We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel in great location!”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel in great location!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent modern hotel with great rooms. Very good location at beach in camps bay and right next to Main Street with bars etc. secure parking at hotel underground. Efficient friendly staff. Luxury rooms with private pool are great! Minibar complimentary with replacement of contents each day!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms with private pool are great! Minibar complimentary with replacement of contents each da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Graeme

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, room, complimentary mini bar and the service that you received from the team.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
455
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

what else can we say about this great camps bay boutique hotel? the pod is a beautiful place that combines style with coolness and the most caring staff you can imagine. we will most certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mkindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Matthais

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at POD Camps Bay on Tripadvisor.

Your compliments on the style, coolness and caring nature of our staff is most appreciated.

Thank you for booking again, we look forward to welcoming you back to POD in January 2015!

Best,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

POD Camps Bay was a brilliant way to start our trip. If you enjoy contemporary architecture, wonderful service and a short stroll to the beach, this is the place to go to without question. The manager Brendan is a great guy who clearly gets service after a few years in the industry. He has built a great team around him and they are a pleasure to be around. I am ashamed to say that I have forgotten the name of the tall chap who looked after us at breakfast and by the pool, but he deserves special mention - effortlessly charming, warm and welcoming, a real star. Sadly, we may not be able to return to the hotel in the near future as this was a last pre-baby escape and the hotel has a no young children policy. But for us this was part of the draw and in no way a complaint - it is a grown ups haven, wonderful! Best bits - architecture and coastal contemporary design, sunset by the pool, the staff, the ease of the underground parking and being just a short hop over the hill into town. A brilliant hotel I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms look great, the corner suites looked amazing. We had a Luxury and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Alex

Thank you for posting such a fabulous review about POD Camps Bay.

I really appreciate the compliment on the management and service culture that we have created at the hotel.

I have said it before and I will say it again, the team in place at POD is the best group of people that I have had the pleasure of working with in all my years in the industry. It is without doubt that without them, POD would not be the place it is today.

Wishing you and Kizzy all the best for the upcoming birth of your baby. Get lots of sleep now :-)

Warmest,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at POD for five nights this past February, in the room 3(Luxury suite with plunge pool). We've stayed in many top rated hotels, and from the second we arrived, this place blew them all away. Everything was complete perfection, down to the smallest detail. Very pleased with the area, as we were initially booked to stay in Cape Town Central, but opted for Camps Bay instead. Plenty of amazing restaurants within safe walking distance, for which the amazing staff happily reserved for us each night. Every employee truly went above and beyond for us, and made us feel at home. The lounge and bar/pool area are completely gorgeous, and frame the sunset perfectly over the beach. The drinks were beyond phenomenal, and delivered to the pool in our room with a smile. We had amazing tours booked most days in Cape Town, but regardless kept wishing they would just be over quickly so we could spend more time at this amazing place. Breakfast each morning was perhaps the best we've ever had, anywhere. The room was spacious, impeccably decorated with a great blend of modern and african decor. Our patio was equally beautiful, with amazing views of both mountains and beach. We cannot possibly recommend this place more highly, and worth every penny! A huge thank you to the staff as well, never felt more pampered.

-Gregory & Rebecca

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greguri06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a positive review about POD Camps Bay, your praise on our property is warmly received.

I am thrilled to hear that we surpassed your expectations and topped the levels of some of the top rated hotels that you have stayed at in the past.

Thanks for the compliments on the service, hotel design, rooms, breakfast and beverage selection. It's great to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us.

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

From the moment we walked through the door I knew it would be as good as I had hoped - but it was even better! Sleek, minimalist, pared back luxury. A very warm welcome from the staff and that superb service continued throughout our stay. The staff on reception went out of their way to help - the daily free bottle of wine was exchanged for a Chardonney instead of Savignon. I was a little apprehensive that the Mountain room might feel claustrophobic having smaller, high windows but what a surprise - the Lions Head was perfectly framed in one window and 12 Apostles in the other. Room was not huge but perfectly and thoughtfully designed, as was the ensuite, making both feel surprisingly roomy. Beautiful toiletries. Not that we stayed in to watch their DVDs but they provide popcorn with them! Breakfast was superb and the service then and for complementary teas, coffees and waters always first class. Beautiful, if smallish pool area with loungers but they also provided very comfortable deckchairs which they took down to beach for us and collected too. Sea view rooms were fantastic and the deluxe corner sea view was simply stunning - but unless you are thinking of staying in your room 24/7, opt for Mountain View ( not mini Mountain) and stay another night or two!

Room Tip: 206 which is Mountain view but on a corner so has three windows, two with spectacularly framed Moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jackie

I am pleased to hear that POD not only met but exceeded your expectations and I appreciate your praise on the design, welcome, service, breakfast and the amenities.

As you mention in your room tip, unless you are planning to stay in your room for most of the day the mountain rooms are perfectly proportioned rooms at a great rate.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We had the best stay at POD Camps Bay. Their staff was incredible, our room was modern, comfy, cozy, clean and fully stocked. They have a complementary mini fridge in the room with water, juice, soda, beer and wine - such a nice bonus! Their infinity pool and lounging area are breathtaking. The garage for our rental car was a nice security blanket. We were walking distance to the beach, tons of bars and restaurants, Table Mountain and very central for everything else we did during our week-long stay. Their awesome staff surprised us with a sweet card, champagne and roses in our room to send our honeymoon out on a high. We didn't want to leave and we will stay there next time we visit Cape Town. Thanks for an amazing vacation!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridgette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Bridgette

Once again, congratulations on your recent marriage! It was an absolute privilege to host you at POD Camps Bay your honeymoon.

I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your room, the lounge and pool area, the service, the complimentary mini bar and the honeymoon turndown.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. The staff is super friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good. The rooms are marvelous, we stayed in 201 and it was great. To see the sundowner either from your room or from the pooldeck is just awesome. It is also very conveniant that all the minibar is for free amd you can ask for more!
Do not miss the movie selection with popcorn or the beach service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the room, pool, breakfast, movies and popcorn, beach service as well as the incredible sunsets over the Atlantic that we are so privileged to enjoy every afternoon from our lounge and deck.

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing