We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Prime Location for enjoying beachlife and visiting Cape Town. Very stylisch Hotel, modern and nicely decorated rooms and suites. Beautiful pool area, friendly and helpful staff - we will return! Very relaxed lifestyle!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaColumna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a positive review about your stay at POD Camps Bay.

I appreciate the compliments on the location, the style of the rooms and hotel and the service offering received.

I'm thrilled to hear that you will return and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warmest,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for POD Camps Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Pods is practically located on the beach-just cross one street and you're there. The service was excellent: we had a late flight and were allowed to use the hotel lobby, pool, shower,carpark etc and (real bonus!) they let us use a beach-package with towels,beachmats,cold water etc. The rooms are nice with cool design although i would recommend sharing with someone you know well as the bathroom is open to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MswAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked the location, room and the beach service.

The use of our facilities was an absolute pleasure, should we have had a vacant room available we would have gladly offered it to you for a late check out as well.

As mentioned in your review, the bathroom and bedroom are open plan and the hotel is best suited to couples.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We absolutely loved this tiny gem of a boutique hotel! Every single detail -- from the bathroom amenities to the in-room Nespresso machine, from the delicious (included) breakfast to the gorgeous infinity-edge pool overlooking the Atlantic Ocean -- was so well thought out. The service was fantastic, from the barman to the front desk team to the cleaning staff. Our room was spacious, functional and had a gorgeous view. We couldn't have asked for a better introduction to South Africa, a place that we absolutely fell in love with from the moment we arrived at the POD Hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay -- we hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Just 25 rooms on two floors -- the second floor has a better view and one side overlooks the ocean...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJadaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thanks for the feedback on your recent stay at POD Camps Bay.

I am elated to hear that you fell in love with our property and that you felt the service, rooms and amenities were up to standard.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope to welcome you back to POD at some point in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice and modern styled hotel. love the rooms and how they setup the Hotel. Service was great and also the brakefast. Clean and modern. Great place to stay and entjoy the vacation. Also the view was nice from our room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Peter

Thank you for the review and the compliments on the room, breakfast and the service.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the views over the Camps Bay beach and the 12 Apostles from your room.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pod for 4 nights. It's a great hotel - one of the best we stayed in in South Africa. Service is very good and friendly, e.g. We had to get up for a table mountain hile before breakfast time and they packed a brackfast basket for us. I also forgot my phone charger which they sent to another hotel we stayed in.

The location is super convenient, you can walk to nice restaurants in Camps Bay and also to the hop on hop off bus.

The view from lobby/pool area is just great and perfect for the daily sundowner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

"Great location and service" WOW, what more could we ask for!

Thank you for the commendations on the hotel, views, location and most importantly the service.

It was a pleasure arranging the courier for your charger, I am glad that we could get it back to you in time.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Hotel is excellent! I stayed with my wife and we really felt that we were taken care of. It's very brand new with great decoration and is well locate in the best beach in Capetown.

If you want to go the beach, they will set you up with umbrellas, mats and water. If you need a reservation or want to try a new restaurant, they will gladly help. Even in a rainy day, they help us to schedule a day full of activities

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Daniel

I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay at POD and that you felt that you were taken care of by the team.

Thanks for the praise on decor, location and the service that you received. It's always a pleasure to assist with any guest request and I am elated that this willingness from our side left such a positive impression on your stay.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay was perfect - only negative point i could mention is that wifi did not reach our room. Other than that the hotel is new, very well decorated, amazing views of the beach, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akiko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review about POD Camps Bay on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you felt that your stay was perfect and thrilled that you enjoyed the decor, views and the service offering from the team.

My sincere apologies about the Wi-Fi issues. We have recently overhauled our IT hardware to ensure a faster and more stable internet offering. The teething problems have now been resolved and everything is working 100%.

We hope to welcome you back to POD in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £160 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing