We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crystal
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

stayed for two separate times during our holiday to SA. So much has been said about these apartments, so i will summarise our comments
Great location in hills above campsbay, you could walk down in around 15 mins, but walk back up is more difficult. We had a car!
Took a two bedroomed apartment (204) which was fantastic, well furnished, spacious with great views from balcony down to camps bay and view from rear window to 12 apostles and lions head/table mountain.
Accommodation exceeded our expectations, bit short on cooking equipment but with so many great restaurants in camps bay others may not be concerned
Few minor issues with blinds, which were not repaired
Staff very welcoming and helpful, you can use fee email/internet in office or purchase internet vouchers, which we did
Took one of thier tours full day winelands trip, which was really good
Used the Bay hotel/beach club on a few occasions, service was great and prices lower than we expected. also used free shuttle to attend fee wine tasting and then had dinner (not so good-another story)
Overall we thoroughly recommend these apartments. Location in camps bay is great for touring, going on hop on hop off red bus, viewing sunset on signal hill and for travelling to cape penisula and further afield.
Camps bay appears quite safe, loads of restaurants and bars, post office, general store and mini supermarket, ATMs but no bank. Also no store that sells wine or liqour so if you require these items you will have to travel into sea point or further into cape town (but not on a sunday!)
Overall a fantastic stay at wonderful apartments, swimming pool cold!

Room Tip: any they all appear good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbruceroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Mr. Roberts

Thank you for your detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My apologies for the blinds, unfortunately it was a defect that had to be fixed by the supplier.

Any further recommendations on more cooking equipment are most welcome.

We have two pools at The Crystal of which the one is heated from November-March each year. It was only switched on the first week of November. We do however switch the heat pump off on windy days.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    52
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I just had the most fabulous stay at the Crystal. I have to start with the staff. What a lovely attentive group of people. Marcelle and Zaakiyah were so amazing throughout our stay. Extremely attentive and personable and always going the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of. It was like having your own personal concierge service and we felt like celebrities for the duration of our stay. They really went above and beyond.

The apts themselves are beautiful - large and very tastefully furnished with all the amenities you would want for a "self-serve" facility. The quality and attention to detail really stood out to me. The bathrooms are beautiful and large with great products for toiletries. It is a green facility so you won't have your towels refreshed daily. Beautiful kitchen.
THe views of the bay and the mountains are breathtaking from this location. I actually found it to be the perfect location for my stay in Cape town. Very close to Table Mountain..you could walk if it weren't for the hills. Walking distance to the most beautiful beach and loads of restaurants. Easy access to the Hop-on tourist bus so convenient access to all the key sites in Cape town if you dont have a car.
I also found the cost to be very reasonable. Not just at The Crystal but in Camp's Bay in general.
Then's there's the extra's..complimentary wine tastings at the club house, Complimentary shuttle (shuttle is perhaps not the correct term as I was driven around in anything from an Audi to a Porsche!).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipepeopeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed in a 2 bedroom apt. The view is simply beautiful. you need a car to get there but otherwise, it's just paradise! The Crystal apt belongs to Village & Life group hence we got a membership card which gave us access to The Bay Hotel facilities (swimming pool just in front of the sea).
It has been the second time for me, and next time in Cape Town, I will book there again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Plevan

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crystal Apartments on your next trip to Cape Town.

The membership card also gives you complimentary access to our 5 star Boutique Hotel Camps Bay Retreat, so perhaps you can enjoy a serene breakfast, lunch or dinner at their restaurant or go for a relaxation treatment at Mint Wellness Spa.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

every thing was in the crystal apartments fantastic we would love come back there again it lovely rooms lovely location wonderful place in cape town
the equipment in apartment for kitchen is already there no need to bring anything from your country .
we liked south Africa cape town is very safe country it's has millions of activities to do there .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iboo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As other reviews mention it really is a fabulous view of Camps Bay and Table mountain from this apartment hotel. Very goodfacilities within the apartment - ie. all mod cons, underfloor heating, nicely furnished throughout. Reception helpful for booking taxis/shuttle and recommendations of where to visit and where to eat

Added bonus is that you can get a minibus transfer between the sister hotel on the beach at Camps Bay and the apartment as otherwise would be a 30 mins walk up a steep hill

Only negatives for what otherwise would be a 5* star rating is that tea/coffee and toiletries are not replenished after the first day and during our stay there was incessant banging from building work in aprartment above from 8.30am every morning during our stay (it was low season) which should really of been mentioned prior to arrival or at check in

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joandphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We have a starter pack for our guests to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee on their arrival without having to run off to the nearest supermarket and due to the fact that we are self catering we do not replenish this on a daily basis . We do however offer personalized shopping that can be arranged prior to your arrival in order for you to be stocked with the basic necessities and groceries on your arrival day.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with regards to the noise. As it is our low season we and other owners in The Crystal utilize this time to do repairs wherever needed. Unfortunately we were not informed of the degree of work that was to be completed otherwise we would gladly have moved you to an alternative apartment.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed in the Crystal in February 2012. I have seen a lot of hotels and holiday accomodations due to extensive travel, and very few have made me feel at home or luxurious as this one. It's a beautiful setting, with helpful staff always greeting you with a smile. The view is spectacular, waking up overlooking the ocean is a big plus. The appartement we stayed in had top-notch design, and was all we could hope for. Also received some good tips re. trips or things to do nearby from the concierge. I do believe there is a different feel to all appartments, due to a very differing design and setting but I'm sure there all up to standard. We stayed in appartement 302. Very good value for money, will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for 302!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe_Olenaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had stayed in two bedroom loft apt. For Man United game last weekend. Very poor service. Had arranged with them for late check in.,waited more than 15 min. Both the bedroom had no doors. No safe and closet in the main bedroom.In the main bedroom the shower cubicle had water clogging. Very little water coming out in the basin tap.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I have looked into your reservation; the loft apartment that you stayed in is the only apartment that is unique in its design. We have learned from your review and will highlight this on our website.

As per 4star grading requirements we only provide one safe per apartment and this specific apartment had its safe in the loft bedroom. We will take this into consideration to perhaps move the safe to a central area in the apartment.

We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to invite you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Property: The Crystal
Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic views of the Atlantic and spectacular sunsets are the order at The Crystal, architecturally stunning apartments in one of the world's premier scenic settings. With easy access in and out of Camps Bay, these luxurious, fully serviced apartments afford a choice of outstanding accommodation from modern studio and two-bedroom apartments through to captivating loft and three bedroom apartments, all well-appointed and designed for the ultimate in comfort and style. Two swimming pools on an expansive terrace provide refreshing dips and sun-soaked relaxation while contemplating the delights of splendid ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing