We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$691
US$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
642
295
158
64
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
295
158
64
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana roomtraders barpremier sea viewcigar barcape townlovely hotelopposite the beachtable mountaina mountain view roombreakfast servicebreakfast roomour honeymoonsuperb locationsun loungerspool decklovely roombars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We last stayed here about 10 years ago and loved everything, from the great location to the high thread count of the linen to the great bar and restaurant. Stayed over the weekend of 4-7 July 2014. arrived in the midst of a storm and entrance was flooded so we waded through puddles of water with no one trying to mop up or sweep away where we were walking. Tracked with cold wet feet to reception. Signing in efficient.Room334 had a great view but carpet dirty and only 1 small bar of soap to share between basin, bath and shower.Ordered room service ewhivh took ages and when the food arrived it was ice cold and prawns undercooked. At breakfast the next. Morning was informed that both espresso machines were broken.No oats available either. On our last morning just a few people at breakfast and what was on offer was very minimal. If you are a five star hotel then act like one and fix up the small little things like efficient room service, water/ flooding problems( fix the slope at the entrance ) workable espresso machines.

Room Tip: Sea facing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank margyshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear margyshiels. Thank you for your honest feedback and for identifying some areas that require attention. We are truly sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this ocassion and that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We do hope that despite this we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We last stayed at The Bay about 6 years ago and loved it, so I was looking forward to returning.
Location wise, this hotel can't be beaten. I love listening to the waves at night, although it was very noisy at the weekend, which I can't remember from last time. Possibly the higher up the building, the less noise from the street.
Staff were wonderful, breakfasts were great but I have to say that the rooms are looking a bit tired and in need of some TLC or, better still, a renovation. Particularly the bathrooms, which are very dated. Niggely things like chipped tiles and the shower door that wouldn't close, so the floor was always soaking wet, detract from it's five star rating.

We had taken advantage of a winter special which was very reasonable, not so sure I would opt to pay full price in peak season.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor if you are facing the sea, to decrease noise from the street
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear NB2_13. Thank you for posting your review in respect of your visit to the hotel, and for your constructive feedback. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable in most respects and can advise that our winter Rooms Care program is currently in progress. You can be assured that The Bay Hotel is absolutely committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at our hotel in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this place is top notch, you can't go wrong. rooms, facilities, cleaness, space, etc. - 5/5 and let's not go there any further, instead let's look at the differentiators.
x) before arrival, i dropped them a line asking for airport pickup - within 10min i had a response and a booking (worked out perfectly).
x) staff is INCREDIBLY polite - small things like many step aside when coming across in hallwys and always greet with a smile.
x) internet - daily quota 250megs (which is not that much), still a single call and IT support (either staff is that knowledgable or they actually have local IT. beat that!) helped me setup my pc and fixed the quota.
and last - this was a slam dunk. apparently i was there one the last night when smoking was allowed in pub areas. a cigar & glass of whisky while looking at the sunset were the ultimate pleasure of the early evening.
O-M-G! can you go any better than this? and at these prices?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear danny k. Thank you for your review of the hotel, and for sharing your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all respects, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just spent the weekend at The Bay Hotel, wished I had stayed there before. It is so accessible as you can just walk to all the restaurants, beach etc. The hotel rooms are superb, spacious, clean and very comfortable with all the necessities.

Look out for the winter specials, worth every cent, go spoil yourself ! We will definitely go back.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, all around fabulous !

Room Tip: The Premiers sea facing rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Director of Sales at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Lynn C. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you have chose The Bay Hotel to spend your weekend and that your stay was enjoyable and satisfactory in all respects. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of the best hotels that I have stayed in- food (the eggs benedict at breakfast especially) was phenomenal, great location, lovely staff.

Even taking a solo trip on the red tourist bus from outside the hotel was great fun- but dinner out and about in the vineyards outside of capetown is also a must.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Kat B. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed our wonderful location and the hotel offering. We hope to welcome you back for another stay soon. Safe travels. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews