We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Bay Hotel never disappoints - our stay once again was lovely. The staff are very accommodating and always ready to please. Our room was lovely and private with stunning views of the ocean. Room service was good. The breakfast venue had changed to the coffee shop since our last stay and was not nearly as nice as where it was previously located.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to show you the room they have allocated to you and also ask what other options they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sandy W. Thank you for your review of the hotel and your comments regarding our winter breakfast location. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback about the hotel and our staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    262
    145
    58
    51
See reviews for
129
633
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, but this was enough to convince me that this is a top quality hotel. The rooms were well equipped and the place was super clean and neat. It has an awesome view of the ocean and the atmosphere was so relaxing. We were celebrating a birthday there and the staff at the hotel really went out of their way to make it a special occasion for us. It is also situated near a lot of good attractions in Cape Town and is definitely recommended.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosmarinusbufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Rosmarinusbufo. Thank you for sharing your experience of The Bay Hotel with fellow travelers. We are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your birthday with us and look forward to welcoming back for future celebrations. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a fantastic 3 nights at The Bay Hotel on our honeymoon. They made a fuss of us due to it being our honeymoon which was really appreciated. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant on the first night, and enjoyed being driven in the hotels Porsche to other locations recommended by staff. All staff we met were so friendly.

Traders bar is fantastic for an afternoon wine and a night cap. We met some brilliant local characters in there and enjoyed a drink or three...

The rooms are lovely, everything thought of, lovely modern decor and very clean. Would love to return some day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_and_Sarah_ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Brain_and_Sarah... Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you chose The Bay Hotel to spend your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay in all respects, and do hope to have you as our guests again in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We last stayed here about 10 years ago and loved everything, from the great location to the high thread count of the linen to the great bar and restaurant. Stayed over the weekend of 4-7 July 2014. arrived in the midst of a storm and entrance was flooded so we waded through puddles of water with no one trying to mop up or sweep away where we were walking. Tracked with cold wet feet to reception. Signing in efficient.Room334 had a great view but carpet dirty and only 1 small bar of soap to share between basin, bath and shower.Ordered room service ewhivh took ages and when the food arrived it was ice cold and prawns undercooked. At breakfast the next. Morning was informed that both espresso machines were broken.No oats available either. On our last morning just a few people at breakfast and what was on offer was very minimal. If you are a five star hotel then act like one and fix up the small little things like efficient room service, water/ flooding problems( fix the slope at the entrance ) workable espresso machines.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margyshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear margyshiels. Thank you for your honest feedback and for identifying some areas that require attention. We are truly sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this ocassion and that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We do hope that despite this we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We last stayed at The Bay about 6 years ago and loved it, so I was looking forward to returning.
Location wise, this hotel can't be beaten. I love listening to the waves at night, although it was very noisy at the weekend, which I can't remember from last time. Possibly the higher up the building, the less noise from the street.
Staff were wonderful, breakfasts were great but I have to say that the rooms are looking a bit tired and in need of some TLC or, better still, a renovation. Particularly the bathrooms, which are very dated. Niggely things like chipped tiles and the shower door that wouldn't close, so the floor was always soaking wet, detract from it's five star rating.

We had taken advantage of a winter special which was very reasonable, not so sure I would opt to pay full price in peak season.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room on a higher floor if you are facing the sea, to decrease noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear NB2_13. Thank you for posting your review in respect of your visit to the hotel, and for your constructive feedback. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable in most respects and can advise that our winter Rooms Care program is currently in progress. You can be assured that The Bay Hotel is absolutely committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at our hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this place is top notch, you can't go wrong. rooms, facilities, cleaness, space, etc. - 5/5 and let's not go there any further, instead let's look at the differentiators.
x) before arrival, i dropped them a line asking for airport pickup - within 10min i had a response and a booking (worked out perfectly).
x) staff is INCREDIBLY polite - small things like many step aside when coming across in hallwys and always greet with a smile.
x) internet - daily quota 250megs (which is not that much), still a single call and IT support (either staff is that knowledgable or they actually have local IT. beat that!) helped me setup my pc and fixed the quota.
and last - this was a slam dunk. apparently i was there one the last night when smoking was allowed in pub areas. a cigar & glass of whisky while looking at the sunset were the ultimate pleasure of the early evening.
O-M-G! can you go any better than this? and at these prices?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear danny k. Thank you for your review of the hotel, and for sharing your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations in all respects, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We just spent the weekend at The Bay Hotel, wished I had stayed there before. It is so accessible as you can just walk to all the restaurants, beach etc. The hotel rooms are superb, spacious, clean and very comfortable with all the necessities.

Look out for the winter specials, worth every cent, go spoil yourself ! We will definitely go back.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating, all around fabulous !

Room Tip: The Premiers sea facing rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBayHotel, Director of Sales at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lynn C. Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you have chose The Bay Hotel to spend your weekend and that your stay was enjoyable and satisfactory in all respects. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing