We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hotel and Staff....”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazing Hotel and Staff....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Five friends from America stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 after running the Comrades ultra-marathon in Durban. This hotel is beyond description. The location and views from the lobby and deck of Camp's Bay are breathtaking. The design and style of the hotel is clean, modern and well-thought out. Each room is uniquely designed and incredibly comfortable. The staff are all outstanding. We were all sore and tired from our race. At night, they put hot water bottles in our room to help the aching muscles! A wonderful touch. They recommended several local restaurants like the "Cod Father" which were all great suggestions. Restaurants, bars and shopping are all within easy walking. And the views of Table Mountain and the 12 Apostles are spectacular. This is a world-class property. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a deck and a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Stephen

Thank you for sharing your recent POD experience on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure hosting you after your Comrades Ultra-marathon run and I apologize once again for making you climb up and down all the stairs so soon after the race :-)

Thanks for the commendations on the location, views, design and style of our hotel.
I am thrilled to hear that you found the service and staff to be "outstanding".

See you next year after the uphill run!

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
455
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon in May 2014. Could not recommend it highly enough. We had a water suite, with our own private pool looking not the beach and the ocean. Although not warm enough really, it was a luxury (will be stunning in the heart of summer!). Staff were super friendly and always willing to help, perfect hosts (even when our car battery had died!) Good healthy breakfast, minutes away from the bars and restaurants on Camps Bay beach front and only 10 mins from central Cape Town. Boutique and beautiful with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view by far the best. And the rooms with a private pool are simply wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Andy

Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you during your honeymoon and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Luxury Room with plunge pool.

Thank you for the praise on the hotel and the service offering from the team.

We hope you will come back to celebrate one of your future anniversaries with us.

Warmest regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 days in May 2014 as part of our honeymoon in SA. The hotel itself is perfectly located to enjoy the camps bay area and is around 10 minutes away from Cape town central. Its a fantastic hotel, very well designed rooms with everything you could need. Breakfast is excellent, pool and bar is great and i imagine would be buzzing during high season. Special mention needs to be made to all the staff here, from the breakfast team to the reception and night team, everyone went out of their way to make our trip special and one night we came home early and were treated to hot water bottles, popcorn and a selection of DVDs. On our last night the team gtrated us to a bottle of champagne and chocolates to celebrate our honeymoon but even before that we knew we would return to POD, its a perfect spot to enjoy Cape Town. I also checked trip advisor reviews before we booked and they were spot on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emccab10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent honeymoon experience at POD Camps Bay.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for the warm words on the location, rooms, bar and the staff.
The popcorn and the romantic turn-down was our pleasure.

You are absolutely correct, from September through to May Camps Bay really comes alive with the rich and famous flashing their super-cars all over the main restaurant strip. Our property is buzzing and has a great vibe during the summer months due to our proximity to all of the action.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after getting married and it was divine!! When we came back from dinner the staff had put chocolates, champagne and flowers in our room which was such an amazing touch! Very friendly people and beautiful hotel!
Beautiful views and the only negative comment is I wished we stayed longer! Highly recommend it and worth every penny.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Candice

Thank you for posting such a lovely review.

I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your one night stay with us at POD Camps Bay.

The honeymoon turn-down was an absolute pleasure, I am glad that it had such a big impact for you both.

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage.

We hope that you will return to POD for one of your future anniversaries.

Warmest,

Brendan Boyle,
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were there 4 nights and were upgraded to the suite number 201...highly recommend booking the suite as it is much bigger and has better views. The staff is wonderful, very helpful and nice. The breakfast is simple but very nice. The rooms are very clean and it's a 2 minutes walk to the beach. Would go back anytime.

Room Tip: Suite 201 is the best without hesitation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieglobettroteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Valerie

Thank you for the kind words and the fantastic review about POD Camps Bay.

It was a pleasure upgrading you to one of our Deluxe Suites and I have to agree that 101 and 201 are the best rooms in the hotel. We wish that we could upgrade every guests but unfortunately due to high occupancy, its getting more and more difficult to do this.

Thanks for the compliments on the breakfast, the housekeeping and the service.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit our beautiful city.

Kind regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolbermoor, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had 2 nights in pod camps bay in Cape town after a trip around south africa. It is one of the best hotels we have ever been with an excellent service and a wonderful location. The house and its rooms present a great and very modern design. For us it was one of different highlights in Cape town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Hellen

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that POD was one of the highlights during your trip through South Africa.
Thanks for the commendations on the hotel, rooms, location and the service.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fist time in Cape Town and first time in POD Camps Bay. What a great holiday! Amazing hotel with friendly staff. I'll be coming back real soon and with out a doubt I'll be staying at POD. Thank you for your friendly service and amazing rooms.

Room Tip: Room 201 I believe is the best room, with great views and nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for posting your review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at POD and thank you for the compliments on the hotel, location, rooms and the staff.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

P.S, You are 100% correct - 101 & 201 are our Deluxe Suites which boast 75 sqm of open plan living at its best. The views are over the Camps Bay beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing