We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a beautiful B and B.”
Review of 61 On Camps Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
61 On Camps Bay
Ranked #29 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a beautiful B and B.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for two weeks, we felt very welcome and the staff were very hospitable. It was spotlessly clean, and very modern . The breakfast was lovely with a continental breakfast along with eggs and freshly baked muffins. Would surprised this was only a three star as was so modern and had a lovely pool. Felt like home and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: for a good view stay in a ground floor room . If you want easy access to the pool stay downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyThompsonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Tracey

It was fantastic to meet your Family. We hope you will come visit us again.
We are clearly lucky to have such wonderful Guests stay at 61 On Camps Bay Guesthouse.

Big hug to all
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
61
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent, clean, very friendly and helpful. Bookings and enquiries were happily made on your behalf. Breakfast good, home made muffins and eggs speciality of the day. Well positioned for touring the outskirts of Cape Town with a hire car. Equally easy to get or get on the red or blue bus trip into CT.

Room Tip: Go for upstairs sea view as opposed to pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It was wonderful having your Family stay with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to Cape Town.
Keep well till then

Best regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Super-nice, clean, homely place with the sweetest host ever. I loved the white theme of the room (see pics), nice location with see view but not at the sea (will be ideal during summer holidays). I look forward to staying here again soon. If there's anything I didn't like, well, I felt that the breakfast was overcooked and the heater struggled to keep up with the winter chill, even though it wasn't terribly cold. Still, I would love to stay here again, because it so feels like a home.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank osigenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a homely review.

Your photos are also much appreciated. Future Guests will find your review most helpful.
We look forward to having you stay with us on your next Cape Town visit.

Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff. From the time I walked in the door to the time I left I felt like I was staying in a big house with family. The breakfast was beautifully spread out with a nice variety of cold and hot breakfast. Staff was very accommodating in every way. Kind and helpful. Very clean. Location was amazing. I was lucky enough to be a part of the Global Designs for women travel in April, I also want to include a thank you for the gentleman that lives in Camps Bay, I apologize that I did not get his name. You all went above and beyond. I cannot say enough about your beautiful B&B and the beautiful people of South Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guesthouse.
It was wonderful to have met you and we trust your Global Designs Tour was fabulous.
We missed all the Ladies at breakfast time after you left. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with at 61 On Camps Bay.
We hope to see you again, till then keep well.
King regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I recently hosted 5 ladies on a 10 night tour of South Africa. Our first stop was 61 on Camps where we spent 4 nights. Yvonne and Tamara were absolutely amazing! From our first meeting to continued correspondence prior to the trip, these ladies were on top of everything. They went above and beyond to ensure my guests had a fantastic experience. The property is divine, rooms are bright, airy, and very clean. The fantastic staff ensured our needs were met at all times. The location cannot be beat. I will be returning to Cape Town in November with another group of ladies and look forward to returning to 61 on Camps! Thank you ladies for such a memorable experience..

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous but of course the ocean view rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalattitude2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you Global Designs, for putting together such a fabulous trip for your Ladies.
It was wonderful to meet them all. We are looking forward to your next visit to 61 On Camps Bay. Keep well till then and we hope lots of Ladies book holidays through your fantastic company.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at 61 On Camps Bay in Feb. The room was big, clean, airy and white bedding which is my kind of room! There was also a fridge and microwave in the room, and the use of beach towels on request. We had a pool room which was nice but think a balcony room would have been better for the amazing sunsets. There was a slight traffic noise but if you closed the windows you couldn't really hear anything. The breakfast was good with cereals, home made cakes / biscuits, fruit and a choice of eggs. A nice bonus was that they had a honesty bar so you could help yourself to wine / beer in the evening which was very welcome after a long day of sightseeing! Especially as you cant buy alcohol from any shops in Camps Bay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when our tour guide was late! The location is good, 10 minutes walk down the hill to Camps bay beach and restaurants, there is also the best steak restaurant I have been to in the opposite direction. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review.
The steaks at the Hussar Grill are legendary.
We hope to see you again on a future holiday.
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved it, I couldn't fault it one bit. It was perfectly situated. just a 10min drive from the beautiful city of Cape Town. The staff were always friendly and the owner who was there every morning went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Would definitely go back and would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61oncampsbay, Manager at 61 On Camps Bay, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review. It was wonderful to have met your Family.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cape Town.
Keep well till then
Kind regards
Tamara and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Finchley Guesthouse
Finchley Guesthouse
#20 of 54 in Camps Bay
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachside
Beachside
#30 of 54 in Camps Bay
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#24 of 54 in Camps Bay
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
0.0 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61 On Camps Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61 On Camps Bay

Property: 61 On Camps Bay
Address: 61 Camps Bay Drive | across the road from steps leading down to Bali Beach, Camps Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 61 On Camps Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
61 On Camps Bay a three star luxury guest house is situated across the road from the steps leading down to the quiet and secluded Bali Beach. 61 On Camps Bay is within easy walking distance to the picturesque Camps Bay beach with its trendy sidewalk café’s.Our rooms with their beach house decor are bright spacious and all open onto either a balcony area or pool area.61 On Camps Bay is only a few minutes drive from the V & A Waterfront, the city centre, the world famous Clifton beaches, Table Mountain Cable Car and Robben Island to mention a few.61 On Camps Bay consists of 4 en-suite bedrooms with fabulous sea facing view and patio area, where you can enjoy the famous Camps Bay sunsets, And 3 pool facing rooms which lead onto the pool area.61 On Camps Bay has two rooms with a kitchenette that can sleep either 2 or 3 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your 61 On Camps Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61 On Camps Bay Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing