We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week End splendor !!”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Week End splendor !!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great and then some. Just fabulous. We never wanted for anything. Except maybe for a few more days there. What made it for us is that we never needed to ask for anything and your staff were just fabulous. Care was the staff byword and they clearly loved looking after the guests. I wish we had more time to write and name all the staff personally who made our stay so exemplary but let’s just call it a collective thank you to all of them. The rooms were superb, The breakfasts can never be forgotten. The position (for access restaurants and shops was perfect. We loved the pool and pool bar and of course just across the road was THAT beach. What a holiday and what a place to do business. Thank you so much

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Anthony

I am elated to hear that all you wanted was a few days more to spend at our hotel...

Thank you for the praise on the service levels that you received during your stay.

The team really does enjoy looking after our guests and no request is too big or too small. Our "can do" attitude and warm personable approach is what sets us apart from the rest and I am thrilled to hear that you picked up on this point.

We hope to welcome you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
452
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for service they couldn't do enough for us. Our room was fantastic as we had one of the deluxe suites and we loved the whole vibe of the hotel - the style, music, service, breakfast - everything was perfect. Only downside was the location for us, Camps Bay wasn't quite what we expected and next time we would choose a more central hotel in Cape Town. It's expensive but if you want to base yourself in Camps Bay then look no further.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest

The title of your review says it all!

Good quality accommodation, furnishings and fittings complimented by exceptional service - this is what we strive to achieve.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the comforts of POD during our week-long visit to the area. We prefer smaller, more intimate hotels are were not disappointed. While we really enjoyed the thoughtful modern design and the outstanding location to Camps Bay beach, it was the accommodating and friendly staff that made our stay most memorable. Requests large and small were handled well, and efficiently. The entire staff knew our names, our standing drink order, or what type of coffee we enjoyed in the morning: they could not have been kinder making our stay easy and comfortable. When we return to the area we will stay there again without hesitation or the without feeling the need to tryout something else. It was that perfect for what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Skip the rooms with the plunge pools. They are really comfy but they are not heated. I would focus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Eric

Thank you for posting a review about you recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

Boutique hotels do have their own charm and more and more guests are choosing to stay in smaller and more personal properties such as ours.

Thank you for the praise on the level of service that you received. Little details such as addressing guests by name and remembering how they like their coffee can make such a big impact on ones stay - thank you for highlighting this in your feedback.

As with all of our reviews, this has been printed out and displayed on our guest feedback board so that staff can see first hand the impact that they have.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you at POD and I hope that we will see you again at some point in the future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had an incredible stay at POD. The staff was truly remarkable. All requests were handled promptly and professionally. Breakfast was great. Though you have a view of Table Mt and the Atlantic, there is a 46 year old apartment building obstructing part of the view. We would highly recommend this Concierge Hotel! It was top notch.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nliebman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

Unfortunately there is an old apartment block next to our hotel and we try to make this as transparent as possible during the booking process.

For us though, the vistas of the 12 Apostles and the ocean are secondary to the location. We are the only modern boutique hotel within such close proximity to the beach and restaurants in Camps Bay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of service from the Front Desk team and that you felt our hotel was top notch.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

POD did everything to make our stay as comfortable as it could be!
It was our last stop before we went home and it was just perfect - the whole design of the house is awesome, the rooms are very luxurious, it's located very close to the beach and on the other side you can see the table mountain.
You can't expect more from a hotel. I hope one day I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieSoeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Julie

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to POD in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have spent two nights at this wonderful place called POD.
We arrived early as wanted to leave the hotel in Cape Town as quickly as possible (another story). We were very warmly greeted and was shown where to park the car free of charge underneath the hotel.
We checked in and was told our room wasn't ready (remember we were very early) but we could use the facilities. We decided to go to the beach so our bags were put into storage and we were given beach chairs, towels and water.
When we returned we were shown to our room which was a 'mountain view' ummmm you couldn't see much of the mountain to be honest!!
However the room was uber modern and the shower was to die for so was the products, also I didn't realise there was no bath when we booked (I probably needed to read the information better).
The staff are brilliant and very attentive without being in your face all the time.
The breakfast was delicious and you could taste the fruit that was very fresh and had flavour. Hot breakfast was to order and again very delicious.
I would recommend POD however it is on the expensive side and I would say pay extra and go for a sea view (one of the doors where open and I couldn't resist a nosey!!) very nice.
Camps Bay is amazing and a good place to choose for our last two days in South Africa.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caz1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for the commendations on the room, breakfast and the service.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great contempory place to stay in Wonderful Camps Bay- just off the front but with mainly sea views- chose your room wisely- we had 105 which wasn't a premium rate room but had a sea view. I really wouldn't pay the huge extra for the ground floor with their own plunge pool- the pools are not heated and they are really overlooked- no privacy.

Staff here are the main plus point- passionate and well trained (Nick u were great) Let them book your restaurants- we got the best tables in every place they booked for us!! Loved the complimentary mini bar- a great idea.

Room design was uber stylish - maybe the designer could have tried staying in one for a week- they might have moved mirror closer to the sink for boys to shave and created some suitcase storage- pain for longer stay guests like us with two big cases. But these are really minor.

Breakfasts were lovely- more tables outside would work but it was very windy- loved the juice of the day. Service was a little laid back a couple of days but hey- we were in no rush. If you are going to the beach or on a day trip get the beach bag- so cool!

Camps bay was amazing- everywhere we ate was seriously good- Café Caprice for cocktails and burgers was awesome. Panegra for more serious food, Raj for a curry.

Only one major gripe- the pool was seriously not pleasant - far too cold- get some heating in there. The pool deck is too cool not to use!!!!

Finally value- well it aint cheap by SA standards - but it is by European prices- this place is a real bargain for the level of style and service.

Room Tip: chose with care- don't pay for the plunge rooms but avoid the cheapest as they have no outdoor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed report about your recent experience at POD Camps Bay.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service offering from the team, especially from our "STAR" Nick! Thank you for the praise on the design of our rooms (excluding the basin), our location, breakfast and our value added offerings such as the complimentary mini bars.

I am glad that you mentioned the pool heating. We installed heat pumps in the private plunge pools 6 months ago and at this time of the year enjoy temperatures in excess of 30'C. We have also just signed off a quote on two big heat pumps for the main pool which will be installed this Friday. The main reason for not doing this sooner is that the energy demands conflict with our sustainability policy, however, one must adapt to guest requirements and the pool heating is something that has cropped up fairly often in the last few moths.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,816 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing