We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel on a beautiful beach”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. Nothing was any trouble at all.
We had a room on second floor facing the sea, and what a fantastic room it was. It was very spacious, light, bright and immaculate.
Alongside super king size bed we had a sitting area and beautiful balcony.
The hotel is ideally placed, and has beautiful indoor and outdoor areas.

Food in the Bisto was delicious and again staff were great.

We made good use of the hotel car (4 door Porsche) an average trip to the V&A waterfront was around 200 rand.

I would highly recommend this hotel to travellers without young children who like a little bit of style.

Room Tip: We had room 403. Facing sea which you can hear but not obtrusive.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear mrsgGateshead. Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,118)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Steps away from several diverse eateries and bars along the whole waterfront . This hotel is in prime position in the centre .
With point blank views of the sea and the beach accross the road its perfect for camps bay, which is a mere 20 mins from cape town centre .
As a back-drop there is Table mountain , and a mere 7-8 minute taxi ride to the cable cars from the hotel.
Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view naturally !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear TConway. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this impressive hotel last February. It is in a magnificent setting in the middle of the bay, with several pools, and restaurants. We had a magnificent room with a balcony and even an iPod Dock. The city tour bus stop was right outside the hotel, so we were able to tour the city, with commentary via headphones, the bus even stopped at table mountain, so we were able to go up in the cable car and hop back on the next bus to return to the hotel. The staff were good and very sympathetic when I was very unwell on the last night of our stay. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Helenmary2014. Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. Receiving positive feedback is always appreciated, and we are hopeful that fellow travelers find your review benefical. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went to visit guests at the hotel for breakfast and it was just appalling , I have never experienced such a lack of service ,interest and passion......you would have thought I owed the staff a favor.

The hotels position is great, one of the best in Cape Town but make no mistake also very ,very expensive,but in today's world there are many options and in my world a great position with poor service is a place is just not worth the stay.

Jack king rating 3/10

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Jack K. Thank you for you honest review of your experience at the hotel, we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this ocassion. On 1 May 2014 we implimented our new winter breakfast concept and were unfortunately still ironing out a few operational issues. We can assure you that this is not the normal level of service we offer and would like to invite you back as our guest for breakfast for a very different experience. Please feel free to make contact with Mark Stevens, our Restauranteur, at restauranteur@thebay.co.za to make the necessary arrangement.. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a fantstic stay at The Bay Hotel from April 20-26 2014 as part of a 2 week Easter Holiday. We were a family of 9 from the age of 6 (after approval from hotel manager :-) to 75. We had 5 rooms, all to our great satisfaction. We found the the staff extremely serviceminded and friendly that catered to all our needs. Food was great both for breakfast and in the restaurant.
Especially we found Derrick from the transport service very helpful and serviceminded. He drove us to the Cape, to Table Mountain, helped arrange shark cage diving and a rental of an AC Cobra. We used many of the hotel facilities, including the training facilities, spa, pool and tennis and found all to be superb. I celebrated my birthday there and in the evening found the bed nicely decorated with flowers and complimentary chocolate cake and sparkling wine! Very nice indeed. Fantastic hotel and definately the place to stay in Camps Bay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Rune J. Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel. We are delighted to note that you and your family enjoyed your Easter holiday at the hotel, and have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to The Bay Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have, as my tripadvisor profile will show, stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. I preface this review with this statement to show comparative ability. I can with confidence say The Bay Hotel Camps Bay is without a doubt the most pathetic excuse for a hotel. Upon arrival it was clear the suite had not been cleaned given the fact the windows to the balcony were filthy. I wouldn't wash my dog in the outside "jacuzzi".
Turndown service doesn't include clearing glasses and drinks in the room, only folding your sheets back (unlike a basic turndown service even in a 3 star hotel).
I asked every day for 3 days for the safe to be fixed and I was ignored.
I asked repeatedly for a converter plug and was told South African Plugs and UK plugs are the same.
I asked for the Financial Times and was told every newspaper has the financial times in it!!!
The service in the hotel is non existent. Both times at breakfast I had to ask repeatedly for my order to be taken, and when the food came it was inedible. None of the staff smile or greet you and when i smile at them there is a heavy sigh of discontent. When I asked for a glass of orange juice I was told where on the buffet to find it.
It says in the breakfast menu the chairman of the hotel visited the best hotels in the world in order to create this breakfast. Lord only knows what dumps he visited along the way.
The shower in the room was blocked every morning from day one and never fixed even though maintenance did take the time to finally fix a leaking toilet which required the room to be aired out (even though the toilet hadn't been used given it was as I came into the room the first time).
The internet is a joke and NEVER works.
The list is sadly endless and when I finally got to speak to Graeme Smith the hotels "GM" his reply was "what do you want me to do about it". I will refrain from being rude about him any further than saying he is not a GM. A GM would not have taken such criticism so lightly and not have brushed it off and ignored it so quickly.
Even the couple in the room next to me had as many complaints as I did. The table next to me at breakfast saw their food and laughed as they couldn't seriously believe they were being served such rubbish.
I reserve bad reviews for only the worst. At least i know I have stayed at the worst and it can only get better from here!
Do yourself a favour and don't shatter the perception of this hotel. See it from the outside as a perfectly located hotel but enter at your own risk!

Room Tip: The best room you could choose would be in another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonLiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear SimonLiebel. It is evident that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas of service delievry during your visit, and for this we offer our humblest apologies. We do, however, believe that during your 3 night stay, we addressed your complaint regarding the jacuzzi and windows immediately, and these issues were efficiently dealt with by our staff. Service levels are extremely important to us, and you can be assured that the issues you raised have been addressed with the relevant staff in order to improve our performance.
For future travelers to The Bay Hotel, we would like to mention that our Suites offer outdoor jacuzzi's located on the balcony, and occasionally through nature's elements are not 100% clean during the day, guests are encouraged to contact our front desk for service in this regard. We also understand that by international standards the internet in South Africa is not as fast, but we have ensured that our guests have the best available by offering a Fibre Optic connection and all internet issues can immediately be resolved by our on-site IT department. While we understand that our apology may not fully compensate you for your disappointing experience, we would again like to assure you that your comments are of the utmost importance to us, and trust that you will, as discussed, return to the hotel later this year, so that you can experience why the hotel was voted one of the top 25 hotels in South Afirca by Tripadvisor. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

What lovely people . The room is top end with stunning views and amazing facilities . Various bars are interesting , a better draught beer , something local not Castle or Carling , to replace Peroni would be useful . Food is good , the veggie platter in the Bistro very welcome for those seeking a non meat fix . Make sure when you ask for time to restraunts you ask whether its by foot or car so you don't get stung for the hotel car . Its not expensive but its should be a fun option , not a default . The honeymoon preparation for our room whilst out on first evening did the entire hotel proud and made us feel very special .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Ian P. Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to The Bay Hotel in the future and look forward to having you as our guests again. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £141 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing