We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Cape Town (arguably the world)”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Cape Town (arguably the world)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is by far the best boutique I have EVER stayed at in the world - and I travel quite a bit. Everything about this hotel is incredible - especially the staff. The location is absolutely fantastic as it is directly across from the beach and within walking distance of the main road which features an array of lively bars and restaurants. The interior of the hotel is very modern and stylish yet warm and welcoming. The one aspect of the room that may be a bit bothersome is the open air shower which does not give much privacy. However, given how absolutely fabulous the hotel is, this minor inconvenience was easily overlooked. The real, true value of this hotel is the SERVICE and the STAFF. WOW! The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay as accommodating as ever. I wish every hotel I stayed at was this accommodating. Not only was Brendan and his team flexible with our late departure time from the hotel, but they helped us book everything from dinner reservations to spa treatments. Most importantly, the entire staff was willing to help and competent/capable at completing any request. During our trip we ended up going to Botswana for one portion of the trip, and POD's was more than happy to store our excess luggage. I fully plan on heading back to Cape Town and will ONLY stay at Pods! There is absolutely no better hotel to stay at!

Room Tip: We booked a classic room and a luxury room with a pool. We did not end up using the pool that much a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Nisha and the Choksi family

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about your two stays with us at POD Camps Bay.

To be placed on a pedestal with the best in South Africa is such a compliment, to be placed on a pedestal with the best in the world is incredible. Thank you!

The late departure was an absolute pleasure as was arranging the spa treatments, restaurant bookings and other activities for you during your trip. I am pleased to hear that this willingness had such a positive impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome your family back to POD at some point in the near future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    39
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
447
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is by far the best boutique I have EVER stayed at in the world - and I travel quite a bit. Everything about this hotel is incredible - especially the staff. The location is absolutely fantastic as it is directly across from the beach and within walking distance of the main road which features an array of lively bars and restaurants. The interior of the hotel is very modern and stylish yet warm and welcoming. The one aspect of the room that may be a bit bothersome is the open air shower which does not give much privacy. However, given how absolutely fabulous the hotel is, this minor inconvenience was easily overlooked. The real, true value of this hotel is the SERVICE and the STAFF. WOW! The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay as accommodating as ever. I wish every hotel I stayed at was this accommodating. Not only was Brendan and his team flexible with our late departure time from the hotel, but they helped us book everything from dinner reservations to spa treatments. Most importantly, the entire staff was willing to help and competent/capable at completing any request. During our trip we ended up going to Botswana for one portion of the trip, and POD's was more than happy to store our excess luggage. I fully plan on heading back to Cape Town and will ONLY stay at Pods! There is absolutely no better hotel to stay at!

Room Tip: We booked one luxury room and one classic room. While the luxury room did have a private pool, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Nisha and the Choksi family

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review about your two stays with us at POD Camps Bay.

To be placed on a pedestal with the best in South Africa is such a compliment, to be placed on a pedestal with the best in the world is incredible. Thank you!

The late departure was an absolute pleasure as was arranging the spa treatments, restaurant bookings and other activities for you during your trip. I am pleased to hear that this willingness had such a positive impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome your family back to POD at some point in the near future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Modern luxury at its best! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic and stones throw from the beach and Camps Bay promenade. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with all amenities possible. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Craig

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at POD.

Thanks for the praise on the hotel, facilities, location and the service offering from the team.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is my 2 nd review on Trip Advisor ever-and way overdue. Rating the Pod is like rating your family---you just can't put this place in a league of all the other hotels--- from my first stay here to my 4th I felt instantly at home thanks to the attentive, personal approach of the staff under outstanding management of Mr. Brendan Boyle. The property is high style/design & unbeatable location next to Camps Bay---gorgeous breakfast & a bar that you can't wait to get to mid-day or sundowners at the pool. I have traveled the world for 30 years---stayed in the best places-- so I do know what I am talking about. This place is unique in the most beautiful City in the world. Come here & let them take care of you. I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark200457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mark

After your 4th stay with us, I am glad that you finally managed to post a review of your experiences.

Thank you for the mention regarding my running of the hotel as well as your commendations on the style, design, location and uniqueness of the property.

You were a guest on your first stay, a friend on your second and became family from your third.

I know that you have not yet finalized your plans for December but we are holding thumbs that you will return to POD once again!

Warmest,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Note: this is my first trip advisor review and I travel a fair amount. This hotel is worth a review. From the moment our eyes landed on POD Camps Bay, we knew we made the right choice of hotels in Cape Town. The location of the hotel is fantastic - right across from the beach but slightly removed from the main road with traffic. The layout and design of the hotel completely fit our style - open floor plan, minimalist style but not lacking any of the perks. We were truly amazed at how friendly & helpful each and every member of the staff was. From providing paddles and balls at the beach to plating our take-out dinner order to making sure we had water for any excursion to the movies and popcorn for our room, they were EXCEPTIONAL. I honestly can't imagine staying anywhere else. Other boutique hotels should follow thier model!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the ocean view for the room size, not necessarily b/c you'll be looking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Kimberly

I am delighted to hear that your first review after extensive travel is about our property.

Thank you for the worm words on the location, style and most importantly the service that you received from the team. To say that the staff were friendly, helpful and exceptional is such a compliment and a testament to the team that I am so fortunate to have in my employ.

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for 8 nights in April/May 2014 and we had an amazing experience. The hotel is modern with very nice/stylish rooms but the best thing about it is the staff => very friendly and helpful. This is what really makes a difference. Thanks to Brendan and Team

Oliver

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver_richter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Oliver

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting Nadia and yourself during the 8 days that you were based in Camps Bay.

I am elated to hear that you felt that the service was the best thing about our hotel.

We are incredibly fortunate have such a brilliant and dedicated team committed to helping and assisting every guest that comes through our doors.

We hope to see you again later in the year.

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wow, what can I say but what a wonderful experience we had at this hotel. I booked for a 2 night stay and I experienced great service throughout the stay. It was my first time in Cape Town so I was a little apprehensive about the whole trip but needless to say, it started off well the moment we checked-in. The lounge area is small but intimate, and with the view of the swimming pool and ocean it felt spacious.

We probably had the cheapest room (no private pool, no balcony) but as it was a corner room it was apparently a little more spacious? I liked that the room was well-designed - to save on space the room was built in an open-plan concept. If you don't like that, then don't stay at the hotel. I was fine with the sink right next to the wardrobe. The shower area was HUGE, and the toilet has its own little room so that was good. Free mini-bar is always a great touch. You can also have free drinks at the lounge too.

The service is what took this hotel to the next level. Everyone is friendly. I asked for directions and recommendations from the staff, and I got great answers.

Parking is a little tricky as you have to drive up/down this tiny, steep slope that leads into the garage. Very tricky if your car is a normal-sized one. Lucky for me, I had a small rental car so it was manageable. But I'm sure with such great service you can always get one of the staff to drive it in/out for you.

Breakfast there was amazing. I was totally blown away. Look, it's a small boutique hotel so don't expect a buffet spread like those large 5-star hotel chains (not that there's anything wrong with that!). There is a breakfast spread, but on a much smaller scale. Plenty of fresh, local fruit which I loved - kiwi, grapefruit, passionfruit, figs, strawberries - wow. And you have your usual cereal and toast. You can also order eggs and porridge from a menu. I had the most amazing, tasty porridge ever, and I am not even a porridge fan!

And of course, if you love rooibos tea like I do, then you are in heaven.

POD hotel isn't the cheapest, but it makes up for having a great location and top-notch service. And the breakfast! I had a great time there, and I will be sure to return when I am next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and glowing report about your stay at POD.

As mentioned in your review, our rooms have an open plan bedroom and bathroom layout. This along with the design elements creates a room that people either love or hate and thankfully most guests (including yourself) love it!

Thank you for the praise on the complimentary mini bar, breakfast and most importantly the service that you received from the team.

The basement parking area is a little tricky to navigate and we are always happy to valet park vehicles for guests should they not feel confident squeezing through the narrow access.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
0.5 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing