We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable family stay at The Crystal”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crystal
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Great facilities, excellent location and good service from friendly staff members. Our family thoroughly enjoyed the stay and used The Crystal as a convenient basis to explore Cape Town's atttractions. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for The Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

While checking in, I asked Samantha (Concierge) if she had any suggestions for alternative entertainment, since a live show that we had really wanted to see during our stay was fully booked. Not only did Samantha immediately offer several possibilities, but to our surprise, she phoned us back a day later informing us that she had sourced a couple of tickets for us. Talk about going the extra mile!

The one bedroom studio was very spacious and luxurious, offering everything that one could ask for. The very limited bouquet of DSTV channels did not match the standard and the units are not walking distance to the beach, but everything is just a short drive away and being elevated on the mountain side, your camera will capture some awesome views, stunning sunsets and happy memories.

Our unit was peaceful, quiet, secure and we slept like kings. We will gladly stay at the Crystal again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Andre L

Thank you for your positive review; our staff certainly goes out their way to provide a 5 star service.

Unfortunately we only offer a standard hotel satellite bouquet and provide a variety of sport, leisure and news.

We do provide a complimentary shuttle from The Crystal Apartments to The Bay Hotel subject to availability.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at the Crystal for 2 nights. The standard of accommodation was excellent. The facilities that the apartment offers is top notch. The view is great. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Very secure as well. Only had an issue with the towel rail that did not heat up when it was switched on and the bath tub water spout was not in working order. Other than that, excellent stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rash1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Staying at the Crystal was an experience as splendid as Cape Town itself. The warm and helpful staff, the breathtaking views and privacy makes it a memorable place. We would stay there again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor, which had it's own private patio, overlooking the pool area...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the Crystal for 4 days on our Honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartments are very high spec and well equipped. The shuttle bus between the Crystal and the Bay hotel (down on the beach) is very useful. We also went to the Bay Hotel's own bar for a few chilled out drinks which is also worth doing. 

We can highly recommend staying.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the Crystal recently for 2 nights. The standard of accommodation was excellent and the view fantastic. We had one of the studio apartments which was very spacious. We had read from previous reviews of the 15 minute walk to the promenade, which was absolutely fine for us, given the quality of restaurants etc it was good to walk off the amazing food! We also took advantage of the transfer service. Camps Bay is stunning and you certainly couldn't wish to a more central & good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Becareful when booking in this plac. They tell you that they hve availability and then come back to you and say that the apartments are not available anymore. I had booked my plane tickets when I found out I did not have a booking in here anymore.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank AAC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear AAC10

We do try and accommodate all our guest to the best of our ability.

Please can you contact me directly on manager@campsbaycollection.com in order for me to investigate this matter into detail.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: £86 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the cool Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Table Mountain, lie The Crystal Apartments. From modern and luxurious studio and two bedroom apartments through to the flagship loft and three bedroom loft apartment, The Crystal is a place that solo travellers as well as families have called home over the years. Two swimming pools located on the terrace offer sweeping views over the Atlantic Ocean and the perfect place to relax after an adventure filled day in the Mother City. The easy access in and out of Camps Bay makes The Crystal a sought after location for our guests from across the globe. While hidden from view, the basement area is now home to some of the worlds most iconic sports cars that form the Crystal Car Club. Take a walk downstairs and revel in the pure performance and aesthetics of these supercars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing