We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but overpriced”
Review of TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT - CLOSED

TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice view but overpriced”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I visited last week to make use of the buy one get one free offer. If I am to be honest, I find the prices here way over the top for what you get, irrespective of the special offer. What I really find ridiculous is if ordering a steak (i had fillet) for R130 you have to pay xtra for a side ...otherwise all you are presented with is a steak on a plate. C'mon...I have been to MANY steak houses and even more affluent ones in the winelands etc... but I have never had to pay xtra for chips with a steak. The steak itself was very good and my wifes mussels were average...nothing outstanding. Honestly....not saying won't return but you definitely do not get good value here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel n, Owner at TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I agree most steakhouses do include sides but whilst we serve a lot of meat we are not a steakhouse - but an Italian , Seafood, Mediterranean style Camps Bay , beachfront restaurant .
We separate our sides to give diners the choice to order or not , even to share a side dish, thus not paying for it if they dont want it..
I see you paid R130 for the fillet plus R22 for chips , thats R 152 inclusive , bear in mind that your partner dined free .
We run these 2 for 1 specials for 5 months over winter , mainly for our locals , i really do think that the R 152 you paid for 2 meals is pretty good value .
One thing i would like to add that at steakhouses in general , there are no specials offered .
You could have also ordered from our Special Winter Menu and had a steak at either
R79 for 200g or R99 for 300 g INCLUDING any side of your choice , but then the 2 for 1 would not apply.
Sorry , but either way i reckon thats a pretty good deal for our location where rents are extremely high in relation to normal suburban / town venues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    78
    51
    33
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cosy and well priced”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were unsure where to eat on our 1st night in Camps Bay and were just having a stroll along the "strip" when we were approached by a member of staff for this restaurant and asked if we would like to have a look at the menu.
He was a very amusing chap and after checking the menu,we decided to give it a try.
The food was delicious,service was good and the prices were extremely reasonable.A bottle of "Splattered Toad" wine complimented the meal and amused us with it's name and picture on the label!
Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tobee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel n, Owner at TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Tobee 888
Thanks so much for your great review and comments , it means so much to myself and my staff
when we see happy customers - thanks again
Nigel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The service and food here was just average. I tried to order 4 different cocktails from their menu before finding one they actually had the ingredients in stock to make. I had to flag down our server repeatedly to ask for more drinks. The food was just average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DISGRACEFUL RIP OFF”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

An absolutely wonderful location with the worse food I have ever had. Such a pity that they occupy a prime spot beachfront spot! Unsuspecting tourists & visitors frequent this establishment but is bound to leave with a bad view of what Camps Bay has to offer. Their 'discount' meals attract poor quality clientele.
Cleaning the restaurant thoroughly and employing better quality staff would be an improvement to start with. Tackling the kitchen and the inferior indifferent food being served should be a priority.
Blame should be laid at the door of the owner of this establishment for procuring the worse quality products for the kitchen.
When you complain to management, it is met with complete indifference!! SHAME on the owner for dragging down the reputation of the area. Given his attitude, these negative rating will probably mean nothing.
A very unhappy Camps Bay resident.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel n, Owner at TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
As the owner i do try and respond positively and resolve any objective constructive criticism. But when a customer goes all out to attempt to slander a restaurant in every manner and post comments that are both untrue and unfounded , its very difficult not to show emotion or displeasure.
We are only human , serving thousands of guests each year , we cannot always please everyone and we can make a mistake .
Our normal policy is to try and resolve and attend to any problem or complaint during their dining . Customers are continually checked on during service by either myself, waiters or my manager.
Its quite amazing how the previous customer who previously posted his review below complaining with "everything wrong" , were all smiles and happiness during their meal , one of his party even commented how delicious their meal was , suddenly changed when he got the bill !!
We run winter specials and/ or groupon deals every year for our locals and visitors alike , I would think they would not take kindly to being termed by you as :
" POOR QUALITY CLIENTELE " - Madam as a local yourself , how can you print this !!

As to your comments that we serve " inferior indifferent food and procure the worst quality products for the kitchen " - this is completely preposterous !!
Our meat is AAA Karan beef ordered from only 2 major suppliers that supply most upmarket restaurants and 5 star hotels in Cape Town ; Government registered veal ; fresh fish sourced daily from large local wholesalers ; fresh veg and bread delivered daily and most of our dry goods are of recognized branded names ; our chips Macanns .

The furniture you sat on is less than 7 months old , we have just finished our yearly repaint and retiled certain areas , we employ 6 cleaners daily but with 40 seats outside and 100 plus inside and a cocktail bar , with customer and waiter continual traffic up and down the restaurant and toilets , is a never ending job cleaning , mopping etc .
Our kitchen is open to public view , its extremely compact with 9 chefs and cooks continually preparing , cooking and plating food , so it may appear messy or untidy at times - but its not " DIRTY " - please !!
We even employ 2 late night staff to clean and shrub the kitchen every night .
Most restaurants have a closed kitchen - you would be astonished at what can go on there unseen.
Sure there are cheaper places to eat in CT but not with the view , beach , sunsets and location of Camps Bay , but with rents of R450 / m2 , unfortunately we must all here charge as we do , being a tourist and visitor destination mainly during season , we do try and accomodate and give back something to our locals during winter .
There have been over 10 restaurants close up mainly due to very high rents charged in Camps Bay over the last 18 years we have traded here.
Regards
Nigel ( Owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Discussed, Rip Off!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a lovely walk up table mountain our group of 7 decided to end our day with a seafood meal in Camps Bay. Not knowing what Capmps Bay have to offer we searched on our smart phones and read the specials at Tuscany Beach Restaurant. R110Avg meal and the running special of eat one and partner eat for free. WARNING!!!! This is one big lie! The average meal cost R150 to R200 and the cheapest meal of the two will be for free. For this price you will get served a tiny portion of calamari and small line fish and your starch will be charged extra! The quality of the food is poor, small portion, bad presentation and the place is dirty! The bill was ridiculously expensive even after we had 3meals for free and we were still hungry. I will not recommend this place and will never go here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeleenmunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel n, Owner at TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
When i get a customer such as this i actually question why i am still in the restaurant business after 23 years .
He obviously cannot find anything else to complain about but " SIR" let me explain the correct facts -
Theres no "rip off " and no " Lies" here . Our advertising clearly states our 2 for 1 special is only for main meals ordered from only our Normal a la carte Menu.
In addition we have a separate Special Winters menu , which was offered to you , where we offer pizza and pastas plus a steak dish and calamari dish with sides at heavily reduced discounted prices ( up to 45 %off ) - On this menu the 2 for 1 does NOT APPLY - if i had to give this as well, i might as well pack up and close shop !!!!!
But more than this, Daryll your waiter happens to be my most senior, Head waiter and you were clearly explained the specials and how they both operate when you arrived ,
These have been running since 1st May and yours is the first complaint of this nature.
Your party of 7 , 6 of you eating did however contain one dish from our Special menu
(already discounted menu ) , 5 of you ate of the main menu .
We deducted 2 main meals from your bill ,which was legally correct ,but because of your actions , complaints and to avoid any further basic unpleasantness at the table , my Manager deducted a further dish from your final bill, thus making 3 meals discounted .
Your total discount was R 285 , more than that , i might as well offer my blood !!

You even complained that we added 10 % waiters gratuity which is on tables of 6 or more
again clearly indicated on our Menu.

As to your other comments , i will not even give you the satisfaction or attempt to comment on these, quite unfounded and without foundation.

Your total bill of R712.00 for 6 persons , including drinks on Camps Bay beachfront , i reckon is more than fair and reasonable , take a trip to Spur and just see what you will pay .
NIGEL , OWNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TUSCANY BEACH RESTAURANT also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing