We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite for a week in November and cannot wait to return. The hotel itself is very modern and clean and the location just overlooking the beach is stunning. What really made our trip though was the helpfulness of the staff, who were so attentive and so kind that they put other hotels to shame. Nothing was too much trouble - whether we were having hot water bottles the night it was colder than usual, or spare chargers delivered to our room, or the many, many bookings and reservations they made on our behalf. One night we stayed in to watch a movie and had popcorn brought up to us, which was a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and the waiters were great. The barside pool is perfect for lounging in the sun in the day or watching the sunset in the evening. I agree with all of the other reviewers here who say how wonderful the hotel is and can only add that if I ran a hotel I would want it to be exactly like POD.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review about your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

I am elated to hear that you felt our service levels put other hotels to shame and that if you ran a hotel, you would want it to be exactly like POD.

We strive to make our guests stay as "easy" as possible and try to preempt what they would like us to arrange for them. This means that one can focus solely on enjoying the beautiful city that we are fortunate to live in.

We hope to welcome you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
453
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel deserves only superlatives. The setting is gorgeous. The ground floor space feels like you're practically on the beach. Our room layout might be too open for some people's tastes, but we found it made the room feel home-y. The view from our balcony of the mountains and ocean waves pounding in caused us to spend an inordinate amount of time out there. The breakfast was extremely good. The service was impeccable, from check-in to breakfast to nearby recommendations. They even put together an impromptu dining area when we brought pizza back to the hotel, and chilled a bottle of wine for us from the bar. Perfect.

Maybe the best touch was a beautiful arrangement of flowers, chocolate, and sparkling wine in our room to help us celebrate our 10th anniversary. We only mentioned it in passing at check-in but I guess they remembered. What an amazing surprise.

As for the location: they're seconds from the beach (you can hear the waves in your room if you leave the windows open), minutes from the restaurants along Victoria Road, and close to the CitySightseeing bus stop which takes you to the V&A waterfront, the CBD, Table Mountain, etc.

They also recommended a company for a cape peninsula tour, and our driver (Theo) was amazing. Terrific guy, very knowledgeable.

We really couldn't have picked a better place in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about our property.

I reallly love the title! It is a privelage to have someone feel that there is no rating suitable for what we have put together.

I am glad that you enjoyed the room layout and design and pleased that you spent so much time in the space.

The anniverasry turndown was our pleasure and it's fantastic to hear that it had such a big impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome you back for one of your future anniversaries.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

When...not if....we come back to Cape Town this is where we will stay. The place itself, the breakfast, all of the staff and not least Nick, who never made an error in recommendations were perfect. Four perfect days without a slip.

We've stayed in hotels all over the world and this was one of the top five experiences.

Congratulations Nick and ALL the staff for starting our South African holiday off with a major success. We wish you all the best for the future.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear David and Torill

We can't wait to welcome you back to POD, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you.

I am pleased to hear that Nick took such great care of you, he really has a knack for figuring out what peoples needs are and his sugggestions are more than offen spot on! I am incredibly fortunate to have such passionate people in my employ.

Thank you for the wishes of success!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benken, SG
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever been too. Modern, outstanding location, very helpful staff, very good breakfast, a lovely balcony and pool area, 5 minutes to the beach etc. You do not want to miss out on this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am thrilled to hear that POD was one of the best hotels that you have ever been to. Compliments such as this make all the hard work worthwhile.

Thank you for the praise on the room, pool area, breakfast and the service offering.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the first stop of my honeymoon in South Africa. The hotel is a block away from the busiest areas of Camps Bay and the beach. The service here is fantastic! If you have forgotten anything, they will have it; they not only provide beach bags with water, towels and beach chairs for your use, there are also extra flipflops in the room in case you forgot them. Complimentary breakfast + nespresso machines and hot water in each of the rooms. PLUS they have a complimentary mini bar that they refill every day which includes a bottle of white wine, juices, water, and soda.

Absolutely great team! I will definitely be staying here the next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queensprgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

It was a pleasure hosting you during your honeymoon. I trust that it was a good start to the rest of your vacation in South Africa!

Thank you for the kind words on the team as well as for noting the value adds included in the daily room rate.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in Camps Bay, moment away from the beach and all the best Camps bay has to offer. The room was stylish, comfy bed and well appointed minibar/snacks. Loved the bathroom and the small swimming pool. I was there for only one night, wish we could stay on. The team were great, warm genuine and helpful. We were lucky with the weather, hence had a brilliant breakfast at the terrence which had lovely sea view. We shall be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moshune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about our hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stylish room with its private pool and I am glad that you made the most of the complimentary mini bar and room snacks.

It was a pity that you could only stay for a night, hopefully next time you will be able to stay longer.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Fabulous location overlooking the beach for the cutting edge cool traveller! Great service, lovely room and concierge service. The staff couldn't be more friendly or do more for you to make your stay good. From arranging car hire, sourcing information about attractions to booking your restaurant choice for the evening, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Paula

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

I am elated to hear that you felt the concierge service was excellent! We try arrange as much as possible for our guests to ensure that the only thing that they need to worry about is enjoying their vacation!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing