We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of POD Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
POD Camps Bay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fish Hoek, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful experience. Attention to detail and little personal touches, as well as fantastic, friendly, "couldn't do enough" service from everyone...all very impressive! The room was very tastefully done and the complimentary mini-bar, snacks and beach attire were appreciated extras.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Memorable (in a good way) is what we aim to achieve and I am delighted that this was true in your case.

Thank you for the fantastic compliment about the service offering - this is what truly sets us apart from our competition.

We hope to welcome you back to POD soon.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    39
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
451
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is simply stunning! The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the views are stunning and the staff is very warm, friendly and helpful. The staff helped us with some unique requests as well.
It is one of the best boutique hotels we've stayed in. I would definitely stay at the POD Camps Bay on my future visits to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Go for the Luxury rooms. They're spacious and have great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushilK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Tripadvisor forum.

I am delighted to hear that you had a "superb" stay with us.
Thank you for the commendations on the rooms, the views and the staff.

We are elated to be one of the best hotels that you have ever stayed in.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pods is a wonderful place to stay and Camps Bay is beautiful. Great service, gorgeous views and an abundance of food options. Super close to the mountain and beach. I'd stay again in a heartbeat. The only issue I had was that there was a strange smell that I believe was from the flowers in the lobby but hardly a complaint.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassysandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about POD on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate your compliments on the service, views and the location of our property in Camps Bay. We are indeed very fortunate to be within such close proximity to the beach and the restaurant strip, yet still have fantastic mountain and sea views.

I am looking into the strange smell that you wrote about as I don't think it was from the flowers.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The folks at the front desk were especially amazing. They booked restaurants, helped me figure out where to go/what to see, booked our shark trip, had a car on call for us. They made everything so easy.

The room was cool. Very modern/contemporary style. But, it worked well.

Great job POD team!

Room Tip: we had room 201. that's right on the corner, facing the beach. it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Matt

Thanks for posting such a great review, the title says it all...

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the helpful service from the front desk team. They are a great bunch of people who genuinely want to assist with any guest requests.

Thanks for the compliment on the style, design and functionality of our rooms.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for five nights during our honeymoon. The location is great being only footsteps away from the Camps Bay beaches and multiple restaurants. The staff was super friendly and helpful every step of the way. In addition, the breakfast had a lot of different delicous choices and everything was always fresh. The rooms are beauitulf and we had an outdoor patio that overlooked the beaches. Overall a fantastic experience and great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Douglas

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us at POD.

Thank you for the kind words on the location, rooms, food and the service that you received.

We hope that you will stay with us again on one of your future wedding anniversaries.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel has a nice vibe, great interior design, friendly staff and above all, an amazing eye for detail; just a few things; coming back from dinner, a hot water bottle in the bed, chilled water on the night stand. Amazing views on the beach and near some great bars and restaurants. If you want, the hotel will assist you with your bookings or prepare a nice beach bag for you to hit the beach fully equipped... Incl beach ball set ;-) thanks POD!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the vibe, design, service and the attention to detail at our hotel.

Thanks for mentioning some of our personal touches as a lot of thought goes into experimenting with new ideas and ways of adding to each and every aspect of our product.

We hope to welcome you back to POD soon!

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

POD was our first hotel stay in SA and it was everything promised in its reputation. The service was personal and available before you could ask. If we make it back to Cape Town we would definitely stay at POD again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanBoyle, General Manager at POD Camps Bay, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kyle

Thanks for posting a review about your recent stay with us at POD.

I am elated to hear that we lived up to your expectations and its great to know that you would stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Brendan Boyle
General Manager, POD Camps Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POD Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POD Camps Bay

Property: POD Camps Bay
Address: 3 Argyle Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — POD Camps Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool beyond question is POD Camps Bay. A true Africa original realised in a stunning set of decor elements, POD is both raw yet polished. See naked Africa design timber dropping into stone, shifting into glass, imbuing a sense of seaside sophistication so often attempted but so rarely achieved. 17 modern suites and rooms share the spoils of idyllic mountain and ocean views. Truly surprising is POD's proximity to the famous and ever energised Camps Bay beachfront, just a few light footsteps away. It is little wonder that POD appears on the Condé Nast Hot List 2011, and finds its place among Tatler's 101 Best Hotels in the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your POD Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Hotel Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing