We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, in beautiful location”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel, in beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at The Bay Hotel from 27th September for 5 nights. A spectacular hotel, and a real pleasure to stay in. Our room was a Premier Sea View room on the 2nd floor, and we had the fabulous view of the sea at sunset. Breakfast was wonderful, with such a selection I have never seen before. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is just perfect. If I had 1 small criticism it would be the location of the restaurant which was situated in the hotel lobby, and felt a bit of an after-thought. If it was relocated to the breakfast room, this would be so much better. All in all however we had 5 wonderful nights in The Bay Hotel, and would without hesitatation go back there again, and highly recommend to anyone. Thank you for a truly memorable stay x

Room Tip: Premier Sea View rooms are spectacular with views overlooking the sea you get the best views especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyTiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear TraceyTiney. On behalf of all of us at hotel we would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your stay in Camps Bay - thank you also for your comments with regard to our restaurant. We look forwared to welcoming back in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    262
    145
    58
    51
See reviews for
129
633
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very good location for tourists. Right across from the beach and surrounded by excellent pubs, restaurants & shopping. Rooms were nice with good service. The lobby of such a nice and big hotel deserves better decor. The breakfast buffet was only meal we had while staying here and it was awesome.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool if you want quiet. You get a good discount for mountain facing rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumantkachru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear sumantkachru. Many thanks for your comments and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are most pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here january 2010, and again january 2012. Great hotel in a great location, though i do feel it's over priced - but so is every thing in camps bay!
This hotel will always be special to me as this is where we got engaged, drinking poncratz as the african sun set.
The rooms are very nice, we stayed in mountain view rooms as we only use them to sleep, shower etc.
What really made this place special is the staff, they can't do enough for you, especially the little guy that runs the cigar bar, and the waiter at breakfast, his name escapes me - but i want to say patrick.
If you stay here and are going into cape town for dinner, don't get a taxi, use the hotel porche and driver - doesn't cost much more.
The only negatives i can say are that both times we stayed the pool temp has been heart stopping cold, and the hotel now offers a beach club style membership (which is cheap) so the pool area can be over run by non residents.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherenext1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Wherenext1980. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our hotel and staff members. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. Just for your future visits, our main pool deck has always been for the exclusive use of hotel guests only and a new solar heating system has been installed to heat the main swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this hotel and again it was fantastic! We really couldn't fault anything about this hotel! It's right on the beach and only a short drive from the waterfront. We will hopefully return soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Sinclair7. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you had such a fantastic stay and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Having just returned from my first trip to Africa in 25 years I feel I have to write and say what a wonderful time I had

I was very lucky to be staying at the Bay Hotel, which was a personal recommendation by a travel service, who were arranging a two week trip for me to Africa finishing in Cape Town

The Bay Hotel was wonderful from the arrival, to the end of my stay, the staff were all very welcoming and helpful. The service was excellent nothing was too much for them and any problem or question I had was answered quickly and efficiently.

The location is breathtaking - the Atlantic waves crashing on the beach were spectacular.
if you get the opportunity to go I would say GO as it is the place to relax and enjoy Camps bay at it's best, it is a great base to enjoy Cape Town from.

The only poor point was, that on one side of the hotel is a playing ground for football which was used every night until 10pm, when I commented to a member of the staff they offered to change rooms for me without me even having to ask!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone, although there's not much for the kids to do except use the pool but all adults would enjoy themselves.

Room Tip: either sea or mountain views are good Side next to pitch noisier than otherside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlcOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear jlc Oxford. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very happy to note that you so enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your comment with regards to the Sports Club is also noted, the good news is that the Football season ends at the end of September. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My parents visited South Africa earlier this year and asked me to submit this report on their behalf:

In June of this year we were lucky enough to spend three days in Cape Town, as part of a special trip organised by our children to celebrate our 65th and 70th birthdays.

Our hotel in Cape Town was The Bay Hotel at Camps Bay and the location could not be more ideal, being situated almost on the beach at the front, and with superb mountain views from the rear. Our rooms were spacious, immaculately furnished and decorated, and scrupulously clean, and the pool was beautifully laid out and inviting even in the winter months! The Staff could not have been more helpful, not only advising on places to visit, but arranging the necessary transport.

We were booked in on a Bed and Breakfast basis and fully intended to eat out in the evenings. However, on our first day, having endured a long over-night flight and a most enjoyable trip up Table Mountain in the afternoon, none of our Party were particularly keen to go out, and so we decided to try the Hotel Restaurant. This was one of the best decisions of our whole holiday. Not only was the food of excellent quality but extremely good value. In fact we were so impressed that we "ate in" every night for the remainder of our stay.

The staff had found out is was a special trip for us and provided a cake and champagne as a special treat which was gratefully received!

We can't thank all the staff enough for all they did to make this trip truly unforgettable, and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in or near Cape Town!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the Premier Sea Rooms are well worth paying extra for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Sidicks. We are thrilled to hear that your parents really enjoyed their recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind feedback, it is wonderful to know that they valued all aspects of their stay in the hotel and had such a memorable experience. We sincerely hope to welcome them back to stay with us again in the future. With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hotel is beautiful and Camps Bay is a dream destination. The breakfast is a heavenly experience with an amazing view and one of the best I have ever had. Service is excellent and staff is super friendly and helpful. All in all a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: I am a sucker for an ocean view, because when you open the door you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Dalien D. On behalf of our entire team at The Bay Hotel we would like to thank you for your very positive feedback. We are most pleased to hear that your expectations were met and that our service and staff contributed so wonderfully to your overall stay. We hope you will be able to visit again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing