We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed boutique hotel, great location and service”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had a lovely experience! I was traveling alone and the Bay Hotel staff really took care of me, even upgrading me to a room with an ocean-view.

The layout of the room is clean and modern, with a sunken sitting area, balcony facing the ocean, and lots of amenities (nespresso, iPod stereo dock, mini bar, wine, plush bathrobes, complementary mineral water). The bathroom had double sinks and both shower and tub.

The hotel itself has a nice carefree quality to it, covered with whimsical artwork by local painters, an extensive book collection to borrow from, decorated with live plants and flowers all over. The decor is simple, to complement the emphasis on white and natural wood.

I appreciated the small gym, it had everything I needed. The restaurant for the included breakfast was good, with simple, fresh choices -- can even have it delivered to your room! I enjoyed eating breakfast next to the open window smelly the salty air.

Lastly, the location. Right across from the beach in the center of Camps Bay, perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear citymusiclover. Thank you for sharing your wonderful remarks on Tripadvisor, which we have shared with our staff. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Club House Tapas is at the front of this Hotel and serves average food. Service is ah-hum at best and you need to get tough in order to get served.
Food is your general kind of food nothing special to write home about. I'm sure there must be better in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: Look further for better food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Robert j. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our Tapas Bar, and for your constructive criticisms. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on that day, and for that we offer our sincerest apologies. Your feedback has been taken up with our F&B team in order to ensure that the necessary remedial action is taken. We trust we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back again and assure you of our best attention. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. Nothing was any trouble at all.
We had a room on second floor facing the sea, and what a fantastic room it was. It was very spacious, light, bright and immaculate.
Alongside super king size bed we had a sitting area and beautiful balcony.
The hotel is ideally placed, and has beautiful indoor and outdoor areas.

Food in the Bisto was delicious and again staff were great.

We made good use of the hotel car (4 door Porsche) an average trip to the V&A waterfront was around 200 rand.

I would highly recommend this hotel to travellers without young children who like a little bit of style.

Room Tip: We had room 403. Facing sea which you can hear but not obtrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear mrsgGateshead. Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Steps away from several diverse eateries and bars along the whole waterfront . This hotel is in prime position in the centre .
With point blank views of the sea and the beach accross the road its perfect for camps bay, which is a mere 20 mins from cape town centre .
As a back-drop there is Table mountain , and a mere 7-8 minute taxi ride to the cable cars from the hotel.
Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view naturally !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear TConway. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this impressive hotel last February. It is in a magnificent setting in the middle of the bay, with several pools, and restaurants. We had a magnificent room with a balcony and even an iPod Dock. The city tour bus stop was right outside the hotel, so we were able to tour the city, with commentary via headphones, the bus even stopped at table mountain, so we were able to go up in the cable car and hop back on the next bus to return to the hotel. The staff were good and very sympathetic when I was very unwell on the last night of our stay. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Helenmary2014. Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. Receiving positive feedback is always appreciated, and we are hopeful that fellow travelers find your review benefical. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We went to visit guests at the hotel for breakfast and it was just appalling , I have never experienced such a lack of service ,interest and passion......you would have thought I owed the staff a favor.

The hotels position is great, one of the best in Cape Town but make no mistake also very ,very expensive,but in today's world there are many options and in my world a great position with poor service is a place is just not worth the stay.

Jack king rating 3/10

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Jack K. Thank you for you honest review of your experience at the hotel, we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this ocassion. On 1 May 2014 we implimented our new winter breakfast concept and were unfortunately still ironing out a few operational issues. We can assure you that this is not the normal level of service we offer and would like to invite you back as our guest for breakfast for a very different experience. Please feel free to make contact with Mark Stevens, our Restauranteur, at restauranteur@thebay.co.za to make the necessary arrangement.. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a fantstic stay at The Bay Hotel from April 20-26 2014 as part of a 2 week Easter Holiday. We were a family of 9 from the age of 6 (after approval from hotel manager :-) to 75. We had 5 rooms, all to our great satisfaction. We found the the staff extremely serviceminded and friendly that catered to all our needs. Food was great both for breakfast and in the restaurant.
Especially we found Derrick from the transport service very helpful and serviceminded. He drove us to the Cape, to Table Mountain, helped arrange shark cage diving and a rental of an AC Cobra. We used many of the hotel facilities, including the training facilities, spa, pool and tennis and found all to be superb. I celebrated my birthday there and in the evening found the bed nicely decorated with flowers and complimentary chocolate cake and sparkling wine! Very nice indeed. Fantastic hotel and definately the place to stay in Camps Bay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Rune J. Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel. We are delighted to note that you and your family enjoyed your Easter holiday at the hotel, and have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to The Bay Hotel on your next visit to Cape Town and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: £182 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing