We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, nice place to stay longer”
Review of The Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crystal
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely views, nice place to stay longer”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you are travelling alone, as I was you will think twice before booking, as it's a bit expensive. Biggest surprise was no internet in the room - the only hotspot was around reception, so people would have to stand in the garage/parking to browse, make further travel arrangements, make calls (instead of making them from the pool...) or check email.
Rooms are indeed nice, however on a windy day you will have trouble falling asleep - why not fit some door stops and window padding to stop that awesome noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Olyvine

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our WiFi coverage, signal strength and quality. Alternatively we do have a guest computer at reception that is complimentary and a 3G dongle as back up for the interim.
We appreciate the feedback with regards to the doors and windows and will most definitely look at a solution to solve these matters.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    52
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Crystal is in a great position with easy access to the buzz of Camps Bay but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. The staff are exceptionally efficient and friendly. The views from the apartments are lovely and, during our stay, the swimming pool did not get too busy. It is close enough to the centre of Cape Town to make it easy to get to all the main attractions but does not feel like it is so close to a major city. We have no hesitation recommending the Crystal and its associated accommodation.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments have easy access to the pool. Apartments on other floors probably have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Hilary

It was lovely to have you and your husband with us at The Crystal.
Thank you for your review.
We hope to have you with us again next year.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Beautifully clean, spacious and luxurious self catering apartments overlooking Camps Bay. The views can't be beaten therefore The Crystal is a healthy climb back up from the ocean, but for the less adventurous a courtesy service is available from sister hotels of the Village & Life Group. The staff are attentive and very friendly, so a tremendous place to stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 101 from where the private garden area allowed us to enjoy the spectacular sunsets. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My company has attended a show in Cape Town for the past 3 years and my colleagues and I have stayed in The Crystal each and every time. Each year, our experience was more pleasant. This self catering establishment is luxurious, stylish, comfortable, ultra modern and serviced daily. The view from your balcony just blows you away. It is close to the buzz at the beachfront and relatively painless to get to the city centre. Awesome place to stay and really worth raving about! I look forward to each and every stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ettiene R

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always an honor for us to welcome back our return guests and to receive such positive feedback.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My 2nd stay at The Crystal was every bit as good as 1st visit and I'll certainly return again. Beautifully modern ,clean well maintained accomodation in a fantastic location with stunning views of ocean and 12 Apostles mountain range. Absolutely everything you would require for duration of stay is provded for at these serviced apartments. Set in a very quiet upmarket suburb, 10 minute walk to sea front where a good choice of restuarants and bars await

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 220JAMESM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 220JamesSM

Thank you for you for lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you yet again had a memorable stay at The Crystal Apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit soon.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were a couple of 4 grown-ups and we spended time with friends and family in Camps Bay,
The appartment was great, just to the point that the cleaning could have been better, but otherwise pool and service was great. The staff went out of their way to please us. Location very secured, had problems to get to pool

Room Tip: We had the 3 bedroom appartment lots of space just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ellen L

Thank you for your review. I will appreciate it if you can email me more detailed feedback with regards to the housekeeping service.
We are in the process of upgrading some of our common area signage including directional signage to the pool.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
manager@campsbaycollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Dial a Flight arranged these apartments for a 10 day stay in December 2013, the apartment has everything required for self catering, well situated with outstanding views of the sea and mountains at camps bay. The property was in excellent condition clean and well cared for. The staff where more than friendly, helpful nothing was to much trouble. We had a slight problem with noisy neighbours and the staff dealt with it promptly. I do have one tiny complaint the internet service is poor, and difficult to obtain. This is a minor problem, the bed was clean and comfortable, and I would recommend this hotel strongly and without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sea so there is no advice, you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roydw1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrystalCampsBay, General Manager at The Crystal, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Rody W
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Please note that we are aware of the WIFI problems and we are in the process of changing suppliers that will hopefully solve the current intermittent issues. Alternatively we have 3G cards at reception that can only be used on laptops and certain tablets/ipad’s.
We hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 54 in Camps Bay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crystal

Property: The Crystal
Address: 35 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crystal 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the cool Atlantic Ocean and the iconic Table Mountain, lie The Crystal Apartments. From modern and luxurious studio and two bedroom apartments through to the flagship loft and three bedroom loft apartment, The Crystal is a place that solo travellers as well as families have called home over the years. Two swimming pools located on the terrace offer sweeping views over the Atlantic Ocean and the perfect place to relax after an adventure filled day in the Mother City. The easy access in and out of Camps Bay makes The Crystal a sought after location for our guests from across the globe. While hidden from view, the basement area is now home to some of the worlds most iconic sports cars that form the Crystal Car Club. Take a walk downstairs and revel in the pure performance and aesthetics of these supercars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crystal Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing