We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The dogs bollocks basically - just go and stay - the staff, location , wine, the views , the room. Got to be one of the best hotels in the world . Ask for Theo for the cape and wine tours. The location is ridiculously beautiful , and the sunsets to die for .
This is a bucket list experience. Enjoy!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank sorrybarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

I am still laughing at the opening line...

Thank you for the praise , I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for POD Camps Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was the best hotel experience we had in Cape Town in all the 13 times we've been staying in different 4 and 5 star hotels in the Cape Town region. The interior and layout is esceptional and the ipod docking station adds a nice touch
Leon & Adre van Biljon

Room Tip: We recommend room 101!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanBiljons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest

After 13 trips to Cape Town, I am elated to hear that we are regarded as the best hotel that you have stayed at to date. We hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful location, phenomenal facilities and exceptional staff. POD is the type of hotel experience that is nearly impossible to find anywhere today.

Located on a beautiful overlook of Camps Bay, this gorgeous boutique hotel remembers how to put the customer first and make the hotel experience a part of the holiday.

The staff are both knowledgeable and helpful, eager to assist you with any demand you can think of. You need a restaurant, they are prepared! An idea for a guided tour, done! What about a secluded beach, where do they start!!! And Finally, need to have a late checkout "We will hold your room until 8:30 PM for checkout" Amazing!!!!!

Without a doubt the top of my list of hotel experiences for a seasoned traveller. I will recommend and also ensure I stay anytime I am in Cape Town in the future.

Thank you POD!!!!

Room Tip: Cant g wrong with any rooms, but I recommend to spend a little more and get a suite. The value for m...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Judson

You could have stopped writing after your opening line...

Thank you for posting what I consider to be one of the most spectacular reviews about our property. I am often astounded by the praise that we receive!

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

POD is an exceptionally well designed and well run boutique hotel in Camps Bay. The design is striking - functional modern well done. The staff, to a person, is friendly, helpful and no ask is too much. The only complaint is the room is so comfortable and relaxing that it was hard to get up to and out in the mornings. Beds are large, well appointed and comfortable - and the heated floors surrounding the slightly elevated sleeping area platform add warmth and comfort in cooler months. Leave the sliding door or window open and fall asleep to the blissfully hypnotic waves crashing just across the road. Cold beverages, snacks, coffee and tea are thoughtfully available in the room - and toiletries are generous and top quality. And the inventive POD staff gets extra credit for two clever turn down features each night - but you'll have to stay to reveal that secret for yourself. Top accolades - I would stay no where else on a return visit to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Room sizes and views vary - but the web site is clear. Patio rooms are large and seeing/hearing th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Richard

I appreciate the time that it must have taken to post such a detailed review of our hotel.

Thank you for the praise on the design, the comfort of the rooms, the amenities, and most importantly the service offering from the team.

I am glad to hear that you also enjoyed the value adds as well as our turn-down treats.

It's a privilege to read that you would not consider another hotel to stay at should you return this area.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the POD Hotel for 3 nights and loved the experience. It is not a cheap hotel, but what we paid for was compensated by superior service and the impressive design of the hotel, which has a view to Camps Bay beach. Moreover, the hotel presented us some positive "surprises", such as limitless consumption of what was in the minibar.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Rafael

Thank you for posting such a glowing review about POD Camps Bay.

I appreciate the commendations on the design, location, views and the service at the hotel.

You are correct in stating that our property is not cheap, this is one of the realities of operating a boutique hotel in one of the most expensive residential areas in the world.

We do try to make up on the rate by offering impeccable service as well as a number of complimentary value adds which I am pleased that you have noted.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had an exceptional experience at the POD boutique hotel in Camps Bay!

We had 2 adjacent rooms, one of them a corner room with floor to ceiling windows facing the ocean. Ultramodern design and fixtures, open plan shower area, plenty of closet space. There was even a skylight in the ceiling of second floor hallway with gorgeous view of mountains.

The staff and service were exceptional, helping us with whatever info or bookings we needed. They were most helpful with suggestions for planning our daily activities. Breakfast, which was included, had a wide array of choices of fresh, delicious food. Gym was small, but some of us enjoyed running outside along the oceanfront from Camps Bay to Sea Point instead.Spa services were available, but we did not have time to utilize them.

Overall, a wonderful, modern, boutique type hotel with outstanding service that we would highly recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Corner suites with amazing ocean views!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zachg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Zach

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review about our hotel.

It was a pleasure hosting your family during your time in Cape Town and am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at POD.

The personal attention and drive to assist guests with any request is what the front of house team is all about. I am glad that they played such positive role for you.

Wishing you and the family all the best!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel, rooms are superb, staff very friendly and the service was brilliant. Just loved the Cappuccino with your name in it, just a lovely touch. Great summer location, close to the beach and all the Cafe's and restaurants in Camps Bays

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarleyManza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such an excellent review about your stay at POD.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location, rooms and the service offering from the team.

Sandi's cappuccino art is impressive! It ranges from ones name, the weather report and a number of images in his repertoire.

We hope to welcome you back to POD at some point in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
332 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
281 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £162 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing