We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing with amazing views!!!”
Review of Bayview Penthouses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayview Penthouses
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Atlantica suite early December, Alice and her staff are lovely and very attentive to your needs. After a long flight from the UK we thought we'd turn up early to see whether they would allow an early check in.....our luck was in, our penthouse was ready and this really gave our holiday a great start! The view from the balcony is amazing and the location is great. Yes, it's a little drive down to Camps Bay but it's definitely worth it. If you are going to visit the beaches, Clifton beach is best....! The penthouse was cleaned everyday to a high standard and to our amazement even the washing up was done :) our stay was very comfortable and service from Alice and her team was exceptional....due to liquor stores being closed on Sunday's Alice even kindly popped around with a bottle of wine.....how could we spend our first night sitting on the balcony without a drink!! ;)
Last and not least, like everyone we all dread checking out and then the lengthy wait for the flight home which is usually in the evening......Alice kindly let us use her washing facilities late afternoon after we had checked out so that our last day wasn't restricted and enjoyed another day at the beach. For me, it meant so much to be able to freshen up before your flight. A big Thanks to Alice and her staff. Tracey & Jay

Room Tip: The Penthouses offer a lot of space with good sized secluded balconies over looking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We, a young couple, did a trip along the Garden Route and the Bayview Penthouses were our last stop. ...And what can you say...the best comes at last. From all the places we stayed at, the Penthouses were the best place. A really nice host, clean rooms and a view that is simply breathtaking. Everyone concidering staying here, please do youself a favour and book at least one more night than you planed to.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Smarch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Have stayed here several time over the last few years, often with my 85 year old mother, and enjoyed the location and facilities. However, the host, Gerald, spoiled our visit this year. My mother and I arrived at around 10am after an overnight flight from the UK and had hoped to get into our room earlier than the offcial check-in time of 2pm, having forewarned Bayview of our flight times. We were disappointed and frustrated to find that the previous guest had not only not checked out by the official check-out time of 11am but the manager informed us that the guests had requested a later check-out time! [When we mentioned this to Gerald, he denied it, off the cuff]. The manager offered the use of a couple of other rooms [which Gerald later refered to as 'an upgrade'] but we just wanted to settle into our room that we had booked several months in advance. My mother and I left to have a coffee and visit Cape Town. We returned at 4.15pm, in a rather shattered state, to find that out room was still not ready! By this time our host, Gerald, was present and told us our room would be ready in 10 minutes. Half an hour later we were still waiting [Gerald was now showing a new guest around, saw us still waiting, ignored us and continued with his new guest]. At this point we were fuming [please remember my mother is 85] and confronted Gerald who became a bit flustered in front of the new guest, apologised and, in desperation, offered a reduction in rent. We we not expecting a great welcome from Gerald [on the previous visit he welcomed my mother with a glass of luke warm tap water after her overnight trip! - not typical SA hosptality] but this was the worst. Anyway we eventually got in to our room and enjoyed our 5 night stay. Unfortunately, I had to meet Gerald to checkout. When I broached the subject of refund he grandly told me that he had changed his mind and would not be offering a refund [no surprise there!] but we should conclude our business as he 'was in a good mood and did not want to spoil it'!

We wont be going back - nice place, shame about the host.

Sandy Buchan

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayview Penthou... C, Owner at Bayview Penthouses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Mr. Buchan,

Although your rating does not reflect it, it is a little consolation that you stated in your review that you have “… enjoyed our 5 night stay”.

I think it is fair to assume that as a guest, who had stayed at Bayview Penthouses for the 5th time, your previous stays must have been a good experience for yourself and your mother, otherwise you would not have returned so many times.

Please allow me to highlight some facts:

You had in fact informed us that you would arrive earlier, but you did not book the room earlier to secure your early check in. On the other hand, you, however, suggested to our manager that the guests, who unauthorizedly checked out 5 hours after the check-out time had to pay for an extra night. Our manager had informed you that this was an extraordinary situation beyond our control, because your predecessors simply informed us in writing that they were leaving later and just left the room with the keys for the day without the confirmation of the reception. We frantically tried to get hold of them, but their phone was off.

When you arrived around 10am, our manager presented you with the following choices, all at no extra charge:
• An immediate and permanent check-in into a PENTHOUSE (yes, you were told it was an upgrade, the unit is 2.5 times larger than your room, it has a private balcony, stunning sea views and it is 50% more expensive than the Green Room) or
• A temporary check-in into the Penthouse and overnight stay there or
• A temporary stay in the Penthouse to freshen up until your room was ready. Our manager offered to personally take care of your luggage so all you had to do was to use the facilities of the Penthouse, rest and later take over your room or
• A temporary stay in our Seaview room until the Green room was ready

You refused all options offered and opted to head for town to bridge the time.
Let me please state it clearly:
You refused an early check in at no extra charge into an upgraded unit, an offer, which most guests would appreciate and see as an extraordinary service.

When the guests who had overstayed in the room had departed at 16:00, our staff immediately started cleaning.
When you arrived for the second time - our team was busy with your room - I offered you to wait in the lounge area and suggested that the room would soon be available. Unfortunately that took a little longer than expected. As you had already completed the paperwork, it was just a matter to take over your room after the cleaning.
I then proceeded to check in a new party, which had just arrived. When I passed you - and greeted you for the second time - you started attacking me personally in front of the new guests. I apologized again for the inconvenience, which fell onto deaf ears and you kept venting your anger. That went on for an extended period of time and it was most distressing, not only for myself but also for the new guests, whose check-in you chose to spoil as well. Eventually I suggested that we may discuss a discount later. I had not known at the time that you had refused the upgrade and the other options before.
When you had finished your attack, your mother emerged and repeated the accusations, mindless of the fact that the new guests had nothing to do with your problem and in fact asked you what I was supposed to do? That was ignored and the venting of your frustration kept on - including personal attacks on myself. At all times I remained friendly and calm.

After discussing all facts with my partner, staff and colleagues, we had come to the conclusion that your request for a further extra discount on top of the discount which we had already granted to you as a guest, who had come for the 5th time, was not justified.

Kind regards,
Gerald Zidek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

If you travel to cape town, go to camp bay and try bayview penthouse ! you will not regret your stay !
After a wonderful drive thru the hills on the top of camps bay, your guest will welcome you as if you were part of their family! truly welcoming, this nice couple will advise you the best restaurants, places to stay, with very good taste ! the house is huge ! we stayed in the green room, very cosy room, space, private outdoor garden, all services are great ! very clean, you can access to the living room and the swimming pool (extra towel for free ).
This place is very quiet, on the top of the hill, you'll have a pleasent stay in bayview penthouse, and you're close the each point of views !
Again, the house is nice, but the welcoming of the owners is unforgettable !
Thanks again for this good stay !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had the privilege of booking the Aquamarine room at Bayview Penthouses. The views were spectacular!!! We had a 180 degree view of the ocean and a 180 degree view of the 12 Apostles – what more could one ask for!! Try getting up to watch the sunrise from your bed, or a hot tub for two. Loved the outdoor area with its synthetic grass on the balcony and an indoor pool area with a spa. Happy to recommend this guest house!

Room Tip: Even the cheaper rooms are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey_naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed 4 or 5 nights at Bayview Penthouses and our stay couldn't have been better. The welcome and hospitality is unsurpassed. First we get upgraded to a penthouse as that was not booked when we were there, so the host (of German origin) suggested if we'd like that. No use in having that empty while we were there.. GREAT! The views are fantastic. Panoramic ocean view with the 12 apostles right behind you. Wifi worked fine most of the times. TV with a selection of channels allowed us to follow some of the Olympics in the evening. The host also had great suggestions for dinner both local in Camps Bay as well in the city. All suggestions were spot on! Camps bay is very central for all kinds of explorations you want both to the city as peninsula. You DO need a car to stay here. There is a bus stop nearby, but I'm sure it will take forever to get around.

Room Tip: All rooms we have seen are great and have ocean views. The penthouses have the best views and are si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterdenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Highly recommend staying here. The owners are very helpful and friendly.
The rooms were fantastic, view stunning and well priced.
I am glad we stayed here instead of the city itself!
Close enough to the shops and the village (car recommended) but far enough away to feel like a proper relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sea view room. There is a large living area just outside, which we had to ourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
294 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Blue Views Holiday Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Villa Atlantica Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Penthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Penthouses

Address: 40 Theresa Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: £72 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Penthouses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Penthouses offers stylish self-catering accommodation in Camps Bay, Cape Town. Set high on the slopes of the famous Twelve Apostles mountain range with spectacular sea views from the fully serviced spacious and immaculate penthouses and two double bedrooms. The Studio has mountain views. All units have air-conditioning, satellite TV, telephone, CD/DVD, safe, hairdryer and a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette. Relax at the outdoor swimming pool with views over Camps Bay. Broadband wireless internet throughout. Separate internet room. Serviced daily. Close to Cape Town City centre and V&A Waterfront.TGCSA 4-Star Self-Catering | German spoken | Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Penthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Penthouses Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing