We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spend time”
Review of Boutique @ 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutique @ 10
Ranked #1 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend time”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Had a great time with Jennifer and David , they and the staff provided a wonderful environment , above and beyond breakfast and a friendly environment where they would assist with any issues we had. Will definitely recommend and hope to,return

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
422
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Boutique@10's high TA ranking is well deserved and accomplished through the care and hard work of everyone there.

10 Medburn Rd is not one of the nouveau-modern vacation houses springing up over Camps Bay but one of the original houses built on the hillside in the 1950's. While the house was expanded by David and Jennifer the renovation seemlessly matched the original house with achitectural materials salvaged from other historic properties.

As the original owners had their pick of places to build their house on the then empty hillside, the house is well positioned at the center of the bay with views of the ocean from everywhere you stand in the house.

The property offers gated off street parking. If you have ever had to replace the window of a rental car you will know why this is important!

The breakfasts were fantastic with things like eggs, omelets, french toast. These were not offered from a menu but a "If you can name it, and we have the ingredients, we will make it" approach to breakfast. As we stayed nine nights I soon ran out of ideas and left it up to David, Tash and Baba who would come up with a different idea every morning, some I had never heard of like a peppadew omelet or David's "african bacon" french toast.

Nothing is too much trouble. When they asked what kind of bread I liked, I said that I prefered the high sugar cheap white supermarket bread, and the next morning a loaf turned up. Days that we left very early Jennifer and David would lay out a breakfast for us so we still had time to eat before we left.

They had a large supply of South African wines and beer as well as a stockpile of CD's and concert DVD's which made for some excellent sundowners.

As Jennifer grew up in Camps Bay, and David has lived there for many years, they are a great source for logistics, as well as tips on things to see and do in Cape Town.

Jennifer and David had no trouble getting us taxis in the evening, including the Pink Cab Company as well as the black UK cabs.

We stayed here for nine nights and were sorry we couldn't stay longer!

Here's a tip we found: Don't book lodging in multiple locations such as Stellenbosh, Cape Town and Hermanus. All these locations are a short drive from each other. Stay at one base (like Boutique@10!) and drive out in the morning for the day.

Room Tip: The top two suites are probably the best rooms, with the ocean suite having the larger bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doggles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our week at Boutique 10 could not have been better! Jennifer and David are truly wonderful hosts and went that extra mile every day to make sure we were well looked after. There are two decks, with a pool on the lower one and sea views from both. Our suites were excellent, the views amazing, and the staff of Tasha, Baba and Tito made our stay so comfortable. David is a great chef - the breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for the ultimate in luxury, service and location this is the place to choose in Camps Bay. A perfect finish to our short SA trip, can't recommend it highly enough. Breakfast on the deck overlooking Camps Bay has to be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edin5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

First visit to the Cape so very unsure where to stay. 10 is ideally situated if you want easy and quick access to the city but at the same time be in a quiet and very beautiful location. The walk down to the beach area is about 15 mins and from there you are spoilt for restaurant choice. The circular bus into and around Capetown can be picked up there too. Run by a a very welcoming couple who go far out of their way to be helpful - from a quick tour of the local sites to writing off our small bar bill! The web site shows the house and grounds perfectly and I cannot add more.

Room Tip: We had one of the top floor suites which possibly had better views but from what we could see all we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop during a three week holiday in South Africa. We stayed four nights. We were made to feel welcome from the first moment. Great room with terrace overlooking Camps Bay and wonderful breakfasts with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, toast etc and sundowners sometimes with our gracious hosts. As we had to check out in the morning before a late evening flight we were really glad at the offer of a shower using our hosts' own bathroom!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montepegotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had the opportunity to be indulged in sheer luxury in the most gorgeous homely guest house that we have ever stayed in! The host and hostess and their staff couldnt do enough for us and catered for our every need. We had the most peaceful sleep and opened our windows to award winning views of the beach and the magnificent atlantic ocean. All bedrooms seem to have beautiful uninterrupted views. Breakfast on the terrace was memorable and a treat for the senses. At breakfast we spoke to the other guests who were all loving their stay there too. its very casual and we felt so relaxed there. We would definitely retun and would highly recommend. This surely was the highlight of our stay in Cape Town. Jennifer and David we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cav075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique @ 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique @ 10

Property: Boutique @ 10
Address: 10 Medburn Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique @ 10 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique at 10 is unique accommodation located on the edge of Camps Bay's central ravine. We are perfectly centered above Camps Bay Beach, with full view of the white beach sands being swept clean by the blue Atlantic Ocean. All this coupled with uninterrupted panoramic views of the coastal landscape and ocean, from north to south, as far as the eye can see, yet only a 10-15 minute walk down to Camps Bay Beach and its famous restaurant strip.Positioned in the heart of Camps Bay on the Atlantic Seaboard, the Boutique is just a 5 minute drive to the Table Mountain Cable Car Station, 10 minute drive to Cape Town CBD and V&A Waterfront, 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and a leisurely and scenic drive to the Cape of Good Hope, the Cape Wine lands and the many beautiful golf courses that the Cape has to offer.The boutique style villa, a blend of Swiss chalet and beach cottage, originally built in 1955 and remodeled 35 years later by its second and current owners, David Beach and Jennifer, features 4 spacious and ocean-facing guest suites. The Boutique features an open and spacious design, which leans towards old school, with a variety of rich woods, french doors, large arched windows, brass wall lamps and the original wrought-iron balustrade which were, with great care, removed from the historical Sea Point President Hotel, that was demolished back in the early '90s.To ensure guests comfort, all suites, which are serviced daily, include 32-40 inch LCD flat screens, complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity, air-conditioning for room climate control, electronic safes, hair dryers, tea and coffee trays and en-suites with shower and/or bath. Three of the guest suites feature beds that can be made into two singles or a king, while the Ocean Suite offers a stylish, king-size wooden sleigh bed, designed and hand crafted by a good friend. All are draped in pure white linen and splashed with colourful hand painted throws, extra length pillows, scatter cushions and are dressed with goose down duvets and flat sheets.Sliding glass doors lead to a large common outdoor balcony for the Ocean and Lions Head Suites on the upper level. The Deck Suite opens up to the main pool deck and the Beach Suite has a private entrance and private garden patio. Both are located on the main level of the house and can accommodate a third single bed upon request.A healthy breakfast of coffee or tea, fresh juice, toast and cereals, eggs, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt and seasonal fruit, is served in the open plan guest lounge which flows onto the main wooden pool deck making a spacious and inviting area in which to eat and lounge. Five large double doors open up from the lounge onto the pool deck to allow nature's beauty, the fresh ocean breeze and the sounds of birds to blend into the essence of pleasure and relaxation which is Boutique at 10.The popular guest lounge, with the original stone wall and rustic fireplace, warms the body on cool evenings ... while a glass of Cape wine warms the soul ...You may just never want to leave ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boutique @ 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique @ 10 Hotel Camps Bay
Boutique @ 10 Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing