We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite hit the mark”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Didn't quite hit the mark”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We got a good discount on the rack rate and enjoyed the stay in what is a very decent hotel in a super location. It just lost any chance of being classy when they wanted to charge me for some peanuts in the bar and when they restricted the use of the wi-fi. I'm probably just being picky.

Room Tip: we had sea view room but because they were on the first floor we had to peer carefully through the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Steve W. Many thanks for your honest feedback. We welcome all contructive criticism, as it helps us improve our service delivery. We are however delighted to hear that both the hotel and the location were enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back to The Bay Hotel in the near future. Warm regads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    262
    145
    58
    51
See reviews for
131
633
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have never experienced more terrible service at a hotel that claims to be a 5 star property.

Let me give you a few examples:
--We had to ask in person and call twice to get our room cleaned, over two days. The hotel claimed we had a sign on our door saying "do not disturb". We had 1) taken the sign off, 2) called reception twice to ask for a cleaning and 3) asked a cleaning lady in person in the hallway. We received no response and no cleaning for over 24 hours
--When the room was finally serviced, we were not given toilet paper or shampoo
--The second day when our room was cleaned, we finally did receive toilet paper and shampoo, but the shampoo bottle was half used, dirty and had another guest's fingerprints on it
--Hotel reception could never be bothered to order us taxis and instead insisted we use their overpriced cars. We did not want to use a taxi with a hotel's name on it for various reasons, including safety
--We were charged for several items we never used and were never told about the charges
--When I tried to pay the bill at the end of our horrible stay, they tried to charge me the wrong amount for the room - apparently it was their "computer issues" again
--We complained to the Assistant Manager, Mark, who instead of treating us fairly, starting yelling at my friend
--I tried to speak to the Manager on several occasions and was never able to, nor was I contacted by email afterwards as I requested
--One of the service ladies spoke disparagingly about my friend in Afrikaans, assuming she could not understand her

I could go on and on, but that should give you a taste for our stay. The only saving grace was one nice woman at reception (who unfortunately was on holiday for most of our stay) and the man in charge of breakfast, who was lovely.

I will never stay at this hotel property again given everything I have written above, nor do I recommend that anyone does!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear PBOM. We are most concerned to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay at our hotel - and would like to offer you our sincerest apologies. We pride ourselves on the standard of our service and have carried out a full investigation to determine how we could have fallen short on so many of these issues. Regretfully they were not brought to the attention of our management during the course of your stay, at which time, I am sure, you would have received prompt attention and the problems encountered by you could have been resolved to your entire satisfaction. We thank you for your detailed comments and can advise that they have been referred to our senior management. We are, however, firmly of the opinion that your experience is exceptional and does not conform to the norm at the hotel. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have to mention one employee - he stood out as an exceptional example of someone who loves his work and he made every morning special. I think his name is Hode? The big gentleman serving breakfast. Certainly a huge asset to your establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear Janine O. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel and restaurant. Your comments are most appreciated and have been passed onto to Holi and his team. We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

No need to say too much about the The Bay that hasn't been said before. The place oozes class. The location is amazing, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the Sunday DJ sessions are the best way to spend a day in the sunshine. Pricey but worth every penny

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear pmclondon. Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy using the hotel and look forward to welcoming back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I had a few treatments at the spa before going to Europe on holiday. The room i was in was dirty, there was a leak from the ceiling and a puddle of water on the floor. It was also very cold. There was no nice warm and relaxing ambiance in the room as i always have in other spas. My treatments including leg waxing were not the best as i noticed a few days later that my legs had not been waxed properly. I certainly would not recommend their spa. It is more expensive than others and not as good

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Nadd52. Thank you for your constructive comments of your experience at our Spa. Clearly we were not performing to our normal standards that day and for that we sincerely apologise - you will be happy to know that as a result of your feedback we have implimented the necessary changes to improve this service. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you on your return to SA. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Booked as part of a Groupon deal, we were stunned by this property.... in a very good way. From the front desk staff, to the bell man, to the wait staff: the people who work here represent their brand and South Africa in the best way. The rooms are nothing short of amazing. Our two rooms overlooked the ocean and beach and were breath taking. The selection at Breakfast was wonderful. (R100-150 if not included in your stay.) Fruit, yougurt, smoked meats and fish, hot breakfast choices. Our son loved the Full breakfast and hot chocolate. (Full fat milk is popular with the young man!) Good coffee too! Nice fitness center and lovely spa!

The beds were comfortable and the pillows of an excellent quality. The staff made up our son's room at night and left him water by the bed and a turn down treat. He was in love. We were too. We'd stay again in a second!!!!!! Go to Camps Bay and stay at The Bay Hotel for a few days of pampering and luxury.

As a side, the hotel is in an area with many restaurants, a Pick and Pay a block away and the Hop on Hop off bus out front!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Kathip03. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us - and our team were delighted to read your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Loved my time here! We stayed four nights and had breakfast every morning and Holi, our waiter each day was a joy. He says he has the best office in the world and I know what he means. He looks out at the Atlantic each day as did our room. It was nice to hear the waves at night and watch the sunset from our balcony. Also, the sightseeing tour bus has a stop across the street so it was easy to get around with a hop on/hop off pass. I particularly enjoyed putting in my pillow order with about six options to choose from! The turn down service includes luscious chocolate and there is a little complimentary glass container of milk in the honor bar fridge for in-room coffee. I would have stayed longer if I could.

Room Tip: Stayed during the winter and it was quiet. Not sure how loud the pool area is during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Bethleen. On behalf of the management team at The bay hotel we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were met. It is always good to hear about the "good service" so many of our people carry out on a regular basis and will certainly convey your comments to Holi. We certainly hope to welcome back to the hotel one day soon. Warm regards, Graeme Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing