We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negatives and Positives”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Negatives and Positives”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband, 2 teenage boys, Father-in-law and his companion visited this hotel for a few nights over Christmas.

The hotel is bigger than it looks in the brochures/photos and is situated on the main frontage of Camps Bay Beach where there is a busy road between the hotel and beach. Be warned that during the winter months, it can be extremely windy, sons tried to have a swim in the sea but it'x very cold as it's the Atlantic and with the strong winds, they described their experience as similar to "being pebble-dashed"!

The hotel itself is clean and well presented. The beverage manager, bistro manager and Graham, the main manager are extremely pleasant and very helpful, so are some of the reception staff and the drivers/guides that work for the hotel.

It's just a shame that whilst there's smiles and promises to look at issues or book drivers and cars, the reception then forget you've even had a conversation with them and just apologise profusely which isn't any good when you need to be somewhere that you've pre-arranged such as a prepaid trip, an example of this is the night before we were due to visit Robbin Island, I spoke at great lengths to one of the receptionists about booking a driver and car to take us (the next morning) to the V & A harbour so we could board our ferry - at the same time, asking for quotes for other potential trips, it was all very pleasant and "no problem" etc until the next morning, when the reception staff could not find out booking in the book!

Christmas Evening Dinner was a huge disappointment - the staff although very smiley, were not particularly attentive, pre-dinner drinks were given out to some but we ended up helping ourselves. We noted that we had side plates for bread rolls which we could see other tables had but we were never offered them. The inbetween course of sorbet didn't materialised until we said something to a waiter and then they appeared at the end of the main course - melted. Two of our party were delayed eating the main meal with the rest of the family, one had been given the wrong order and the other did not have their food properly cooked to order. By the time, these two main dishes appeared, the rest of the family had finished their meal! In all honesty, it was not a brilliant meal for Christmas Evening. We did complain and Graham the manager gave us a reduction on the dinner bill - but what a shame it all happened.

Breakfast is great - food plentiful. but the staff don't really appear with it apart from the very friendly and smiling lady manager - the rest of the staff appear uneasy and look as though they don't particularly want to be there.

It's a real disappointment that the service is lacking with some of the staff - whilst they all agree with you and nod, there appears to be little action taken to rectify something or get themselves organised.

The swimming pools are small but clean - not heated so they are very cold initially. There are plenty of sunbeds around but you sometimes have to wait for towels.

The Wi-Fi is another pain as you're only entitled to so much a day and it's hit and miss whether it works in the rooms or anywhere else around the hotel. When it does work, it's incredibly slow. The keycards often don't work so you have to keep going back to reception to get it re-working - apparently if they're near mobiles etc, it wipes the information on them.

Mineral water is free as you're not able to drink the tap water BUT be warned, if you eat in the Bistro, you're charged for mineral water!!! But not in the first floor restaurant or when you request further bottles from housekeeping.

After we left this hotel, Derrick, one of their drivers drove us to Harbour House in Hermanus which is one of their sister hotels. Derrick is an extremely good driver and very pleasant and was also taking us to the airport after our Hermanus stay. Whilst there, I realised that I'd left my adaptor and ipad charger in our room at The Bay - what a shame it took 3 days for the staff to locate it - lots of chasing telephone calls where the answer would be "we can't find it" until Graham the manager stepped in and lo and behold, managed to find it! Derrick was able to bring the items with him when he came to take us back to the airport.

Would I stay again - probably not which is a shame as it's in a great location and there are some great staff there but unfortunately the others let it all down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chui-Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Chui-Ling. Thank you for your comprehensive review of the hotel, and for commending some of our staff. We are truly sorry that your expectations were not met in all areas and that your overall experience was less than satisfactory. These are not the standards we set out to give our guests, and we will be addressing all of the issues with the relevant staff. We do hope that despite this, we shall again have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and assure you of our best intentions. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    261
    145
    58
    50
See reviews for
128
629
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stunning hotel but sadly let down by the seemly untrained reception staff. The ambience of the hotel is fabulous, rooms thoughtfully designed, the art work around the hotel is superb. The staff, in the main, were helpful and friendly.
The only flaw in our stay was the complete incompetence of the 2 young ladies on reception. Charming and polite but completely out of their depth. Unfortunately, we had to resort to involving the duty manager to expedite the most simple of requests. The hotel would benefit from employing an experienced concierge instead of expecting, possibly over stretched, junior staff to deal with things beyond their expertise.
However, these irritations didn't spoil our stay, as overall we had a great stay, including a very lively New Year's Eve function at the hotel. Having breakfast served until 1 o'clock every day is a fantastic idea and plenty of beds around the pools was a blessing.
If the reception issue could be addressed then this would be a hotel to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 434, a suite that has a true wow factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear lovetravel54. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, and for your constructive input. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you were subjected to by our front office staff and assurances that the necessary remedial action will be taken. We are happy to note that your stay in the hotel was enjoyable in most respects, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at the hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on the 2nd of January, unfortunately they could not find our booking since we made the booking for the 2nd of December, totally our fault.
I don't expect them to give my money back, but I do expect some service. They just told me that the Hotel was fully booked. When I asked them if I could use the internet to find another hotel, the lady told me it's only for hotelguests.
A piece of advice, take the money that you got from my booking and Invest in a service&hospitality education for the frontdesk, or promote Yasuf and his friend at the gate. They know how to deal with guests and deliver good service.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lundgrencarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear lundgrencarl. We were most upset to learn that upon your arrival at the hotel we could not accommodate you due to the incorrect dates made on your behalf. The hotel would have been very happy to assist you during your stay in Cape Town but unfortunately, due to it being our peak season, the hotel was fully booked. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to The Bay Hotel and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My son and I recently spent 8 nights at The Bay. It is a picturesque hotel with a view of both Table Mountain and the Atlantic Ocean. Unfortunately, the serenity of the hotel is disturbed by the copious amounts of bars on either side of the property. The room was lovely, however more attention can be placed on housekeeping - towels were not always in room after cleaning, toiletries not replaced. The biggest disappointment is the 250MB voucher given for wifi and that sometimes the wifi was not strong enough in the room. Although I tried to find the 'complimentary wireless hotspot', I was advised by the front desk that I would still have to use my voucher. For the amount of money charged per room, and in today's age, wifi should be complimentary. The breakfast buffet was fabulous as well as the selection of hot dishes. It was wonderful that the breakfast menu was open until 1pm which gave an opportunity for a later start if needed. Lunch was also good but we found the menu lacking for dinner and therefore had to leave the property. The Front Desk Manager was able to correct a problem with the spa bill as well as fix a double charge for the Christmas Eve dinner. There are a large number of loungers by the pools so no need of rushing out in the morning and the towels were readily available. For customer service, there are a few things that need correcting before I would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Lmombo. Thank you for posting your review after your recent visit to the hotel, and for your constructive criticisms. Your comments and observaions are noted and that your expectations were not completely met during your stay. We do hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the future and assure you of our best attention at all times. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

To start off we got picked up in a Porsche then we settled down to friendly and helpful staff great food and atmosphere. As it was so good we came back a second day and loved it agin, not only was it great but the manager let us sit outside and enjoy the sun overall great hotel would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Jeffybaby. Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

On arrival we received a warm welcome by the friendly staff. Or room was not ready straight away but the staff took our bags and got us a coffee while we waited.

After a short wait we were taken to our room. Room was lovely, clean and had everything you needed. TV, DVD player, mini bar and coffee machine etc. We had a balcony which over looked main pool and also the bay which was great. When we arrived in our room as well, there was a bottle of champagne on ice as a gift from the hotel as it was our honeymoon. A lovely touch and much enjoyed!!

Breakfast was impressive and was served until 1pm which meant no rush in the morning. Great selection of food and accommodating staff

Lots of spaces by pool with 2 pools and food and drink service, but pool water was very cold.

Lovely bistro which served homemade buns and coffees and also did nice lunches.

We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner and perhaps the only real missing, as in the evening it lacked a cool restaurant/bar vibe and instead we went to the camps bay strip which is right outside

Overall a great hotel, in a great location with stunning views and very friendly staff. Well worth a stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonnyandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear JonnyandJules. Thank you for your wonderfully positive review of the hotel. We are delighted that you chose The Bay Hotel and spend your honeymoon and that you both enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again somtime soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Had a great time here. The hotel is very nice and the location is terrific. The only issue we had was problems with wifi in the room. That was the only disappointing part. Great food and staff! They also offer a Porsche shuttle to other areas of Cape Town.

Room Tip: Great breakfast that's included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear RBEL. Thank your for sharing your experience of The Bay Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and the hotel's facilities. We do hope to welcome you back in the future and assure you of our best service and personal attention at all times. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing