We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a bit tired”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely but a bit tired”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We last stayed at The Bay about 6 years ago and loved it, so I was looking forward to returning.
Location wise, this hotel can't be beaten. I love listening to the waves at night, although it was very noisy at the weekend, which I can't remember from last time. Possibly the higher up the building, the less noise from the street.
Staff were wonderful, breakfasts were great but I have to say that the rooms are looking a bit tired and in need of some TLC or, better still, a renovation. Particularly the bathrooms, which are very dated. Niggely things like chipped tiles and the shower door that wouldn't close, so the floor was always soaking wet, detract from it's five star rating.

We had taken advantage of a winter special which was very reasonable, not so sure I would opt to pay full price in peak season.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor if you are facing the sea, to decrease noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear NB2_13. Thank you for posting your review in respect of your visit to the hotel, and for your constructive feedback. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable in most respects and can advise that our winter Rooms Care program is currently in progress. You can be assured that The Bay Hotel is absolutely committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at our hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    259
    145
    58
    49
See reviews for
125
627
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this place is top notch, you can't go wrong. rooms, facilities, cleaness, space, etc. - 5/5 and let's not go there any further, instead let's look at the differentiators.
x) before arrival, i dropped them a line asking for airport pickup - within 10min i had a response and a booking (worked out perfectly).
x) staff is INCREDIBLY polite - small things like many step aside when coming across in hallwys and always greet with a smile.
x) internet - daily quota 250megs (which is not that much), still a single call and IT support (either staff is that knowledgable or they actually have local IT. beat that!) helped me setup my pc and fixed the quota.
and last - this was a slam dunk. apparently i was there one the last night when smoking was allowed in pub areas. a cigar & glass of whisky while looking at the sunset were the ultimate pleasure of the early evening.
O-M-G! can you go any better than this? and at these prices?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear danny k. Thank you for your review of the hotel, and for sharing your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all respects, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just spent the weekend at The Bay Hotel, wished I had stayed there before. It is so accessible as you can just walk to all the restaurants, beach etc. The hotel rooms are superb, spacious, clean and very comfortable with all the necessities.

Look out for the winter specials, worth every cent, go spoil yourself ! We will definitely go back.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, all around fabulous !

Room Tip: The Premiers sea facing rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Director of Sales at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lynn C. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you have chose The Bay Hotel to spend your weekend and that your stay was enjoyable and satisfactory in all respects. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of the best hotels that I have stayed in- food (the eggs benedict at breakfast especially) was phenomenal, great location, lovely staff.

Even taking a solo trip on the red tourist bus from outside the hotel was great fun- but dinner out and about in the vineyards outside of capetown is also a must.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Kat B. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our wonderful location and the hotel offering. We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon. Safe travels. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our fifth visit to The Bay - see also my previous reports.
We have always stayed here for our last four nights, after five wonderful holidays in South Africa and prior to flying back to the UK from Cape Town. A great way to conclude busy, touring holidays and allow us to relax, catch up with last minute shopping in CT and just enjoy the hotel, its food and ever friendly staff.
We were welcomed back by several members of staff and very kindly upgraded to a premium ocean view room (403). As ever excellent facilities throughout.
Ate in the bistro/restaurant two of our four nights and at the Codfather (fish) restaurant the other two. All excellent.
We will have no hesitation in returning for a sixth consecutive year in 2015.
Thank you Graeme Smith and all staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear ROKNottingham. Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at the hotel, which are highly appreciated and have been passed on to the team. We assure you that it is a pleasure to be of service and thank you also for your loyal patronage over the years. We do look foward to having you as our guests again in 2015 and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for only one night but it was a very good stay. The location is amazing, you would be hard pressed to find a better one in Camps Bay. The rooms lead out towards the ocean so you get absolutely amazing sunsets and sunrises. Breakfast was very good as I didn't have any other meals there. Nice verandas to each room. The staff was fantastic. For whatever reason they don't have an iron and ironing board in each room, there is only a finite amount for the hotel. Well it was 6pm and I had to be at a shirt and tie function for 7 so the staff came to my room, grabbed my wrinkly clothes and had it back and pressed to me in 20 minutes - outstanding service! The grounds are very nice, lovely pool area with more chairs then patrons so always guaranteed a seat. Great conference rooms for the business crowd out there. I highly recommend this place for couples, business, and friends alike.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor gives a better vantage point for the sunset in the evening - definitely r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear JWalker610. Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending the hotel to fellow travelers. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and have shared your comments with our colleagues. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Camps Bay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Bay Hotel for a prenantal weekend which was organised by MediClinic. The weekend on a whole was absolutely fantastic. There are many wonderful attributes that this hotel has to offer such as the beautiful position, the well appointed rooms, great conference facilities and the consistantly good food. There were however a few negatives that I cannot ignore. Firstly bathrooms are in dire need of an upgrade. The fittings look as though they were installed in the 60's, the shower head was incredibly low (and I am not a tall person) which made showering very awkward and the hot water was more on the luke warm side than hot which made bathing unpleasant. The service was very inconsistant. Most of the waitrons at the restaurant had very little knowledge of the menu and the serice was very slow on occasion. On a whole, we really did enjoy our stay at the Bay but I cannot see how the hotel can be classified as a 5 star when basic requirements such as a comfortable bathroom and good service is hugely lacking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReneSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear ReneSol. Thank you for your honest review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that your weekend was enjoyable and satisfactory in most respects and extend our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. As a 5 star hotel always aim to exceed our guests' expectations and feedback such as yours enables us to do so. We sincerely hope you will be returning to The Bay Hotel and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing