private pool but because of the time of year we didn't get to use it, next time we book we will defiantly come in the summer months.
It was our 25th wedding celebration Nick and the team gave us a real surprise with champagne and chocolates.
I stay in hotels all over the world for business and I can honestly say The Pod is simply the best!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing! we had a room with a private pool on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

To learn that you travel the globe frequently and that you feel our property is one of the best that you have stayed at is fantastic. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the personalized customer service and the little touches. We strive to make each guests experience memorable.

I am sorry that you didn't get to use your private plunge pool, whilst they are heated the outside temperature does effect the temperature and during the winter months we are only able to get a maximum of +- 25'C.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Summer.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
311 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing